Close

适用于高速团队的 ITSM

什么是 IT 资产管理 (ITAM)?

IT 资产管理(也称为 ITAM)是确保在时机成熟时对组织的资产进行记账、部署、维护、升级和处置的流程。简而言之,ITAM 确保跟踪和使用组织中的有形和无形贵重物品。

那么,什么是 IT 资产呢?简单定义来说,IT 资产包括组织重视的硬件、软件系统或信息。在 Atlassian 的 IT 部门,我们最重要的资产是计算机和软件许可证,它们可以帮助我们构建、销售和支持我们的软件及其托管服务器。

IT 资产的使用期限有限。为了最大限度地提高组织可以从中获得的价值,可以主动管理 IT 资产生命周期。每个组织可以定义生命周期的独特阶段,但通常包括规划、采购、部署、维护和停用。IT 资产管理的一个重要部分是在生命周期的所有阶段应用流程,以了解总拥有成本并优化资产的使用。

过去,IT 部门能够控制自己域内的资产。现在,组织的资产管理实践远远超出了 IT 正式批准的硬件。基于订阅的软件以及员工期望通过市场和应用商店定制他们使用的工具,这给资产管理带来了新挑战。现代团队的工作方式要求 IT 团队保持灵活性,并调整其资产管理流程,以为业务提供最佳。

随着各个团队都在努力使用最适合其需求的工具,资产管理已成为组织整体战略中更为重要的部分,它可以提供最新信息以降低风险和成本。在优化预算、支持生命周期管理和制定影响整个组织的决策时,资产管理流程创建了单一数据源。

随着 IT 部门以外的团队开始采用服务管理,资产管理对各个部门也变得越来越重要。我们听说有组织使用资产管理软件来管理各种事物,从船队到鱼类、到保险、再到乐器等。

为什么 IT 资产管理很重要?

提供单一数据源

很多时候,资产在许多不同地方被大量不同的人追踪。没有一个人拥有任何东西,也没有一个单一的工具来收集和集中信息。当然,随之而来的就是混乱和不准确。很难做出明智的决定。甚至有些公司雇用员工只是为了跟踪 IT 资产。而这其实是系统应该做的事。IT 员工无需将时间和精力投入到跟踪工件、监控使用情况和了解依赖关系上,而是可以将更多精力放在对组织最重要的事情上。资产管理带来了秩序,为 IT 团队、管理层乃至整个组织提供了单一数据源。

提高利用率并消除浪费

资产管理使信息保持更新,因此团队可以消除浪费并提高利用率。它有助于避免不必要的购买并削减许可和支持成本,从而节省资金。加强控制还可以强制遵守安全和法律政策,并降低风险。对成本和生产力的积极影响使整个组织受益。

在不影响可靠性的前提下提高工作效率

随着数字化转型改变组织的运营方式,现代资产管理远远超出了跟踪笔记本电脑和鼠标的范围。团队正在采用 DevOps 和 SRE 原则,并且需要资产管理流程和工具,以便在不影响可靠性的前提下,快速高效地提供新功能和服务。在《为 2020 年准备好 IT 资产管理》报告中,Gartner 指出,鉴于对平台和基础架构服务的依赖日益增加,有效的资产管理可以使组织管理其“按需服务”的消费。通过增强控制、可见性和分配责任,团队可以减少过度消耗,包括过度调配和空闲实例,从而避免不必要的成本。

支持 ITSM 实践并支持跨组织的团队

IT 资产管理对于支持 ITIL 流程(包括变更事件问题管理)至关重要。IT 团队使整个组织能够更具创新性,更快地交付价值。借助触手可及的正确数据,团队可以快速行动,并在变更发生之前预测其影响。通过实现洞察的普及,组织获得了竞争优势,更快地交付价值。任何想要跟上现代创新步伐的组织都需要在控制、跟踪和掌握 IT 数据方面具有战略性。

如何选择 IT 资产管理软件

为什么需要资产管理软件

当您开始考虑不同的资产管理软件供应商时,首先要评估为什么需要改进资产管理方法。以下是一些常见迹象,表明您已准备好使用资产管理软件:

