Close

Jira Service Management 中的资产和配置管理

概述

IT 资产管理(也称为 ITAM)是确保在时机成熟时对组织的资产进行记账、部署、维护、升级和处置的流程。简而言之,ITAM 确保跟踪和使用组织中的有形和无形贵重物品。

服务配置管理可确保随时随地提供有关服务配置和支持它们的配置项目 (CI) 的准确可靠信息。其中包括有关如何配置 CI 以及二者之间关系的信息。此高级视图通常称为服务映射服务模型,并构成服务架构的一部分。

配置管理数据库 (CMDB) 用于存储整个生命周期中的配置记录,并维护记录间的关系。组织内的配置项目示例包括硬件、软件、系统、设施和人员。

资产是 Jira Service Management 的原生资产和配置管理工具。该工具为团队提供了一种灵活而动态的方式来跟踪各种资产和配置项目 (CI),使团队能够轻松地将它们与服务请求、事件、问题、变更和工作量关联起来。

在 JIRA 服务管理高级版、企业版和数据中心计划中提供
Meeples 致力于多种产品

“资产”包含在 Jira Service Management 的 Premium、Enterprise 计划和 Data Center 计划中,允许您在 Jira Service Management 中构建资产存储库或配置管理数据库 (CMDB)。

您的团队应该从哪里开始进行 IT 资产管理和服务配置管理?

来自我们客户的一个常见问题是:我的团队应该从 IT 资产管理还是从服务配置管理开始?还是两者一起?以下是一家公司可能会面临的一些常见问题,希望能给您以着手的灵感。您最常遇见哪些问题?哪些答案花费最长时间才能找到?哪些答案获取失败会使您的组织损失最大?

IT 资产管理

  1. 跟踪和管理哪些类型的 IT 设备对我们来说很重要?
  2. 为了有效地跟踪 IT 设备,我们需要了解哪些信息?
  3. 在员工和承包商入职和离职时,我们需要跟踪什么?
  4. 我们跟踪哪些类型的软件许可证(云或物理)?我们是否对订阅许可证的购买与分配有良好的了解?
  5. 领导层和 IT 团队如何找到部署的总资产、已使用许可证与已购买许可证的比例等来做出关键业务决策?

服务配置管理

  1. 对我们的业务至关重要的顶级服务有哪些?
  2. 谁来管理这些服务?
  3. 部署到云(AWS、Azure、谷歌等)的服务的百分比是多少?
  4. 我们是否对服务分类(支持服务应用和基础架构)有良好的了解?
  5. 我们需要跟踪哪些类型的信息来支持审计和合规性要求?

如果您不能轻松回答以上问题,那么您可能在资产和服务配置监督方面存在盲点。为了解决这个问题,Atlassian 建议首先记录库存,然后通过 IT 资产管理跟踪库存的生命周期和使用情况,然后开始通过服务配置管理查看资产的当前状态和资产间的关联。有效的服务配置管理取决于准确的资产信息。同样,资产管理取决于最新的库存记录。

带灯泡的书本

有关更多信息,请查阅我们的 IT 资产和配置管理页面


如何在 Jira Service Management 中开始进行资产和配置管理

首先,我们强烈建议您查看我们的资产入门指南。本指南有助于教会用户如何访问资产、如何构建资产、如何将数据导入资产以及对象自动化的最佳实践等主题。

Jira Service Management 中的资产

资产是我们的资产和配置管理功能的统称,可以通过从顶部导航栏中选择“资产”来访问。

请注意,“资产”仅适用于 Premium 计划和 Enterprise Cloud 计划。Atlassian 为新老客户提供 Premium 计划免费试用。要升级到 Premium 计划:

  1. 以站点管理员身份登录您的 Cloud 站点。
  2. 选择屏幕左侧的菜单选择器图标(9 个方格)。
  3. 选择“管理”,然后选择“管理订阅”。
  4. 将您的 Jira Service Management 计划变更为 “Premium”。

