Close

适用于高速团队的 ITSM

配置管理数据库 (CMDB) 指南

根据 ITIL 4,配置管理数据库 (CMDB) 用于存储整个生命周期中的配置记录,并维护[记录]间的关系。

换句话说,您的 CMDB 存储有关组织内项目配置的信息,包括硬件、软件、系统、设施,有时还包括人员。定义应跟踪哪些项目以及如何进行跟踪是 IT 部门的职权范围。此配置数据可以包括项目之间的关系和相互依赖关系、每个项目的变更历史记录以及每个项目的类和属性(如类型、负责人和重要性)。

在 CMDB 中,这些被跟踪的项目称为配置项目 (CI)。根据 ITIL 4 的定义,CI 是“为了提供 IT 服务而需要管理的任何组件”。

CMDB 的目标是为组织提供做出更好业务决策和运行高效的 ITSM 流程所需的信息。通过集中所有配置信息,领导者可以更好地了解关键 CI 及其关系。CMDB 在影响分析、根本原因分析、法律合规、事件管理变更管理方面非常重要。

IT 资产管理 (ITAM) 与配置管理

现在,当我们谈论资产和 CI、IT 资产管理 (ITAM) 和配置管理时,很容易让事情变得混乱。乍一看,这些术语似乎是可以互换的,但事实是,它们可能涉及企业的某些相同组件,但它们关心的是这些组件的不同方面。

那么,这些实践有什么区别呢?我们以汽车为例,因为它既可以是资产(对公司有财务价值的东西),也可以是 CI(对组织的服务至关重要的动态组件)。

在不同的实践中,对那辆车有不同的考虑:

ITAM 注意事项

配置管理注意事项

  • 您什么时候买的车?
  • 来自哪个经销商?
  • 价格多少?
  • 品牌、型号和装饰是什么?
  • 折旧多少?
  • 保修包括什么?
  • 正在使用哪种机油?
  • 多久检查一次机油?
  • 还能行驶多少英里才需要换油?
  • 发动机配置是什么?
    • 改装了吗?

现在,并非所有资产都是 CI。对于某些公司来说,跟踪那些没有配置和依赖关系的资产可能是有意义的,而这些配置和依赖关系使它们作为 CI 进行跟踪很有价值。例如,电力公司可能会将单个电线杆作为资产进行跟踪。它们对组织具有财务价值,知道它们何时被损坏、更换等可能值得在资产管理中进行跟踪。

但是,作为 CI,电线杆可能没有意义。没有相互依赖关系网络可供跟踪。当我们谈论一大块木头时,没有任何配置。而且,尝试将电线杆作为 CMDB 中的 CI 输入可能无法为系统增加足够的价值来证明时间和精力的合理性。

CMDB 的特征

因此,我们了解 CMDB 的作用、它在配置管理中的作用,以及它与资产管理的关系和不同之处。但是,在更实际的层面上,CMDB 功能是什么样的?

CMDB 的核心功能特征是:

具有 CI 指标和分析的无缝仪表板,可轻松跟踪 CI 的运行状况、他们的关系、变更的影响、导致事件或问题的模式,以及在组织内构建和维护每项服务的成本(金钱和资源)。

合规性功能可为您提供详细的记录,让审计人员不仅可以了解 CI 的当前状态,还可以了解其历史变更、制衡、事件等。

创建 CI 并及时填充数据,支持三种不同的方法:手动输入、集成(API 驱动、SCCM)和发现工具,这些工具可自动扫描组织网络中的所有 IP 地址以收集软件和硬件信息,有效收集公司内每台物理和虚拟设备的清单。

支持联合数据集,包括 CI 及其数据的规范化和协调。

IT 服务映射(通常是关系和依赖关系的图形说明)。

访问控制允许您根据需要为不同的人员或团队提供不同的访问级别,并在出现问题或事件时追溯到变更来源。

CMDB 的好处

CMDB 解决的核心问题是孤立的数据和过时的信息。在实施 CMDB 之前,大多数组织都将数据分散在具有不同负责人的不同系统中,这就很难概览所有 CI 及其相互依赖关系,而且更难理解哪些信息是最新的,哪些不是。