您想要节省资金

随着对软件、基础架构和平台服务的依赖不断增加,削减成本的关键之一就是优化这些服务的支出。根据 Gartner 的研究,使用最佳实践来优化软件许可证,“许多组织可以将软件支出削减多达 30%”。手动完成并不是一件容易的事。Gartner 写道:“手动优化复杂的许可证是劳动密集型的,它需要专业知识,而且无法扩展。大型企业将需要SAM(软件资产管理)工具。SAM 工具可以加速和改进手动流程并实现自动化。与手动替代方案相比,它可以带来红利,而且通常物有所值。”

您依赖电子表格

许多公司仍常常使用电子表格来全程跟踪自身产品。电子表格能长时间保持准确吗?不能。电子表格很快就会变得不准确或不方便处理。事实上,Sage Accounting 发现,一家拥有 200 万美元资产的公司如果使用电子表格来跟踪其资产,则每年的“幽灵资产”可能会高达 5 万美元,幽灵资产是指或公司支付以及总账中核算的项目,但实际上不存在的项目。这很令人惊讶。

很难跟上您公司的变革步伐

今天有五款新耳机到货。四名员工的笔记本电脑在塔斯卡卢萨的一家餐馆被盗。下个月,将有十台打印机更换为租赁公司的新型号,下下个月将有 14 台笔记本电脑更换为新型号。如果您需要一名员工(甚至是兼职)来跟踪所有事情,那您需要一个基本系统来简化工作。

“影子 IT”越来越令人担忧

应用、许可证和其他 IT 资产越来越多地在中央 IT 团队不知情的情况下购买、管理和使用。简化协作的软件可以使 IT 始终知晓最新信息,从而提高其他团队的工作效率,避免风险和不必要的成本。

一旦您知道时机成熟,仔细考虑实施新的资产管理方法对您的组织来说会有什么影响,将有助于进一步了解哪种软件最能满足你的需求。根据我们的经验,进行资产盘点是更好地了解资产在哪里以及您的成本的第一步。从资产盘点开始,就可以绘制资产生命周期,并与财务部门一起评估成本。

更高级的 IT 资产管理不仅限于此步骤,还可自动执行日常资产管理任务。例如,员工可以使用自助服务门户申请通用软件订阅的许可证。使用预先存在的规则,可以通过发送链接来批准该请求,以向请求者提供对订阅的访问权限。这减少了 IT 团队在支持任务上花费的精力,因此他们可以专注于更高级别的工作。

协作也是有效资产管理的重要组成部分。协作工具不必暗中购买,而是让员工可以轻松提出请求,让采购等其他团队可以对购买进行评论和批准。而且,如果您可以将资产管理工具与员工已经使用的服务连接起来,那就更好了。例如,链接到 Slack,这样员工只需在键盘上敲击几下即可发出请求。改善资产请求的接收流程大大提高了 IT 团队的可见性。

值得注意的是,服务台是实现这一目标的重要基础。它为员工提供了一种寻求帮助的简便方法,此外,它还使 IT 员工能够组织请求并提供报告。与资产管理软件关联的服务台为 IT 团队提供了重要的环境,以提供更好的服务。例如,当用户请求维修笔记本电脑时,某些基本信息会自动提供:包括购买日期、之前的发行等。IT 团队还可以访问与该笔记本电脑关联的任何工作单。这种快速而完整的背景意味着能够更快地解决客户事务。

随着 IT 不断发展,对关键服务的依赖越来越多地转向 SaaS 供应商,而且随着资产管理的不断调整,必须跟踪日益动态的云环境中的变化。选择能够最好地实现协作和支持服务管理实践的工具,这一点很重要。

每个组织都不一样。也许您需要在整个企业中映射复杂的依赖关系。您可能需要保留许可证和合规性文件等无形资产的记录,以降低风险。也许您的要求更简单,涉及跟踪计算机库存。

幸运的是,资产管理软件有各种形式,从灵活且经济实惠的集成到复杂的高价解决方案,这些解决方案可以自动发现网络上所有基于 IP 的硬件,处理办公室中堆积的杂事等等。无论您使用的是轻量级跟踪器还是企业级系统,最重要的考虑因素是找到最适合您独特用例的选项。

想了解 Jira Service Management 中的 IT 资产管理?

