Close

DevOps 的历史

开发和运营团队如何携手应对行业挑战。

Ian Buchanan 头像
Ian Buchanan

首席解决方案工程师


尽管敏捷开发方法已兴起,但多年来,开发团队和运营团队仍然处于孤立状态。DevOps 是协作工具和实践的进一步发展,以更快速地发布更优质的软件。

打破开发与 IT 团队之间的屏障


DevOps 运动在 2007 到 2008 年间开始盛行,在当时,IT 运营和软件开发社区直言不讳地表述了他们所认为业界的致命性障碍。

它们与传统的软件开发模式相左,后者要求代码编写人员在组织和功能上与代码部署和支持人员分开。

开发人员和 IT/运营专业人士具有单独的(且通常具有竞争性的)目标、单独的部门领导、单独的对其进行评估的关键绩效指标,而且通常在单独的楼层,甚至是单独的建筑物内工作。其结果是:只关注所在领域的孤立的团队、较长的工作时间、混乱的发布以及不愉快的客户。“当然有更好的方法”,他们表示。因此,两个社区聚在一起,并通过能促进对话的人员(类似 Patrick Dubois、Gene Kim 和 John Willis 这样开始进行交谈。

在网络论坛和本地创客聚会上兴起的事物现已成为软件时代精神中的重大主题,这可能也是您来到此处的原因!您和您的团队正承受着企业内孤立团队和受损沟通线所带来的痛苦。

团队组织徽标
相关资料

构建 DevOps 文化

奖杯徽标
相关资料

了解 DevOps 优势

您虽然在使用敏捷开发方法进行规划和开发,但在发布代码时仍会竭力避开一系列戏剧性事件。您可能已经听说过 DevOps 及其对团队的看似神奇的影响:Atlassian 对 500 名 DevOps 从业人员的一项调查表明,几乎所有 (99%) 的 DevOps 团队都坚信其投入生产的代码会取得成功¹。

然而,DevOps 不是魔法,无法在一夜之间完成变革。好消息是,您不必等待上级管理层推出大型计划。通过了解 DevOps 的价值并持续做出细微的改变,您的团队即可马上开启 DevOps 之旅。

超越敏捷开发


DevOps 涉及开发和运营生命周期的每个阶段。从规划和构建到监控和迭代,DevOps 汇集了工程和 IT 组织各个方面的技能、流程和工具。

敏捷开发方法将工作分解为可管理的任务和里程碑,从而帮助团队进行规划和生产。敏捷开发依靠冲刺、待办事项、长篇故事和故事将工作分配给技能熟练的团队成员,在必要时调整时间线,并向客户提供优质的产品和服务。阅读有关敏捷开发的更多信息

持续集成和交付:持续集成和交付是 DevOps 实践的基石,它依赖于代码的自动合并和部署。传统的开发方法要求工程师手动更新代码库中的变更,并进行额外的手动检查,以确保高质量的代码已准备好投入生产。部署计划延迟数周或数月,以消除出现缺陷或事件的可能性。DevOps 实践通过自动执行合并、测试和部署功能来消除这些延迟。高绩效团队使用 CI/CD 将部署频率从数月一次增加到一天数次。阅读有关 CI/CD 的更多信息

Git 存储库和工作流支持自动化和版本控制功能,这些都是 DevOps 实践的基础。由于 Git 是分布式的,因此会加快诸如提交、归咎、差异、合并和记录等操作的速度。Git 还为创建存储库历史记录分支以及合并和重写存储库历史记录提供卓越的支持,这有助于实现很多功能强大的工作流和工具。了解有关 Git 的更多信息

IT 服务管理是 IT 团队用来管理面向客户的端到端 IT 服务交付的流程。其中包括设计、创建、交付和支持 IT 服务的所有流程和活动。ITSM 的核心理念就是相信 IT 应该作为服务交付,这超出了基本的 IT 支持范围。ITSM 团队监督各种工作场所技术,从笔记本电脑到服务器,再到业务关键型软件应用。阅读有关 ITSM 的更多信息

事件管理团队负责对计划外事件或服务中断做出响应,并将服务恢复到运行状态。在“谁构建,谁运行”模型中,开发人员与运营团队合作,以降低事件发生的可能性,同时在事件发生时缩短平均恢复时间。阅读有关事件管理的更多信息

DevOps 的状态


组织和团队继续采用 DevOps 实践和工具。Atlassian 在对 500 名 DevOps 从业人员的调查中发现,50% 的组织表示他们已经使用 DevOps 超过 3 年。

遗憾的是,尽管就 DevOps 的定义和实施 DevOps 实践的好处达成了一致,组织和团队仍在努力实现 DevOps 的承诺。团队必须专注于持续反馈、迭代和改进,以便更好、更快地进行部署,满足客户的需求。

Ian Buchanan
Ian Buchanan

Ian Buchanan 是 Atlassian 的 DevOps 首席解决方案工程师,他专注于新兴的 DevOps 社区以及 Jira、Bitbucket 和 Bamboo 的应用,以实现更好的持续集成和持续交付。虽然 Ian Buchanan 在 Java 和 .NET 领域拥有丰富而深厚的经验,但他最广为人知的身份则是在大型企业内采取精益和敏捷实践的拥护者。

在他的职业生涯中,他自始至终成功管理了处在各个生命周期阶段的所有企业软件开发工具。他曾推动组织范围的流程改善,提高工作效率、产品质量和客户满意度。他建立了多个重视自我导向和自我管理的跨国敏捷团队。不说话或编码的时候,Ian 总是沉迷于解析器、元编程和特定于领域的各种语言。


分享这篇文章
下一个主题

推荐阅读

将这些资源加入书签,以了解 DevOps 团队的类型,或获取 Atlassian 关于 DevOps 的持续更新。

Devops 示意图

DevOps 社区

Devops 示意图

DevOps 学习路径

地图插图

免费试用

注册以获取我们的 DevOps 新闻资讯

Thank you for signing up

History of DevOps

How development and operations teams came together to solve dysfunction in the industry.