这会使团队在做出决策时无法理解重要的背景,这可能会影响风险评估和报告、影响决策、减慢问题解决速度,并最终给企业带来财务和声誉方面的损失。

例如,假设 CI A 的数据保存在一个部门,而 CI B 的数据存储在另一个部门。CI B 依赖于 CI A 正常工作。但是,当 CI A 的部门决定将其下线进行维护时,他们无法了解自己对 CI B 的影响。

做好的情况就是,这可能会导致团队之间的混乱。而最坏的情况,它可能会变成重大事件。要避免这种情况,只需要一个良好的 CMDB。

Forrester 确定了 CMDB 在当今至关重要的三个用例:

规划

技术经理需要 CMDB 数据进行规划,既需要企业架构和项目组合管理的高级规划,也需要更详细的资产和容量管理。

会计

IT 财务需要应用或服务代码的记录,以便分配账单和妥善管理企业财务。

运营

CMDB 改进了许多核心 ITSM 实践,包括变更管理、事件管理和问题管理。

在变更管理中,CMDB 可以通过预测哪些用户、系统和其他 CI 可能受到影响来改进风险评估。在受监管的行业中,它还可以帮助满足合规性要求,帮助团队管理控制并提供清晰的审计跟踪。

在事件管理中,CMDB 可以帮助识别导致事件的变更,并更快地解决问题。事件记录可以与其相关 CI 相关联,从而帮助团队跟踪一段时间内的事件及其影响的资产。

在问题管理中,CMDB 可以帮助进行根本原因分析,使团队更快地找到问题核心。它还可以帮助团队确定需要升级的资产,减少服务成本和计划外停机期间,从而支持主动的问题管理。

归根结底,CMDB 应该降低复杂性、防止错误、提高安全性,并帮助 ITSM 实践(如变更和事件管理)顺利运行。

CMDB 面临的挑战

行业统计数据告诉我们,只有 25% 的组织从其 CMDB 投资中获得了有意义的价值。如此高的失败率导致该技术的声誉不佳。

好消息是,失败的原因是可以预防的,往往分为六个可预测的类别:

文化

与组织中的任何事物一样,文化和团队承诺是决定新技术和流程能否成功的最重要因素之一。《哈佛商业评论》最近一项研究显示,93% 的高管表示,数据驱动的数字化转型的最大挑战是人员和流程。对于 CMDB 项目来说,情况也是如此。

相关性

CMDB 通常被称为“单一数据源”,这有时会导致组织试图将所有数据合而为一,而不考虑与其需求相关的用例。

与任何数据存储库一样,CMDB 应包含重点突出、有用的数据,以支持变更管理等内部流程。确保您的 CMDB 具有明确定义的价值目标、负责人以及更新数据以反映所有变更的方法。

集中化

当我们说 CMDB 是查看资产数据的集中位置时,这并不意味着所有资产数据都必须仅存放在 CMDB 中。当团队试图将所有数据转移到这个“单一数据源”中时,这种常见的误解可能会变成大量工作。这里真正的最佳实践是联合来自其他工具的数据,以便使用最合适的工具来支持每个用例。

例如,将财务数据保存在 IT 财务管理 (ITFM) 工具中,将软件许可证信息保存在软件资产管理 (SAM) 工具中通常更有意义。数据可以导入并镜像到您的 CMDB 中,即使它不是其主要存储空间。

精确度

许多组织都在努力开发和维护准确的 CMDB。最常见的问题是发现工具运行频率太低、缺少自动化规则或依赖手动输入。应对这些挑战的典型答案是事件驱动的发现,它增强了传统的自下而上的发现。