此变更将立即生效,并将在试用期结束后显示在您的账单上,除非您的帐户中禁用了该产品。

创建对象架构

架构是对象类型和对象的集合。这可能包含您的整个组织的资产和配置项目,也可能只包含特定的部分 — 拥有多个架构可以让不同的团队管理他们重要的资产。了解有关在资产中构建对象的最佳实践的更多信息

首先,只创建一个对象架构,然后用对象类型和对象填充它。这将允许您为 Jira Service Management 创建对象类型和对象,以便在事务视图和门户中查找和显示。例如,服务器。

要创建对象架构,您需要以 Jira 管理员身份登录。

  1. 在顶部导航栏中选择资产
  2. 选择“对象架构”
  3. 选择右上角的“创建对象架构”
  4. 输入有关对象架构的信息,包括:
    1. 名称
    2. 密钥 — 这是用于标识对象架构的唯一键
    3. 描述
  5. 选择“创建”

创建对象类型

对象类型表示对象架构中的一组类似对象。例如,笔记本电脑可以是对象类型,而我们组织中的所有笔记本电脑都是笔记本电脑对象类型中的对象。对象类型可以包含多个对象及其属性。创建对象类型

  1. 在顶部导航栏中选择资产
  2. 选择“查看所有对象架构”
  3. 选择要在其中创建对象类型的对象架构。
  4. 选择左侧边栏中的“创建对象类型”图标。
  5. 在弹出窗口中:
    1. 输入对象类型的名称。
    2. 为对象类型选择一个图标。
    3. 选择“父对象类型”。如果选择“无”,则将在对象架构的根级别创建对象类型。
    4. 输入关于对象类型的描述。
    5. 选择“创建”。要在之后立即创建另一个对象,请选中“创建另一个检查框”,然后选择“创建”

创建对象

接下来,我们建议在“资产”中创建一些对象。您还可以使用它们来创建引用(将对象链接在一起)从而构建图表,以显示对象之间的关系和依赖关系。

要在对象架构中创建新对象:

  1. 在顶部导航栏中选择资产
  2. 选择“对象架构”
  3. 选择要在其中创建对象类型的对象架构。
  4. 选择“创建对象”
  5. 在弹出窗口中:
    1. 为对象选择一种对象类型。
    2. 输入对象的 名称 。
    3. 输入显示的任何其他属性的信息。
    4. 选择“创建”。
    5. 要在之后立即创建另一个对象,请选中“创建另一个检查框”,然后选择“创建”

设置“资产”自定义字段

最后,设置“资产”自定义字段,让您的团队能够直接从事务视图中查看“资产”对象,从而在最需要的地方提供上下文。了解如何设置自定义对象字段。

将对象导入 Jira Service Management

目前,您可以从 CSV、JSON 和 Assets Discovery 将数据导入“资产”中,并且有计划可从外部数据库和 Jira 环境内添加数据。

将数据导入“资产”分为四个步骤:

  1. 准备您的数据。
  2. “创建导入配置”
  3. 将您的数据映射到“资产”。有两种选择:
    1. 使用预定义的结构和配置自动映射数据,或者;
    2. 使用以下任一方法手动绘制地图数据:
      1. 用于创建“资产”对象类型的对象类型映射
      2. 用于创建“资产”属性和引用的对象类型属性映射
      3. 用于创建分层父结构和子结构的子对象类型映射
  4. 执行导入。

使用 Assets Discovery 自动发现环境中的对象

Assets Discovery 是一款无需支持服务即可选取网络资产的扫描仪(尽管您可以联系支持人员获取更详细的信息)。您可以选择将哪些资产和属性拉取到“资产”对象架构中,并创建自己的扫描模式,以查找更多的利基资产。如果您按预定计划运行 Assets Discovery,它还可以获取变更信息,并更新数据。利用自动化规则,您甚至可以根据已检测到的变更触发 Jira 事务、电子邮件通知等。要使用它,您需要下载并在本地计算机上运行 Assets Discovery。