Close

What is IT asset management (ITAM)?

IT asset management (also known as ITAM) is the process of ensuring an organization’s assets are accounted for, deployed, maintained, upgraded, and disposed of when the time comes. Put simply, it’s making sure that the valuable items, tangible and intangible, in your organization are tracked and being used.  

So, what’s an IT asset? Defined simply, an IT asset includes hardware, software systems, or information an organization values. In Atlassian’s IT department, some of our most important assets are the computers and software licenses that help us build, sell, and support our software and the servers we host it on. 

IT assets have a finite period of use. To maximize the value an organization can generate from them, the IT asset lifecycle can be proactively managed. Each organization may define unique stages of that lifecycle, but they generally include planning, procurement, deployment, maintenance, and retirement.   An important part of IT asset management is applying process across all lifecycle stages to understand the total cost of ownership and optimize the use of assets.

In the past, IT departments were able to control assets within their own domain. Now, an organization’s asset management practice extends far beyond the hardware that’s issued with an official IT stamp of approval.  Subscription-based software and employees expectation to customize the tools they work with through marketplaces and app stores, present new asset management challenges. The way modern teams work requires that IT teams be flexible and adapt their asset management process to best enable the business. 

As various teams push to work with the tools that best fit their needs, asset management is an even more important part of an organization’s overall strategy and provides up-to-date information to reduce risks and costs. An asset management process creates a single source of truth when optimizing budgets, supporting lifecycle management, and making decisions that impact the entire organization. 

As teams outside of IT begin to embrace service management, asset management has also become important to a variety of departments. We’ve heard of organizations using asset management software to manage things ranging from fleets, to fish, to insurance, to musical instruments. 

Why is IT Asset Management important?

Providing a single source of truth

Too often, assets get tracked in a ton of different places, by a ton of different people.  No single person owns things, and no single tool collects and centralizes the information. Naturally, chaos and inaccuracy follow. It’s difficult to make informed decisions.  There are even companies where people are being employed just to keep track of IT assets. Systems should do this work. Without having to relegate time and brain matter to tracking artifacts, monitoring usage, and understanding dependencies, IT employees can focus more on what matters most to the organization.  Asset management brings order, and offers a single source of truth for IT teams, management, and ultimately, entire organizations.

Improving utilization and eliminating waste

Asset management keeps information updated, so teams eliminate waste and improve utilization. It saves money by helping avoid unnecessary purchases and cutting licensing and support costs. Increased control also enforces compliance with security and legal policies and reduces risks. The positive implications on costs and productivity benefit the entire organization.

Enabling productivity without compromising reliability

With digital transformation changing the way organizations operate, modern asset management goes far beyond tracking laptops and mice. Teams are embracing DevOps and SRE principles, and need asset management processes and tools in order to efficiently deliver new functionality and services quickly without compromising on reliability. In the report Prepare Your IT Asset Management for 2020, Gartner notes that given the increased reliance on platform and infrastructure services, effective asset management can enable organizations to manage their consumption of “on-demand services.” With increased control, visibility, and assigned responsibility, teams can reduce excess consumption including overprovisioning, and idle instances, avoiding unnecessary costs. 

Supporting ITSM practices and enabling teams across organizations

IT asset management is critical to supporting ITIL processes, including change, incident, and problem management. The IT team enables the entire organization to get more innovative and deliver value more quickly. With the right data at their fingertips, teams can move with speed and predict the impact of changes before they happen. By democratizing access to insights, the organization gains a competitive edge, delivering value more quickly.  Any organization trying to keep up with the pace of modern innovation needs to get strategic about controlling, tracking, and mastering IT data.

