Close

Atlassian 呈现:高速 ITSM 中深入了解 Jira Service Management 以及其他强大的工具。

免费注册

准备好开启 ITSM 高速之旅了吗?

什么是服务请求?

IT 团队会收到各种客户请求。无论传入的查询是要求访问应用、软件许可证、密码重置还是新硬件,信息技术基础架构库 (ITIL) 都会将这些归类为服务请求。服务请求通常会反复出现,因此高效的 IT 团队会采用可重复的程序来处理这些请求。

服务请求管理与其他服务管理实践(包括事件、问题和变更管理)相关,但又不同于其他服务管理实践。服务请求管理仅涉及针对新事物提交请求的用户,无论是访问某一服务、申请一步新手机还是获取某一信息。

ITIL 规定:服务请求由请求履行流程与服务台一起管理。

什么是请求履行?

请求履行是解决客户服务请求的流程,它是指管理所有服务请求的整个生命周期。服务台团队致力于响应和履行请求,同时为客户提供最高质量水平的服务支持。

请求履行是指通过为员工提供所需 IT 服务来提高员工的工作效率。它应能帮助用户查看可用的服务,了解如何请求这些服务,并设定处理请求的期望时长。

在生成大量服务请求的组织中,其中一个明智的做法是将服务请求作为单独的工作流来处理,并将其作为单独的记录类型进行记录和管理。此流程应区别于其他 IT 流程。

事件管理与服务请求管理

关于服务请求管理的一个常见问题就是:它与包括事件、问题和变更管理的核心 IT 实践有何关系。在区分之前,有必要简要介绍一下某些关键术语。

  • 服务请求是一种要求提供新内容的正式用户请求。示例:“我需要一台新的 Macbook。”
  • 事件是指会中断或降低服务质量且需紧急响应的计划外事件。示例:“网站已崩溃!”
  • 问题是指反复出现或可预防事件的根本原因。示例:“此应用问题再次出现!”
  • 变更是指添加、修改或删除可能影响 IT 服务的内容。这可能与服务请求有关。示例:“我需要升级数据库!”

服务请求应作为特殊的工作流来处理,从而帮助团队专注于交付更有价值的工作并更好地支持组织。服务请求通常风险较低,且可加速处理甚至自动处理。例如,如果新员工提交了访问某一软件应用的服务请求,则可预先批准该请求并自动授予访问权限。

如此一来,IT 团队便可减轻压力、节省时间并避免过于复杂的工作流程。考虑到您需要处理各种传入变更、事件和服务请求,单独的工作流和记录将可让您的团队确定资源分配的最优方法。

服务请求管理流程

尽管捕获和履行请求的方式存在一些差异,但其中的关键仍在于:专注于推动标准化以提高整体服务质量和效率。以下流程是基于 ITIL 建议的简易请求履行流程。这可以作为调整现有 ITIL 流程或定义新流程的起点。

显示服务请求流程的图示

服务请求履行流程,简而言之就是:

  1. 客户通过您的服务门户或电子邮件请求帮助。
  2. 服务团队会同时评估请求、预定义批准和资格认证流程。如有必要,他们会发送财务或业务批准请求。
  3. 服务台支持人员可以履行服务请求,或将请求转发给能够处理请求的人员。
  4. 解决请求后,支持人员会关闭工作单并询问客户,以确保他们满意。

服务请求管理优先事项

强大的服务请求管理实践以客户和知识为中心,并通过自动化功能进行简化。通过在工作中运用这些原则,组织可以加强 IT 支持团队,方便客户寻求帮助并获得答案,并通过技术来满足不断变化的组织需求。

以下是 IT 服务团队应优先考虑事项的相关建议,以便更贴近客户并提供尽可能优质的服务。

为支持团队提供支持

我们都知道,任何组织的无名英雄(即支持团队)都会因为需要处理大量工作单而精疲力尽。服务请求往往会让可用的时间和资源捉襟见肘。大型企业的 IT 服务团队需要不断响应各种业务请求,从而很容易陷入一种模式—先响应最吵闹的客户。与此同时,客户会抱怨 IT 部门很难合作,没有回应,要花很长时间去实现他们为完成工作所发出的请求。我们不应将 IT 视为瓶颈。