资产和配置管理的最佳实践和提示

采用自上而下的方法构建服务模型架构

要实现您 CMDB 的更多价值,请专注于仅从您计划管理的关键服务中提取数据。从一两项最关键的业务服务开始,采取精益方法。集中焦点可以帮助您随着 CMDB 的成长而学习,并快速构建包含相关 CI 和依赖关系的服务映射。更重要的是,您将避免因使用不必要数据而使 CMDB 过载的陷阱。

提供服务模型架构全览视图的服务映射的屏幕截图

对于许多 IT 团队来说,数据联合的概念也已成为现实。AWS Management Console 或 Microsoft Azure Portal 等应用使团队能够快速访问支持其服务的 IT 基础架构。这种“以服务为中心”的定义和构建 CMDB 的方法在所需信息与信息创造的价值之间取得了平衡。它还避免了为维护有关每个组件及其关系的大量详细信息而造成的代价高昂的工作。

使用 Jira Service Management 的服务功能,在您的组织中创建统一的服务视图

通过 Jira Service Management 中的服务功能,您可以轻松注册重要的业务和技术服务,为业务提供动力。它基于 Atlassian Graph 平台构建,该平台可连接查询并整合 Atlassian 和第三方产品的数据。如此一来,便有助于提高整个组织的服务可见性,统一 IT 和开发团队的工作,并围绕业务关键需求开展团队协作。

Jira Service Management 的服务注册功能

让员工帮助您轻松选择资产

作为与客户互动的第一线,您的服务台应该通过自助服务提供卓越的用户体验。借助 Jira Service Management,员工可以轻松选择合适的资产来与他们的请求相关联。支持人员将收到解决请求所需的所有上下文信息,例如购买日期以及与该资产相关的先前事务。支持人员收到的上下文越多,他们解决客户事务的速度就越快。

在 Jira Service Management 中使用 Insight,为支持人员提供更多上下文
Jira Service Management 中的员工资产屏幕

使用自动化来跟踪资产和监控库存

使用自动化规则和来自 Jira 事务的输入,以及追踪资产所需的信息来更新资产。当员工请求硬件时,使用自动化规则,将其分配为所选项目的负责人。再也不用浪费时间寻找拥有者或更新电子表格!

还可以使用 Automation 规则通知您即将颁发的许可证、快到期的保修和库存不足情况。


入门

知识管理

提示和技巧

自动化

Close

Guess who’s back? Join us for Team ’22 in Las Vegas or attend digitally! Event starts April 5th. Sign up now

Asset and configuration management in Jira Service Management

Overview

IT asset management (also known as ITAM) is the process of ensuring an organization’s assets are accounted for, deployed, maintained, upgraded, and disposed of when the time comes. Put simply, it’s making sure that the valuable items, tangible and intangible, in your organization are tracked and being used.

Service configuration management ensures that accurate and reliable information about the configuration of services, and the configuration items (CIs) that support them, is available when and where it is needed. This includes information on how CIs are configured and the relationships between them. This high-level view is often called a service map or service model, and forms part of the service architecture.

A configuration management database (CMDB) is used to store configuration records throughout their lifecycle and maintain the relationships between them. Examples of configuration items within an organization include hardware, software, systems, facilities, and personnel.

Insight is Jira Service Management’s native asset and configuration management tool. It gives teams a simple and quick way to tie assets and configuration items to service requests, incidents, problems, changes, and workloads.

AVAILABLE IN JIRA SERVICE MANAGEMENT PREMIUM, ENTERPRISE, AND DATA CENTER PLANS
Meeples working on multiple products

Insight is included in Jira Serice Management Premium, Enterprise, and Data Center plans, allowing you to build your asset repository or configuration management CMBD within the Jira environment iteslef and streamline workflows by having everything integrated into one tool.

