Close

Atlassian 呈现:高速 ITSM 中深入了解 Jira Service Management 以及其他强大的工具。

免费注册

准备好开启 ITSM 高速之旅了吗?

DevOps 与 ITIL — 哪个对您的团队至关重要?

在 IT 行业,人们对 DevOps 和 ITIL 有很多看法,而这些观点往往会使这两种 IT 方法相互对立。在许多人看来,你要么是 ITIL 机构,要么是 DevOps 机构。非黑即白,二选其一,只能选择一种。

但是,尽管这些辩论给科技新闻圈带来了有趣的谈资,但这种全有或全无的方法可能代价高昂、令人困惑,对从业者及其企业毫无益处。因为事实上,这并不是全有或全无的情况。无需在这两者中做出选择。

DevOpsITIL 并不会相互排斥。它们可以是互补的方法,各有其优势。敏捷性和协作、流程和控制。混合方法可以从两者的优势中受益。

什么是 DevOps?

DevOps 是缩小开发和运营之间差距的实践。其核心原则是开放的沟通、协作和共同的目标。

正如我们的专家所解释的那样:

“与 ITIL 这样的框架不同,没有针对 DevOps 团队的‘方’最佳实践文档。但我们普遍认为,DevOps 的核心是打破组织孤岛、提高透明度以及促进开发人员和 IT 运营团队之间的开放式沟通,从而为组织提供商业价值。”

什么是 ITIL?

ITIL(信息技术基础架构库)是一套用于 IT 服务管理的准则。该准则涵盖了各方面的最佳实践和成熟流程,从事件管理问题管理再到变更管理

关于 DevOps 与 ITIL 的误解

1. DevOps 可以取代 ITIL

“我们不再做 ITIL 了 — 我们现在主营 DevOps!”如果您在科技领域工作了很长时间,可能听过有人做出过这样的声明。

问题在于事实并非如此。因为尽管 IT 部门可能会摆脱 ITIL 培训和流程孤岛,但他们仍然需要做一些服务管理方面的工作。运营、支持、治理、成本核算。这些都是必不可少的业务职能,而且 DevOps 无法像 ITIL 那样为我们提供流程准则,因此,即使是那些现在只主营 DevOps 的公司也可能仍在遵循一些 ITIL 流程或原则。

2. DevOps = 持续开发、集成和自动交付

尽管 DevOps 确实包括持续开发、集成和自动化交付,但这并不是它所能提供的全部,也不一定是实践的核心。DevOps 背后的大部分背景和精神只是为了摆脱旧的分歧,秉持相互尊重和不责备的文化共同努力。

就是这样。协作、共同的目标、相互尊重、不再指责。

即使您的团队尚未完全采用自动化交付或持续开发,这种协作方法也可以改善各种业务指标。

3. ITIL/ITSM 始终需要大量文档,繁琐的流程会拖慢团队的速度

多情况表明,ITIL 被滥用为“规则”,而不是指导,并且可以随意解释。

事实是,ITIL 取决于您的团队的选择。如果感觉僵硬,那就是在此过程中的某个位置做出的选择。而且这是一个可以改变的选择。

最好将 ITIL 视为了解大多数企业必须管理的复杂 IT 流程的起点。可以将它看成是一张路线图,一本指南。这并不是说它就是唯一的方法,而是要为我们提供必要的环境,使我们能够尽可能有效高效地做出决策和运行我们的 IT 团队。

如果 ITIL 被视为规则手册,通常会出现成堆的文档和官僚主义。但是,如果使用 ITIL 作为准则,它可以简化操作,而不是使操作陷入困境。

4. ITIL/ITSM 仅适用于大型公司

的确,大型企业在 ITIL 方面处于领先地位。但这并不意味着小型企业不会或无法从准则中受益。各种规模的企业都需要知道如何处理变更管理、重大事件知识管理,以及 ITIL 为之奠定基础的其他基本业务任务。

优秀的初创企业必须在某个时候组织他们的 IT 团队。否则将无法扩大规模。中型企业也是如此。即使是两人自筹资金的应用项目也需要随时待命计划和事件管理策略。否则,一次中断可能会导致永久消失。