How to choose IT asset management software

Why you need asset management software

As you begin to consider different asset management software vendors, start with assessing why you need to improve your approach to asset management. Here are some of the common signs that show you’re ready for asset management software:

You want to save money

As reliance on software, infrastructure, and platform services continues to increase, one of the keys to cutting costs is optimizing spending on these services. According to Gartner research, “many organizations can cut spending on software by as much as 30 percent” using best practices to optimize software licenses.  This isn’t an easy task to complete manually. Gartner writes “Optimizing complex licenses manually is labor-intensive; it requires specialized knowledge and does not scale. Larger enterprises will need a SAM (Software Asset Management) tool. A SAM tool can automate, accelerate and improve manual processes. It can pay dividends over manual alternatives, and can often pay for itself.”

You’re relying on spreadsheets

Spreadsheets are still one of the most the most common ways that companies start tracking what they own. Think they stay accurate very long? No way. They quickly become inaccurate or unwieldy. In fact, Sage Accounting found that a $2 million company using spreadsheets to track their assets could be spending as much as $50,000 a year on “ghost assets,” or items that they are paying and accounting for in their general ledger but that are physically missing. Yikes.

It’s difficult to keep up with the pace of change in your company

Five new headsets arrived today. Four employees had their laptops stolen at a restaurant in Tuscaloosa. Next month, ten printers are getting switched out with new models from the leasing company, and the month after that, 14 laptops. If you need an employee - even part time - to keep track of everything, you need a basic system to make the job easier.

“Shadow IT” is a growing concern

More and more often, applications, licenses, and other IT assets are being purchased, managed, and used in “the shadows,” without the knowledge of  the central IT team. Software that makes collaboration easier can keep IT in the loop, enabling other teams to be more productive, and avoiding risk and unnecessary costs. 

Once you know the time is right, thinking through what implementing a new approach to asset management will look like for your organization will help further clarify which software will best support your needs. In our experience, taking an asset inventory is the first step to get a better understanding of what is where and your costs. From there, it’s possible to map asset lifecycles and evaluate costs alongside your finance department.  

More advanced IT asset management goes beyond this step and automates routine asset management tasks. For instance, an employee can use a self-service portal to request a license to a common software subscription. Using pre-existing rules, that request can be approved with a link sent to provide access to the subscription to the requester. This reduces the amount of effort IT teams expend on support tasks, so they can focus on higher level work. 

Collaboration is also an important part of effective asset management. Instead of purchases happening in the shadows, a collaborative tool makes it easy for employees to make requests, and for other teams like procurement to comment on and approve purchases. And, if you can connect your asset management tool to services employees already use, even better. For instance, link to Slack, so an employee can make a request in a few taps on their keyboard. Improving the intake process for asset requests goes far in improving the IT team’s visibility. 

It’s worth noting that a service desk is an important foundation for this. It offers an easy way for employees to ask for help, plus it gives IT staff the ability to organize and provide reporting on requests. A service desk linked to asset management software, gives IT teams important context to deliver better service. For example, when a user requests a laptop repair, certain basic information is automatically available: including purchase date, previous issues, etc. The IT team can also access any tickets linked to that laptop. This quick and complete context means faster resolution of customer issues.

As IT continues to evolve, reliance shifts increasingly to SaaS vendors for critical services, and it’s necessary to track changes in increasingly dynamic cloud environments, asset management is adapting. It’s important that you choose the tools that can best enable collaboration and support your service management practice. 

Every organization is different. Maybe you need to map complicated dependencies across an enterprise. You might want to keep record of intangible assets like licenses and compliance documents to reduce risk. Perhaps your requirements are simpler and involve tracking an inventory of computers. 

Fortunately, asset management software comes in all flavors, from nimble and affordable integrations, to complex, high-dollar solutions that can automatically discover all IP-based hardware on the network, wash the dishes piled up in your office's kitchen sink, and more. Whether you go with a lightweight tracker or an enterprise level system, the most important consideration is finding the option that will work best for your unique use case.