With Insight, you can build your asset repository or configuration management database (CMDB) within the Jira environment itself and streamline workflows by having everything integrated into one tool.

Where should your team begin with IT asset management and service configuration management?

A common question we hear from customers is: should my team begin with IT asset management or service configuration management? Or both? Here are some common questions a company might ask to give you some inspiration of where to start. Which questions come up most for you? Which answers take the longest to find out? What answers cost your organization the most if you don’t have them?

IT Asset Management

  1. What type of IT devices are important for us to track and manage?
  2. What do we need to understand about our IT devices to track them effectively?
  3. What do we need to track when onboarding and offboarding employees and contractors?
  4. What types of software licenses do we track (cloud vs physical)? Do we have a good understanding of the subscription license purchases versus assigned?
  5. How can leadership and IT teams find the total assets deployed, the ratio of used vs purchased license etc. to make key business decisions?

Service Configuration Management

  1. What are the top services that are important to our business?
  2. Who manages these services?
  3. What percentage of services are deployed to the cloud (AWS, Azure, Google, etc.)?
  4. Do we have a good understanding of the service taxonomy (the supporting service applications and infrastructure)?
  5. What types of information do we need to track to support audit and compliance requirements?

If you can’t easily answer these questions, then you likely have blind spots in your asset and service configuration oversight. To remedy this, Atlassian recommends starting by documenting your inventory, move on to tracking the lifecycle and usage of that inventory with IT asset management, and then start to look at the current status and connection between your assets with service configuration management. Effective service configuration management depends on accurate asset information. Similarly, asset management depends on up-to-date inventory records.

Book with lightbulb

For more information, check out our IT Asset and Configuration Management page.


How to get started with asset and configuration management in Jira Service Management

To start, we highly recommend reviewing our Getting Started with Insight for Jira Service Management Cloud Guide. This guide is useful for teaching users how to access Insight, how Insight is structured, how to import your data into Insight, and best practices for object automation among other topics.

Access Insight in Jira Service Management

Insight’s asset and configuration management functionality can be accessed by selecting on the Insight tab in the top navigation bar.

Access insight using the top navigation bar in-product

Please note that Insight is only available for Premium and Enterprise Cloud plans. Atlassian offers free evaluations of our Premium plan for both new and existing customers. To upgrade your plan to Premium:

  1. Log into your Cloud site as the site admin.
  2. Select the menu picker icon located on the left of your screen (9 squares).
  3. Select Administration and then select Manage Subscriptions.
  4. Change your Jira Service Management plan to Premium.

This change takes effect immediately and will be reflected on your bill once the trial period has ended unless the product is disabled from within your account.

Create an object schema

A schema is a collection of object types and objects. This could contain your entire organization's assets and configuration items, or just a specific part – having multiple schemas can allow for different teams to manage the assets that are important to them. Learn more about best practices for structuring objects in Insight.

Get started by creating just one object schema and populate it with object types and objects. This will allow you to create object types and objects for Jira Service Management to find and show in the issue view and portal. e.g. Servers.

To create an object schema, you need to be logged in as a Jira admin.

  1. Select Insight in the top navigation bar.
  2. Select Object schemas.
  3. Select Create object schema in the top right corner.
  4. Enter information about your object schema, including:
    1. Name
    2. Key – this is a unique key to identify your object schema
    3. Description
  5. Select Create.

Create an object type

An object type represents a group of similar objects in an object schema. For example, a laptop can be an object type, and all the laptops within our organization are the objects within the laptop object type. Object types can contain several objects and their attributes. To create an object type:

  1. Select Insight in the top navigation bar.
  2. Select view all object schemas.
  3. Select the object schema where you want to create an object type.
  4. Select the Create object type icon in the left sidebar.
  5. In the popup window:
    1. Enter a name for the object type.
    2. Select an icon for the object type.
    3. Select a parent object type. If None is selected, the object type will be created at the root level in the object schema.
    4. Enter a description for the object type.
    5. Select Create. To create another object type immediately after, select the Create another checkbox then select Create.