DevOps 和 ITIL 的用例

DevOps 和 ITIL 的用例繁多,但这里有一些例子说明了它们可以解决的不同事务,以及在某些情况下这两种方法如何共同实现最佳解决方案。

利用 DevOps 加快新版本的发布

DevOps 的敏捷方法提供了速度和风险管理方面的优势,因为小型的常规版本可以更快地完成开发,并且在发生事件时更容易回滚或修复。

借助 ITSM 减少 IT 服务台呼叫

ITSM 知识管理最佳实践意味着 IT 团队在解决问题的同时创建文档。通过为内部和外部客户提供自助服务选项,这可能会大大减少服务台的工作量。

利用 ITIL 和 DevOps 防止事件

将 ITIL 中成熟的事件管理流程与 DevOps 专注于自动化审核流程、进行不指责的事后分析以及采取“谁构建,谁运行”的方法相结合,您就能够减少事件数量并缩短事件时间。

通过 DevOps 深入了解事件

DevOps 带来的最有价值的东西之一就是不指责文化。这并不意味着工程师不为错误承担责任。但这确实意味着他们可以坦诚地谈论这些错误,就问题进行更透明的对话,并且这样做也不必担心被解雇。

这种文化转变有助于团队更快地深入了解事件,专注于真正的修复,而不仅仅是将个人作为导致事件的一系列中的活动问题。

减少客户对 ITIL 的困惑

SLA(服务级别协议)是 ITIL 的最佳实践。因为它们概述了您在产品中或对客户的承诺和未承诺的内容,可以帮助减少混乱和投诉。

利用 DevOps 和 ITIL 优化您的流程

ITIL 是 IT 流程的宝典。它已经存在了很长时间,并且已经发展以适应行业不断变化的需求。

就算您有自己的流程,也无需浪费力气去做重复的工作。ITIL 可以说是一个久经考验的起点。。

而且,在 DevOps 可以增加改进的地方,包括不指责的事后分析、自动化、更具协作性的方法等,ITIL 的流程可以进行调整以变得更好。

DevOps 和 ITIL 的用例

表现最好的团队已经知道,IT 需要同时具备 ITIL 和 DevOps 的要素。

DevOps 不仅仅是自动化开发。这是协作和不指责的文化。这种实践为团队创造了空间,让他们能够全力合作,而不是各自努力实现相互竞争的目标。

同样,ITIL 不仅仅是文档。它无需减慢团队的速度或造成不必要的官僚主义麻烦。核心实践健全且经过验证,如果以敏捷开发的方式进行处理,它们可以简化而不是阻塞 IT 流程。

后续内容
ITSM

Close

DevOps vs. ITIL -- Which matters for your team?

In the IT industry, there are a lot of opinions about DevOps and ITIL—and those opinions tend to pit the two IT approaches against each other. In many minds, you’re either an ITIL house or a DevOps house. It’s black or white. One of the other. You have to pick a side. 

But while these debates make for interesting reading in the tech news cycle, this all-or-nothing approach can be costly, confusing, and unhelpful for practitioners and their businesses. Because the truth is there is no all-or-nothing. No side to pick. 

DevOps and ITIL are not mutually exclusive. They can be complementary approaches—each bringing its own benefits to the table. Agility and collaboration. Process and control. A mixed approach can benefit from the strengths of both.

What is DevOps?

DevOps is the practice of bridging the gap between development and operations. Its core principles are open communication, collaboration, and shared goals. 

As our experts explain:

“Unlike frameworks like ITIL, there is no ‘official’ document of best practices for a DevOps team. But we can generally agree that, at its core, DevOps is about delivering business value to an organization by breaking down organizational silos, increasing transparency, and fostering open communication between developers and IT operations teams.”

What is ITIL?

ITIL (Information Technology Infrastructure Library) is a set of guidelines for IT service management. The guidelines cover best practices and tried-and-true processes for everything from incident management to problem management to change management.

Misconceptions about DevOps vs. ITIL

1. DevOps can replace ITIL

“We don’t do ITIL anymore—we’re a DevOps shop now!” If you’ve been in tech for any length of time, you’ve probably heard someone make this proclamation.

The problem is that it simply isn’t true. Because while IT departments may move away from ITIL training and process silos, they still need to do some aspects of service management. Operations. Support. Governance. Costing. These are essential business functions and DevOps doesn’t give us process guidelines the way that ITIL does, so chances are even shops that crow from the rooftops that they’re DevOps-only now are still following some ITIL processes or principles.