为了提供更优质的客户服务,必须要关注一线支持团队的福祉和发展。典型的分层支持团队是一个高度结构化的团队,且通过上报来管理请求。我们建议使用一种更具协作性的方法来管理服务请求。通过使用这种方法,支持团队的每个成员都可以更贴近客户并解答疑问。当 IT 团队将事务集中在 Slack 之类的工具中时,团队中的每个人也都有机会从解决请求的过程中取得经验。

通过增加定期的回顾会议,团队就有时间回顾和审查发生的每件事情,且理想的举行频率是每周一次。如此一来,就有机会提出问题,确定需要改进的地方,并确保将请求转至相应的团队。成为一个注重学习的团队并支持持续改进,这表示 IT 支持团队可以成为更好的客户拥护者。

在 IT 部门工作可能是一项艰巨而又吃力不讨好的工作。在 Atlassian,我们建议支持团队定期进行状况监控,以评估并采取措施从而提升团队。

左移

为了摆脱混乱的服务请求,一个广泛采用建议就是“向左移动”。那么,“左移”所什么意思?“左移”是指尽可能在靠近第一线(和客户)的位置履行请求。这可通过缩短解决问题的时间、简化支持活动和降低履行请求的总体成本来提升客户体验。

例如,一个含有可搜索文章的知识库能在转移工作单方面创造奇迹。或者,自定义用于收集相关信息的请求接收表单可以减少长时间的来回对话。

显示 IT 支持左移所产生价值的图示

客户希望在一个地方寻求帮助。对寻求帮助者的体验进行集中化,并使其尽可能易于访问和使用。许多组织创建了一个自助服务门户,但只是为了收集(比喻)灰尘。从他们的错误中吸取教训,并根据您组织的特殊文化来创造一些东西。请记住,即使您构建了最强大的自助服务系统,如果客户不能轻易找到它,那么也毫无价值。

利用自动化

将自动化整合到您的自助服务功能中后,您可以通过删除常见的重复性任务来减少您 IT 团队的整体工作量。例如,使用自动化来加快您的支持人员目前手动完成的后续沟通,改善您与客户的沟通方式,并让利益相关者了解预计的解决时间。对于某些请求,预设的回复可为客户提供有用的信息,并降低支持人员的工作量。客户通常不知道从哪里寻求帮助,而自动化功能还可以用于将服务请求传送给相应的团队,以加快解决速度。

随时进行纵向扩展

随着组织的发展,提供服务变得越来越复杂。更多团队会被卷入请求的管理队列之中。由于责任下放以及团队之间传递工作的需求越来越高,往往会丢失背景信息。我们从客户那里听说,它们收购了新的业务单位或公司,而将该业务单位或公司纳入其系统是一项非常恼人的流程。

服务目录可提供关于可用于部署的实时 IT 服务的信息。由于无需开发人员即可快速部署服务目录,您便可适应不断变化的业务需求。

服务请求管理的最佳实践

那么,创建高效的服务请求管理流程需要做些什么呢?以下是需要考虑的 8 个提示:

  1. 从最常见、最简单且最容易履行的请求开始。通过定义请求,可以为客户提供直接价值,并可让 IT 团队在构建请求工作流的未来阶段时进行学习。
  2. 记录您对服务请求的所有要求:问题字段、审批流程、履行流程、履行团队、流程负责人、SLA、报告等。此举可让 IT 团队以最佳方式管理随时间推移而出现的请求。对于随时间推移而变化的更复杂请求,此步骤非常重要。
  3. 在接收请求时捕获启动请求流程所需的数据,但不要向客户提出过多问题。
  4. 尽可能实现审批流程的标准化和自动化。例如,所有购买新显示器的请求都被视为预先批准的请求(并在可能的情况下自动实现),而所有软件请求都需要得到客户经理的批准。
  5. 查看请求履行流程和规程,以确定负责完成请求的支持团队,以及是否存在特殊要求。如果可能,通过自动化功能进行简化。
  6. 确定在发布请求时,知识库应提供哪些信息。自助服务的总体目标是更快满足客户的需求,并在可能的情况下转移请求。因此,如果您可以回答常见问题中的某个问题,则应在创建服务请求时将此知识纳入计划之中。
  7. 查看服务水平协议 (SLA),确保您配备了适当的衡量标准和通知,以便及时履行请求。
  8. 确定有效管理服务请求的生命周期所需的报告机制和指标。开始使用 CSAT(客户满意度)、响应时间、解决时间和结束时间等指标进行跟踪。

摘要

通过妥善地管理服务请求,您的 IT 团队便可专注于对更大的组织来说最为重要的事务,同时进一步提升客户体验。像 Jira Service Management 这样灵活的软件工具可以帮助您的团队摆脱混乱局面,并配置符合您团队需求的工作流程。

Close

What is a service request?