对于那些不熟悉这些术语的人来说,自下而上的发现是指资产从基础架构开始,然后扩展到面向客户的 CI。事件驱动的发现是指发生某些事情(系统内的事件、问题等)导致系统相互通信。然后,系统会根据该事件映射相关的 CI 及其连接。

现在,并不是每个 CI 都能被发现。例如,您的团队可能希望在 CMDB 中映射监视器。由于自动化系统无法发现监视器,因此需要通过电子表格(或类似方法)手动输入它们。

准确性的关键在于利用自下而上的发现和事件驱动的发现的力量,以最清晰地了解您的资产及其联系。

流程

一些组织认为 CMDB 用于建模传统基础架构和软件,而不是云和软件定义基础架构的新堆栈以及托管在其上的现代工作流程。

这里的事实是,我们不应该让关于语义的争论阻碍我们探索跟踪我们(传统和现代)CI 的真正价值,这种工具可以让我们概览我们的技术生态系统。

工具

如果您想避免上方的故障统计数据,那么选择正确的工具至关重要。一些 CMDB 工具只不过是资产存储库——固定在传统物理基础架构上的数据结构和对任何变更都反应缓慢的发现工具。要在 CMDB 上取得成功,您需要一个能够容纳新型资产并能够快速变更的 CMDB。

选择要在您的 CMDB 中管理什么

对于您应该在 CMDB 中管理哪些 CI,没有一个放之四海而皆准的答案。每个组织的用例和目标都应确定对其 CMDB 设置有意义的广度和深度。总的来说,从高级别开始并获得合适的服务,然后只在需要的地方更广泛或更深入地实现组织目标是有意义的。

也就是说,CI 可以大致分为技术实体或非技术实体。

技术实体包括商业服务、技术服务、应用、软件、数据库、容器、虚拟机、操作系统、硬件、网络、端口等。

如果您需要在 IT 服务映射中将非技术实体表示为依赖实体或受其他资产影响,也可以在 CMDB 中对它们进行建模。非技术实体可能包括用户、客户、组织、地点、服务协议、文档等。

最后,在设计 CMDB 模型时应考虑云服务。两种 SaaS 产品(例如谷歌应用、Dropbox、Salesforce 等)和 IaaS 产品(例如DigitalOcean、Linode、Rackspace、Amazon Web Services 等)可以根据需要表示为 CI。

与传统 CMDB 不同,Insight for Jira Service Management 提供灵活开放的数据结构,因此您可以管理所有资源。

后续内容
事件管理

Guide to configuration management databases (CMDBs)

What is a configuration management database (CMDB)?

According to ITIL 4, a configuration management database (CMDB) “is used to store configuration records throughout their lifecycle and...maintain the relationships between [them].”

In other words, your CMDB stores information on the configuration of items within an organization, including hardware, software, systems, facilities, and sometimes personnel. It is the purview of the IT organization to define which items should be tracked and how to do so. This configuration data can include relationships and interdependencies between items, the history of changes to each item, and class and attributes—such as type, owner, and importance—for each item.

Within a CMDB, these tracked items are known as configuration items (CIs). As defined by ITIL 4, CIs are “any component that needs to be managed in order to deliver an IT service.” 

Insight logo

Track and visualize your assets in Jira with Insight

Get complete visibility into your IT infrastructure with a CMDB and asset management tool that’s native to Jira. Start closing issues faster today!

The goal of a CMDB is to provide an organization with the information needed to make better business decisions and run efficient ITSM processes. By centralizing all configuration information, leaders can better understand critical CIs and their relationships. CMDBs are important in impact analysis, root cause analysis, legal compliance, incident management, and change management.

IT asset management (ITAM) vs. configuration management

Now, when we talk about assets and CIs, IT asset management (ITAM) and configuration management, it’s easy for things to get confusing. At first glance, it seems like the terms are interchangeable, but the truth is that they may deal with some of the same components of a business, but they are concerned with different aspects of those components. 

So, what’s the difference between those practices? Let’s use a car as an example because it could be both an asset (something of financial value to a company) and a CI (a dynamic component important to an organization's services). 