2. DevOps = continuous development, integration, and automated delivery

While DevOps does include continuous development, integration, and automated delivery, that’s not all it has to offer and it’s not necessarily the core of the practice. Most of the context and ethos behind DevOps is simply about moving away from old divisions and working together with mutual respect and no blame culture. 

That’s it. Collaboration. Shared goals. Mutual respect. No more blame games.

That collaborative approach can improve all manner of business metrics even if your team hasn’t fully embraced automated delivery or continuous development yet.

3. ITIL/ITSM is always documentation-heavy with onerous processes that slow teams down

There are way too many instances of ITIL being misappropriated as “the rules,” rather than guidance, open for interpretation. 

The truth is that ITIL is what your team makes it. If it feels rigid, that was a choice made somewhere along the way. And it’s a choice that can change.

ITIL is best seen as a starting point for understanding complex IT processes that most businesses have to manage. It’s a road map, a guidebook. Not meant to be the only way, but meant to give us the context we need to make decisions and run our IT teams as effectively and efficiently as possible.

When ITIL is seen as a rulebook, what usually follows is piles of documentation and bureaucracy. But when ITIL is used as a guideline, it can streamline operations instead of bogging them down. 

4. ITIL/ITSM is only for large companies

It’s true that large enterprises have led the charge on ITIL. But that doesn’t mean small businesses don’t or can’t benefit from the guidelines. Businesses of all sizes need to know how to handle change management, major incidents, and knowledge management, among other foundational business tasks that ITIL lays a foundation for. 

Cool start-ups have to organize their IT teams at some point. Otherwise, they fail to scale. Same for mid-sized businesses. Even a two-person self-funded app project needs an on-call plan and incident management strategy. Otherwise a single outage could take it out for good.

Use cases for DevOps and ITIL

The use cases for DevOps and ITIL are pretty endless, but here are a few examples of the different issues they can tackle and how in some cases you need both approaches to reach the best solution.

Speed up new releases with DevOps

DevOps’ agile approach offers both speed and risk management benefits, as small, regular releases are both quicker to move through development and easier to roll back or fix in case of an incident.

Reduce IT service desk calls with ITSM

The ITSM best practice of knowledge management means the IT team is creating documentation while they’re solving problems. This has the potential to greatly reduce the workload on the service desk by providing self-service options for customers both internal and external.

Prevent incidents with ITIL and DevOps

Combine the tried-and-true processes of incident management found in ITIL with the DevOps focus on automating review processes, conducting blameless postmortems, and taking a “you built it, you run it” approach and you’ve got a recipe for fewer and shorter incidents.

Get to the bottom of incidents with DevOps

One of the most valuable things DevOps brings to the table is a culture of blamelessness. This doesn’t mean engineers don’t take responsibility for mistakes. But it does mean they can speak honestly about those mistakes, have more transparent conversations about what went wrong, and do so without fear of getting fired. 

This cultural shift helps teams get to the bottom of incidents faster and focus on real fixes instead of just targeting an individual as the problem in a chain of events leading to an incident.

Reduce customer confusion with ITIL

SLAs (Service Level Agreements) are an ITIL best practice. Because they outline what you have—and haven’t—promised in a product or to a customer, they can help reduce confusion and cut back on complaints.

Optimize your processes with DevOps and ITIL

ITIL is the IT process Bible. It’s been around a long time and has evolved to fit the ever-changing needs of the industry. 

When coming up with your own processes, there’s no need to reinvent the wheel. ITIL provides a tried-and-true starting point. 

And where DevOps can add improvements—with blameless postmortems, automation, more collaborative approaches, etc.—ITIL’s processes can be tweaked to make them even better.

Use cases for DevOps and ITIL

As top performing teams already know, IT needs elements of both ITIL and DevOps. 

DevOps is so much more than automated development. It’s collaboration and blame-free culture. It’s a practice that makes space for teams to do their best work together instead of working in silos on competing goals.

Likewise, ITIL is so much more than documentation. It doesn’t have to slow teams down or create unnecessary bureaucracy headaches. The core practices are sound and proven—and when approached in an agile way, they can streamline instead of clogging up the IT pipeline.

Up Next
ITSM