Close

适用于高速团队的 ITSM

ITIL 及其在现代 ITSM 中的地位指南

随着组织越来越依赖技术来推动运营,IT 团队正成为其业务中越来越重要的合作伙伴。ITIL(尤其是名为 ITIL 4 的最新版本的 ITIL)提供了一个框架,为 IT 团队提供了成功支持业务所需的灵活性和稳定性。

什么是 ITIL?

ITIL(信息技术基础架构库)是一组获得广泛认可的最佳实践,它旨在通过使 IT 服务与业务战略保持一致来支持组织从 IT 中获得最优价值。

ITIL 的历史

ITIL 最初由英国政府在 20 世纪 80 年代设立。设立之初,他们一直在寻找一套标准来提高 IT 性能。多年来,随着新版本的发布,ITIL 越来越受欢迎,并且不断发展。ITIL 现在归 Axelos 所有,这是一家英国政府内阁办公厅和 Capita 的合资企业。2019 年,他们发布了 ITIL 的最新版本 ITIL 4,该版本对 ITSM 采用了更加全面、适应性更强的方法。

ITIL 与 ITSM:有什么区别?

要了解 ITIL 和 ITSM 之间的区别,先从定义 ITSM 开始。ITSM,即 IT 服务管理,是 IT 团队管理向客户提供端到端 IT 服务的方式。其中包括设计、创建、交付和支持 IT 服务的所有流程和活动。ITSM 以服务为中心,其核心理念是 IT 应以服务形式交付。

因此,虽然 ITSM 是一种向企业提供 IT 的方法,但 ITIL 是一套常用实践,概述了如何在企业中实施 ITSM。对于那些熟悉敏捷开发方法的人来说,ITSM 和 ITIL 之间的区别类似于敏捷开发和 Scrum 之间的区别。虽然 ITSM(或敏捷开发)是一种方法,但 ITIL(或 Scrum)是实施该方法的框架。

显然,两者之间的联系非常密切;ITIL 是在考虑 ITSM 的情况下创建的。但两者之间的区别可以归结为一个概念:ITIL 是一个框架或一套准则,用于协助实施 ITSM 所涉及的活动。

ITIL 框架

ITIL 4 的发布给 ITIL 带来了变化,使其融入了新兴技术和新工作方式(如精益、敏捷开发和 DevOps)的背景下。它引导团队进入一个整体、业务和客户价值的参考框架。通过此次最新更新,ITIL 变得更加灵活且适应性更强。这一变化在新的 ITIL 4 框架和指导原则中显而易见。

例如,ITIL 4 引入了服务价值体系,其中的关键输入是机会或需求,关键输出是价值。ITIL SVS 的组件包括:

  • ITIL 指导原则
  • 治理
  • ITIL 服务价值链
  • ITIL 实践
  • 持续改进

对 ITIL 4 指导原则和敏捷宣言的并排比较将表明,新版本的 ITIL 促进了更敏捷的工作方式:

比较了 ITIL 4 和敏捷原则

ITIL 4 指导原则 敏捷宣言
  • 关注价值
  • 从当前开始
  • 通过反馈迭代推进
  • 协作并提高知名度
  • 全面思考和工作
  • 保持简单实用
  • 优化和自动化
  • 个人和交互优先于流程和工具
  • 工作软件优先于全面的文档
  • 客户协作优先于合同谈判
  • 响应变化优先于遵循计划

ITIL 4 指导原则
  • 关注价值
  • 从当前开始
  • 通过反馈迭代推进
  • 协作并提高知名度
  • 全面思考和工作
  • 保持简单实用
  • 优化和自动化
敏捷宣言
  • 个人和交互优先于流程和工具
  • 工作软件优先于全面的文档
  • 客户协作优先于合同谈判
  • 响应变化优先于遵循计划

随着 ITIL 实践的最新更新,我们鼓励 IT 团队不要以过于规范的方式解释 ITIL。ITIL 4 已从分步流程转变为整体“实践”,涉及文化、业务目标和利益相关者。这 34 个实践大致分为一般管理实践、服务管理实践和技术管理实践:

ITIL 管理实践

一般问题 服务 技术
  • 架构管理
  • 持续改进
  • 信息安全管理
  • 知识管理
  • 衡量和报告
  • 组织变革管理
  • 项目组合管理
  • 项目管理
  • 关系管理
  • 风险管理
  • 服务财务管理
  • 战略管理
  • 供应商管理
  • 员工队伍和人才管理
  • 可用性管理
  • 业务分析
  • 容量和性能管理
  • 变更启用
  • 事件管理
  • IT 资产管理
  • 监控和事件管理
  • 问题管理
  • 发布管理
  • 服务目录管理
  • 服务配置管理
  • 服务连续性管理
  • 服务设计
  • 服务台
  • 服务级别管理
  • 服务请求管理
  • 服务验证和测试
  • 部署管理
  • 基础架构和平台管理
  • 软件开发和管理