There are different considerations about that car within the different practices:

ITAM considerations

Configuration management considerations

  • When did you buy the car?
  • From which dealer?
  • What was the price?
  • What’s the make, model, and trim?
  • What is the depreciation?
  • What does the warranty cover?
  • What oil type is being used?
  • How often is the oil being checked?
  • How many miles until the next oil change is due?
  • What is the engine configuration? 
    • Has it been modified?

Now, not every asset is also a CI. For some companies, it may make sense to track assets that don’t have the configuration and dependencies that make them valuable to track as CIs. For example, a power company may track individual power poles as assets. They have financial value to the organization and knowing when they’re damaged, replaced, etc. may be worth tracking within asset management. 

As a CI, however, the power pole may not make sense. There’s no web of interdependencies to track. There’s no configuration when we’re talking about a hunk of wood. And trying to enter power poles as CIs in your CMDB may not add enough value to the system to justify the time and effort.

Characteristics of a CMDB

So, we understand what a CMDB does, its role in configuration management, and how it relates to and differs from asset management. But what does CMDB functionality look like on a more practical level? 

The core functional characteristics of a CMDB are:

Seamless dashboards with CI metrics and analytics that make it easy to track the health of CIs, their relationships, the impact of changes, patterns that lead to incidents or problems, and the cost—in money and resources—of building and maintaining each service within an organization.

Compliance features that give you detailed records and visibility for auditors into not only the current state of CIs, but also their historical changes, checks and balances, incidents, etc. 

Creation of CIs and timely population of their data, supported across three different methods: manual input, integrations (API-driven, SCCM), and discovery tools that conduct automated scans of all IP addresses in an organization’s network to collect software and hardware info, effectively gathering an inventory of each physical and virtual device in the company.  

Support for federated data sets, including normalization and reconciliation of CIs and their data.  

IT service mapping (typically a graphical illustration of relationships and dependencies).  

Access controls that allow you to give different access levels to different people or teams as needed and to trace changes back to their source in case of questions or incidents.

The benefits of a CMDB

The core problems that a CMDB addresses are siloed data and outdated information. Before implementing a CMDB, most organizations have data scattered across various systems with various owners, making it difficult to see a bird’s eye view of all CIs and their interdependencies and making it even harder to understand what information is and is not current. 

This prevents teams from understanding important context when making decisions, which can impact risk assessment and reporting, impair decision-making, slow issue resolution, and ultimately cost the business both financially and reputationally. 

For example, let’s say CI A’s data is housed in one department and CI B’s is in another. CI B depends on CI A in order to function properly. But when CI A’s department decides to take it offline for maintenance, they don’t have visibility into the impact they’re making on CI B. 

At best, this can cause confusion between teams. At worst, it can turn into a major incident. And all that’s needed to avoid this scenario is a good CMDB.

Forrester identifies three use cases where a CMDB is vitally important today:

Planning

Technology managers need CMDB data to plan, both at a high level with enterprise architecture and portfolio management and at a more detailed level with asset and capacity management.

Accounting

IT finance requires records of applications or service codes in order to allocate billing statements and properly manage business finances.

Operating

A CMDB improves a number of core ITSM practices, including change management, incident management, and problem management. 

In change management, a CMDB can improve risk assessment by anticipating which users, systems, and other CIs might be impacted. In regulated industries, it can also aid compliance, helping teams manage controls and providing a clear audit trail.

In incident management, a CMDB can help identify the changes that led to an incident and get to faster resolution. Incident records can be associated with their relevant CIs, helping teams track incidents over time alongside the assets they impact.

In problem management, a CMDB can help with root cause analysis, getting teams to the heart of a problem quicker. It can also support proactive problem management by helping teams identify assets that need upgrading to reduce service costs and unplanned downtime. 

At the end of the day, a CMDB should reduce complexity, prevent errors, increase security, and help ITSM practices like change and incident management run smoothly.