Ian Buchanan

Principal Solutions Engineer


Despite the rise of agile methodology, development and operations teams remained siloed for years. DevOps is the next evolution of collaboration tools and practices to release better software, faster.

Bringing development and IT teams together

The DevOps movement started to coalesce some time between 2007 and 2008, when IT operations and software development communities raised concerns what they felt was a fatal level of dysfunction in the industry.

They railed against the traditional software development model, which called for those who write code to be organizationally and functionally apart from those who deploy and support that code.

Developers and IT/Ops professionals had separate (and often competing) objectives, separate department leadership, separate key performance indicators by which they were judged, and often worked on separate floors or even separate buildings. The result was siloed teams concerned only with their own fiefdoms, long hours, botched releases, and unhappy customers. Surely there’s a better way, they said. So, the two communities came together and started talking – with people like Patrick Dubois, Gene Kim, and John Willis driving the conversation.

What began in online forums and local meet-ups is now a major theme in the software zeitgeist, which is probably what brought you here! You and your team are feeling the pain caused by siloed teams and broken lines of communication within your company.

related material

Build a DevOps culture

related material

Learn about the benefits of DevOps

You’re using agile methodologies for planning and development, but still struggling to get that code out the door without a bunch of drama. You’ve probably heard a few things about DevOps and the seemingly magical effect it can have on teams: Nearly all (99%) of DevOps teams are confident about the success of their code that goes into production, in a survey of 500 DevOps practitioners conducted by Atlassian¹. 

However, DevOps isn’t magic, and transformations don’t happen overnight. The good news is that you don’t have to wait for upper management to roll out a large-scale initiative. By understanding the value of DevOps and making small, incremental changes, your team can embark on the DevOps journey right away.


Going beyond agile

DevOps touches every phase of the development and operations lifecycle. From planning and building to monitoring and iterating, DevOps brings together the skills, processes, and tools from every facet of an engineering and IT organization.

Agile methodologies help teams plan and produce by breaking work down into manageable tasks and milestones. Agile relies on sprints, backlogs, epics, and stories to assign work to skilled team members, adjust timelines when necessary, and deliver quality products and services to customers. Read more about agile.

Continuous integration and delivery: Continuous integration and delivery is a cornerstone of DevOps practices that relies on automating the merging and deployment of code. Traditional development methods require engineers to manually update changes in the codebase, with additional manual checks to ensure quality code is ready to ship into production. Deployments are scheduled with weeks- or months-long delays to remove the likelihood of bugs or incidents. DevOps practices remove these delays by automating the merging, testing, and deployment functions. High-performing teams use CI/CD to reduce their deployment frequency from every few months to multiple times each day. Read more about CI/CD.

Git repositories and workflows enable the automation and version control capabilities that are foundational to DevOps practices. Because Git is distributed, operations such as commit, blame, diff, merge, and log happen faster. Git also supports branching, merging, and rewriting repository history, which enables powerful workflows and tools. Read more about Git.

IT service management is the process IT teams use to manage the end-to-end delivery of IT services to customers. This includes all the processes and activities to design, create, deliver, and support IT services. The core concept of ITSM is the belief that IT should be delivered as a service, which goes beyond basic IT support. ITSM teams oversee all kinds of workplace technology, ranging from laptops, to servers, to business-critical software applications. Read more about ITSM.

Incident management teams respond to an unplanned event or service interruption and restore the service to its operational state. In a “you build it, you run it” model, developers partner with operations to reduce the likelihood of an incident occurring, and also reduce the mean time to recovery when an incident happens. Read more about incident management.


State of DevOps

Organizations and teams continue to adopt DevOps practices and tools. In a survey of 500 DevOps practitioners, Atlassian found that 50% of organizations say they’ve been practicing DevOps for more than three years.

Unfortunately, despite agreement on the definition of DevOps and the benefits of implementing DevOps practices, organizations and teams still struggle to fulfill the promise of DevOps. Teams must focus on continuous feedback, iteration, and improvement to deploy better and faster to meet customers' needs.

Ian Buchanan
Ian Buchanan

Ian Buchanan is a Principal Solutions Engineer for DevOps at Atlassian where he focuses on the emerging DevOps community and the application of Jira, Bitbucket, and Bamboo for better continuous integration and continuous delivery. While Ian Buchanan has broad and deep experience with both Java and .NET, he is best known as a champion of lean and agile practices in large enterprises.

During his career, he has successfully managed enterprise software development tools in all phases of their lifecycle, from cradle to grave. He has driven organization-wide process improvement with results of greater productivity, higher quality, and improved customer satisfaction. He has built multi-national agile teams that value self-direction and self-organization. When not speaking or coding, you are likely to find Ian indulging his passions in parsers, meta-programming, and domain-specific languages.


Share this article

Recommended reading

Bookmark these resources to learn about types of DevOps teams, or for ongoing updates about DevOps at Atlassian.

Devops illustration

DevOps community

Devops illustration

Simulation workshop

Map illustration

Get started for free

Sign up for our DevOps newsletter

Thank you for signing up