一般问题
  • 架构管理
  • 持续改进
  • 信息安全管理
  • 知识管理
  • 衡量和报告
  • 组织变革管理
  • 项目组合管理
  • 项目管理
  • 关系管理
  • 风险管理
  • 服务财务管理
  • 战略管理
  • 供应商管理
  • 员工队伍和人才管理

服务
  • 可用性管理
  • 业务分析
  • 容量和性能管理
  • 变更启用
  • 事件管理
  • IT 资产管理
  • 监控和事件管理
  • 问题管理
  • 发布管理
  • 服务目录管理
  • 服务配置管理
  • 服务连续性管理
  • 服务设计
  • 服务台
  • 服务级别管理
  • 服务请求管理
  • 服务验证和测试

技术
  • 部署管理
  • 基础架构和平台管理
  • 软件开发和管理

ITIL® 基金会:ITIL 4 版,表格 5.1,ITIL 管理实践

总的来说,ITIL 4 更关注人和文化等事物,不鼓励使用任何可能造成孤岛的繁重、繁琐或僵化的流程。我们认为,ITIL 4 是朝着重视协作、易用性和商业价值创造的 ITSM 方法迈出的积极一步。

您的组织是否应该使用 ITIL 框架?

可以肯定的是,采用 ITIL 有很多好处。将 ITIL 所采用的那种结构引入您的 IT 团队可以帮助更好地将 IT 目标与业务目标保持一致、跟踪 IT 成本、简化服务交付并让客户满意。

有些人认为 ITIL/ITSM 过于结构化和流程驱动,反而推动了 DevOps 的采用。我们认为这不是一个非此即彼的决定,成功的 IT 团队可以从 ITIL/ITSM 和 DevOps 实践中汲取灵感。

但是,重要的是要记住,ITIL 4 的架构特别鼓励和实现灵活性。ITIL 的目的不是要制定严格的规则和繁重的流程,而是提供灵活可修改的准则。您和您的团队应评估 ITIL 框架、实践和准则,并实施对您有用的内容。最重要的是,避免僵化和工作孤岛。

摘要

随着 IT 团队不断发展和寻求新的工作方式,ITIL 也随之发展。不再需要或鼓励严格遵守 ITIL 和 ITSM 概述的所有流程。相反,IT 团队正在拥抱更大的灵活性和更多的协作。查看我们的 ITIL 4 指南,了解如何为 ITSM 实践带来更高的灵活性和协作性。

后续内容
DevOps 与 ITIL

Close

A guide to ITIL and its place in modern ITSM

As organizations are coming to rely more and more on the technologies to power their operations, IT teams are becoming increasingly important partners to their businesses. ITIL - and in particular, the newest version of ITIL called ITIL 4 -  provides a framework that gives IT teams both the flexibility and stability that they need in order to successfully support the business.

What is ITIL?

ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) is a widely accepted set of best practices that is designed to support an organization in gaining optimal value from IT by aligning IT services with business strategy.

The history of ITIL

ITIL was originally created by the British government in the 1980s. At the time of its inception, they were looking for a set of standards to improve IT performance. Over the years, ITIL has grown in popularity and evolved as new versions have been released. ITIL is now owned by Axelos, a joint venture between the British Government Cabinet Office and Capita. In 2019, they released the latest version of ITIL, ITIL 4, which takes a more holistic and adaptable approach to ITSM.

ITIL vs ITSM: What’s the difference?

To get at the difference between ITIL and ITSM, let’s first start by defining ITSM. ITSM, or IT service management, is how IT teams manage the end-to-end delivery of IT services to customers. This includes all the processes and activities to design, create, deliver, and support IT services. ITSM is service-centric; its core concept is the belief that IT should be delivered as a service.

So while ITSM is a kind of methodology for delivering IT to the business, ITIL is a commonly-used set of practices that outlines how to implement ITSM in a business. For those of you familiar with Agile methodologies, the difference between ITSM and ITIL is akin to the one between Agile and Scrum. While ITSM (or Agile) is a methodology, ITIL (or Scrum) is a framework for implementing that methodology.

Obviously, the connection between the two is strong; ITIL was created with ITSM in mind. But the distinction between the two can be boiled down to one idea: ITIL is a framework or a set of guidelines to assist in implementing the activities involved in ITSM.

The ITIL framework

The release of ITIL 4 brought changes to ITIL that place it within the context of emerging technologies and new ways of working like Lean, Agile, and DevOps. It guides teams into a holistic, business and customer-value frame of reference. With this latest update, ITIL has become more flexible and adaptable. This change is evident in the new ITIL 4 framework and guiding principles.