IT teams receive a wide variety of customer requests. Whether incoming inquiries are asking for access to applications, software licenses, password resets, or new hardware, the Information Technology Infrastructure Library (ITIL) classifies these as service requests.  Service requests are often recurring, so efficient IT teams follow a repeatable procedure to handle them. 

Service request management is related to, but distinct from other service management practices including incident, problem, and change management. Service request management uniquely involves a user submitting their request for something new --whether that’s access to a service, a new phone, or information.

ITIL specifies that along with the service desk, service requests are managed by the request fulfilment process.

What is request fulfillment?

Request fulfillment is the process of resolving a customer’s service request and refers to managing the entire lifecycle of all service requests. The service desk team is dedicated to responding to and fulfilling requests while delivering the highest level of service support quality to the customer. 

Request fulfillment is about enabling employees by providing access to the IT services they need to be productive. It should help users see available services, understand how to request them, and set expectations for how long requests will take to be addressed. 

In organizations that generate large numbers of service requests, it’s smart to handle service requests as a separate work stream – and to record and manage them as a separate record type. This should be a distinct process from your other IT processes.

Incident management vs service request management

A common question that comes up about service request management is how it relates to core IT practices including incident, problem, and change management. It’s worth briefly covering certain key terms before getting into distinctions.

  • Service request - A formal user request for something new to be provided. Example: “I need a new Macbook.”
  • Incident - An unplanned event that disrupts or reduces the quality of a service and requires an emergency response. Example: “The website is down!”
  • Problem - The underlying cause of recurring or preventable incidents. Example: “That application issue strikes again!”
  • Change - Adding, modifying, or removing something that could affect IT services. This can be tied to a service request. Example: “I need to upgrade the database!”

Service requests should be handled as a distinct workstream to help IT teams focus on delivering more valuable work and better enabling the rest of the organization. Service requests are quite often low risk, and can be expedited or even automated. For instance, if a new employee submits a service request for access to a software application, that request can be pre-approved and automatically granted. 

All of this means that the IT team can reduce stress, save time, and avoid overly complicated workflows. Considering the variety of incoming change, incident, and service requests you have to handle, separate workstreams and records will allow your team to figure out how best to allocate your resources.

The service request management process

While there are some variations in the way a service request can be captured and fulfilled, it’s important to focus on driving standardization to improve overall service quality and efficiency. The following process represents a simple request fulfillment process based on ITIL recommendations. This can be used as a starting point for adapting existing ITIL processes or defining new ones.

Diagram showing a service request flow

The service request fulfillment process, in brief:

  1. A customer requests help from your service portal or via email.
  2. The IT service team assesses the request alongside pre-defined approval and qualification processes. If needed, they send the request for financial or business approval.
  3. A service desk agent works to fulfill the service request, or forwards the request to someone who can.
  4. After resolving the request, the agent closes the ticket and consults the customer to make sure they are satisfied.

Service request management priorities

A strong service request management practice is customer focused, knowledge centric, and streamlined with automation. By applying these principles across your efforts, your organization can strengthen the IT support team, make it easy for customers to ask for help and get answers, and use tech to keep pace with changing organizational needs.

Here are recommendations of what IT service teams should prioritize to get closer to the customer and deliver the best service possible.

Support the support team

The unsung heroes of any organization, support teams understandably get burnt out by the sheer volume of tickets they handle. Requests for services often exceed the supply of available time and resources. IT service teams in large corporations are constantly responding to requests from the business, often falling into the mode of reacting first to the customers who make the most noise. Meanwhile, customers complain that IT is difficult to work with, unresponsive, and takes too long to fulfill the requests they need to do their job. IT shouldn’t be thought of as a bottleneck. 