Create an object

Next, we recommend creating a few objects in Insight. You can also use these to create references (linking objects together) to start building a graph to show relationships and dependencies.

To create a new object in your object schema:

  1. Select Insight in the top navigation bar.
  2. Select Object schemas.
  3. Select the object schema where you want to create an object type.
  4. Select Create object.
  5. In the popup window:
    1. Select an object type for the object.
    2. Enter a name for the object.
    3. Enter information for any other attributes that are displayed.
    4. Select Create.
    5. To create another object immediately after, select the Create another checkbox then select Create.

Set up your Insight objects custom field

Finally, setting up the Insight objects custom field will enable your team to see Insight objects directly from the issue view, providing context where it's needed most. Learn how to set up your custom Insight objects field.

Import objects into Jira Service Management

Currently, you can import data into Insight from CSV, JSON, and Insight Discovery, and there are plans to add data from external databases and the Jira environment itself.

There are four steps to importing your data into Insight:

  1. Prepare your data.
  2. Create an import configuration.
  3. Map your data into Insight. There are two options:
    1. Map your data automatically, using a Predefined structure and configuration, or;
    2. Map your data manually, by using any of the following methods:
      1. Object type mapping to create Insight object types
      2. Object type attribute mapping to create Insight attributes and references
      3. Child object type mapping to create hierarchical parent and child structures.
  4. Execute the import.

Automatically discover objects in your environment with Insight Discovery

Insight Discovery is an agentless scanner (although there is an agent available to get more detailed information) that picks up network assets. You can choose which assets and attributes you pull into your Insight object schemas as well as create your own scanning patterns to find more niche assets. If you run it on a schedule, it will pick up changes and keep data updated. With automation rules, you can even trigger Jira issues, email notifications, and more based on detected changes. To use it, you need to download it and run it on your local machine.


Asset and configuration management best practices and tips

Take a top-down approach to build your service model architecture

To realize more value from your CMDB, focus on pulling in data from only the key services you plan to manage. Take a lean approach by starting with one or two of your most critical business services. This narrow focus helps you learn as your CMDB grows, and quickly build a service map with relevant CIs and dependences. More importantly, you’ll avoid the pitfall of overloading the CMDB with unnecessary data.

Screenshot of a service map providing an at-a-glance view of service model architecture

The concept of data federation has also become a reality for many IT teams. Applications such as AWS Management Console or Microsoft Azure Portal empower teams to quickly access the IT infrastructure supporting their services. This “service-centric” approach to defining and building out your CMDB balances the information required with the value that the information creates. It also avoids the costly efforts of maintaining large amounts of detailed information about every component and its relationships.

Create a unified service view across your organization with Jira Service Management’s services feature

The services feature in Jira Service Management allows you to easily register the important business and technical services that power your business. It is built on the Atlassian Graph platform which connects queries, and consolidates data across Atlassian and third-party products; and in turn, helps to increase service visibility across your organization, unify the work of IT and development teams, and open up team collaboration around business-critical needs.

Jira Service Management's service registry feature

Help employees help you with easy asset selection

As the first line of interaction with your customer, your service desk should offer exceptional user experiences through self-service. With Insight, employees can easily select the right assets to associate with their requests. Agents will receive all the necessary context to resolve the request, such as purchase date and previous issues linked to that asset. The more context agents receive, the faster they can resolve customer issues.

Using Insight in Jira Service Management to provide agents with more context
Employee assets screen in Jira Service Management

Use automation to track assets and monitor inventory

Use automation rules and input from Jira issues to update Insight with the required information to track your assets. When an employee requests hardware, use automation rules to assign them as the owner of the chosen item. No more wasting time on hunting down who has what or updating spreadsheets!

Automation rules can also be used to notify you of upcoming licenses, warranty expirations, and low stock.


Getting Started

Knowledge Management

Tips and tricks

Automation