For example, ITIL 4 introduced the Service Value System, in which the key inputs are opportunity or demand and the key output is value. The components of the ITIL SVS include:

  • ITIL Guiding Principles 
  • Governance
  • ITIL Service value chain
  • ITIL Practices
  • Continual Improvement

A side-by-side comparison of the ITIL 4 Guiding Principles and the Agile Manifesto will show that this new version of ITIL promotes a more agile way of working:

ITIL 4 and Agile principles compared

The ITIL 4 guiding principles  The Agile Manifesto
  • Focus on value
  • Start where you are 
  • Progress iteratively with feedback
  • Collaborate and promote visibility
  • Think and work holistically
  • Keep it simple and practical 
  • Optimize and automate
  • Individuals and interactions over processes and tools
  • Working software over comprehensive documentation
  • Customer collaboration over contract negotiation 
  • Responding to change over following a plan

 

The ITIL 4 guiding principles
  • Focus on value
  • Start where you are 
  • Progress iteratively with feedback
  • Collaborate and promote visibility
  • Think and work holistically
  • Keep it simple and practical 
  • Optimize and automate
 The Agile Manifesto
  • Individuals and interactions over processes and tools
  • Working software over comprehensive documentation
  • Customer collaboration over contract negotiation 
  • Responding to change over following a plan

And with the most recent updates to the ITIL practices, IT teams are encouraged not to interpret ITIL in an overly-prescriptive way. ITIL 4 has shifted from step-by-step processes to holistic “practices” that incorporate culture, business goals, and stakeholders. The 34 practices are broadly categorized into general management practices, service management practices, and technical management practices:

The ITIL management practices

 

General  Service  Technical
  • Architecture management
  • Continual improvement
  • Information security management
  • Knowledge management
  • Measurement and reporting
  • Organizational change management
  • Portfolio management
  • Project management
  • Relationship management
  • Risk management
  • Service financial management
  • Strategy management
  • Supplier management
  • Workforce and talent managemen
  • Availability management
  • Business analysis
  • Capacity and performance management
  • Change enablement
  • Incident management 
  • IT asset management
  • Monitoring and event management
  • Problem management
  • Release management
  • Service catalogue management
  • Service configuration management
  • Service continuity management 
  • Service design
  • Service desk
  • Service level management
  • Service request management
  • Service validation and testing
  • Deployment management
  • Infrastructure and platform management
  • Software development and management

 

General
  • Architecture management
  • Continual improvement
  • Information security management
  • Knowledge management
  • Measurement and reporting
  • Organizational change management
  • Portfolio management
  • Project management
  • Relationship management
  • Risk management
  • Service financial management
  • Strategy management
  • Supplier management
  • Workforce and talent managemen

 

 Service
  • Availability management
  • Business analysis
  • Capacity and performance management
  • Change enablement
  • Incident management 
  • IT asset management
  • Monitoring and event management
  • Problem management
  • Release management
  • Service catalogue management
  • Service configuration management
  • Service continuity management 
  • Service design
  • Service desk
  • Service level management
  • Service request management
  • Service validation and testing

 

 Technical
  • Deployment management
  • Infrastructure and platform management
  • Software development and management

ITIL® Foundation: ITIL 4 Edition, Table 5.1, The ITIL management practices

In general, ITIL 4 brings a greater focus to things like people and culture and discourages the use of any heavy, burdensome, or rigid processes that may create siloes. We believe ITIL 4 is a positive step in the direction of an approach to ITSM that values collaboration, ease of use, and business value creation. If you’re interested in learning more about ITIL 4, check out this whitepaper which provides a practical guide to using ITIL 4.

Should your organization use the ITIL framework?

To be certain, there are a number of benefits to adopting ITIL. Bringing the kind of structure that ITIL does to your IT team can help better align IT goals with business goals, track IT costs, streamline service delivery, and keep your customers happy. 

There are some that think ITIL/ITSM is too structured and process-driven and promote the adoption of DevOps, instead. We don’t think it’s an either/or decision; successful IT teams can draw from both ITIL/ITSM and DevOps practices.

It’s important to remember, however, that the architecture of ITIL 4 specifically encourages and enables flexibility. The point of ITIL is not to create strict rules and heavy processes, but rather to provide adaptable guidelines. You and your team should evaluate the ITIL framework, practices, and guidelines and implement what works for you. And above all else, avoid rigidity and work siloes.

Summary

As IT teams evolve and look to new ways of working, ITIL is evolving with them. It’s no longer necessary or encouraged to strictly adhere to all of the processes outlined by ITIL and ITSM. Instead, IT teams are embracing greater flexibility and more collaboration.