The challenges of CMDBs

Industry statistics tell us that only 25% of organizations get meaningful value from their CMDB investments. And such a high failure rate has left the technology with a rather problematic reputation.

The good news is that the reasons for failure are preventable and tend to fall into six predictable categories:

Culture

As with anything in an organization, culture and team commitment is one of the most important factors in whether new technology and processes are successful. In a recent study by the Harvard Business Review, 93% of executives said the greatest challenge in data-driven digital transformation is people and process. That holds true for CMDB projects.

Relevancy

CMDBs are often called the “single source of truth,” which can sometimes lead to organizations trying to shoehorn all their data into one without thinking through the use cases that are relevant to their needs. 

As with any data repository, a CMDB should contain focused, useful data that supports internal processes like change management. Make sure your CMDB has a clearly defined value objective, owner, and a way to update data to reflect all changes.

Centralization

When we say a CMDB is a centralized place to view asset data, that does not mean that all asset data has to live solely in the CMDB. This common misconception can turn into a lot of work for teams as they try to move all their data into this “single source of truth.” The real best practice here is to federate data from other tools so that the most appropriate tool is used to support each use case. 

For example, it often makes more sense to keep financial data in an IT financial management (ITFM) tool and software license information with a software asset management (SAM) tool. The data can be imported and mirrored in your CMDB, even without that being its primary storage space.

Accuracy

Many organizations struggle to develop and maintain an accurate CMDB. The most common issues are discovery tools running too infrequently, an absence of automation rules, or a reliance on manual inputs. The typical answer to these challenges is event-driven discovery that augments traditional, bottom-up discovery. 

For those unfamiliar with those terms, bottom-up discovery is when assets are mapped starting with infrastructure and branching out into customer-facing CIs. Event-driven discovery is when something happens—an event within a system, a problem, etc.—that causes systems to talk to each other. Then, based on that event, the system maps the related CIs and their connections.  

Now, not every CI is discoverable. For example, your team may want to map monitors in your CMDB. Because the monitors aren’t discoverable by an automated system, they’d need to be manually input through a spreadsheet (or similar method). 

The key to accuracy is harnessing the power of both bottom-up discovery and event-driven discovery to get the clearest picture of your assets and their connections.

Process

There is a perception in some organizations that CMDBs are for modeling legacy infrastructure and software, rather than the new stack of cloud and software-defined infrastructure and the modern workflows hosted on them. 

The truth here is that we shouldn’t let the debate about semantics keep us from exploring the genuine value of tracking our CIs—legacy and modern—in a tool that gives us a bird’s eye view of our technical ecosystems.

Tools

Choosing the right tool is paramount if you want to avoid the unhappy failure statistics above. Some CMDB tools amount to little more than asset repositories—data structures fixed on legacy physical infrastructure and discovery tools that react slowly to any changes. To succeed with a CMDB, you need one that accounts for new types of assets and is capable of quick change.

Choosing what to manage in your CMDB

There is no one-size-fits-all answer to which CIs you should manage within your CMDB. Each organization’s use cases and goals should determine the level of breadth and depth that makes sense for their CMDB set-up. In general, it makes sense to start high-level and get the services right and then only go wider or deeper where needed to meet your organizational goals.

That said, CIs can be broadly grouped as technical or non-technical entities. 

Technical entities include business services, technical services, applications, software, databases, containers, virtual machines, operating systems, hardware, networks, ports, etc. 

Non-technical entities can also be modeled in your CMDB if you need to represent them as either dependent or impacted by other assets in your IT service mapping. Non-technical entities may include users, customers, organizations, locations, service agreements, documents, etc. 

Lastly, cloud services should be taken into consideration in the design of a CMDB model. Both SaaS offerings (e.g. Google apps, Dropbox, Salesforce, etc.) and IaaS offerings (e.g. DigitalOcean, Linode, Rackspace, Amazon Web Services, etc.) can be represented as CIs as needed.

Atlassian Marketplace offers a variety of ITAM and CMDB apps.