To deliver better customer service, it’s important to focus on the well-being and development of frontline support teams. Typical tiered support teams are highly structured and manage requests via escalations. We recommend a more collaborative approach to service request management. In this approach, every member of the support team can get closer to the customer and answer questions. When IT teams swarm issues in tools like Slack, they also gain an opportunity for everyone to learn from the process of resolving the request. 

By adding regular retros, the team gets a moment to step back and review everything that happened, on an ideally weekly basis. This provides a chance to ask questions, pinpoint areas for improvement, and make sure requests are routed to the appropriate teams. Becoming a learning focused team and embracing continuous improvement means the IT support team can be better customer advocates.  

Working in IT can be a difficult and thankless job. At Atlassian, we recommend support teams regularly conduct health monitors to assess and take action to improve the team. 

Shift left

To move out of a chaotic service request mess, one popular recommendation is to “shift left.” So, what does “shift left “mean? It’s moving request fulfillment as close to the front line – and customer – as possible. This improves the customer experience by speeding up time to resolution, simplifying support activity, and reducing the overall cost of request fulfillment. 

For instance, a knowledge base with searchable articles can work wonders in deflecting tickets. Or, customizing your request intake forms to gather relevant information can reduce long back-and-forth conversations. 

Diagram showing value of shifting left in IT support

Customers want a single place to go for help. Centralize the help seeker experience and make it as easy to access and use as possible.  Many organizations have created a self-service portal only for it to gather (metaphorical) dust. Learn from their mistakes, and create something based around the unique culture of your organization. Remember, that even if you build the most powerful self-service system, it’s worthless if customers can’t easily find it. 

Levarage automation

When you incorporate automation into your self service capability you reduce the overall workload for your IT team by removing common repetitive tasks.  For example, use automation to speed up the follow-up communications your agents complete manually today, improve the way you communicate with customers, and keep stakeholders updated on estimated resolution time. Canned responses for certain requests provide useful information to the customer and reduce the workload for the agent.  Customers often don’t know where to seek help from, and automation can also be used to route service requests to the appropriate team for expedited resolution.

Be ready to scale up

As your organization grows, delivering service becomes increasingly complex.  More teams are involved in managing queues of requests. With more need to delegate responsibilities, and pass work between teams, context is often lost. We hear stories from customers that acquire new business units or companies, and face a daunting process to onboard them into their systems.

A service catalog provides information about the live IT services that are available for deployment. The ability to quickly deploy a service catalog, without a developer can enable you to adapt to changing business needs.

Service request management best practices

So what does it take to create an efficient service request management process? Here are 8 tips to consider:

  1. Begin with the most common, simple, and easily fulfilled requests. Defining them provides immediate value to customers and allows the IT team to learn as they build out future phases of the request workstream. 
  2. Document all your requirements for your service requests-- question fields, approval process, fulfillment procedures, fulfillment team, process owner, SLAs, reporting, etc. This will allow the IT team to best manage the request offering over time. This step is very important for more complex request offerings that will evolve over time.
  3. Capture the data needed to start the request process upon intake, but don’t overload the customer with too many questions.
  4. Standardize and automate the approval process where possible. For example, all requests for new monitors are considered pre-approved (and automatically fulfilled if possible) and all software requests need to be approved by the customer’s manager.
  5. Review the request fulfillment process and procedures to identify which support teams are responsible for completing the request, and if any special requirements exist. Streamline with automation if possible. 
  6. Identify what information should be available in the knowledge base when a request offering is released. The overall goal of self-service is to give your customers what they want faster and to deflect requests where possible, so if you can answer a question in a common FAQ, include this knowledge as a part of the plan when creating the service request offering.
  7. Review Service Level Agreements (SLAs) to ensure you have the proper measurements and notifications in place so that requests are fulfilled in a timely manner.
  8. Identify what reporting and metrics are needed to properly manage the lifecycle of a service request. Start tracking with metrics like CSAT (customer satisfaction), time to response, time to resolution, and time to close.

Summary

Getting service request management right means you’ll enable your IT team to focus on what’s most important to the broader organization, all while promoting a better customer experience. A flexible software tool like Jira Service Desk can help your team cut through the chaos and configure workflows that fit your team's needs.