Close

DevOps 与敏捷开发

敏捷开发和 DevOps 之间有什么不同之处和相似之处?

Tom Hall 的头像
Tom Hall

DevOps 推广人员和从业人员


当敏捷开发方法在 21 世纪初获得广泛采用时,它就改变了我们开发软件和其他产品的方式。然而,在成为行业标准的几年内,就出现了一个关键的疏忽:变革遗漏了部署和管理软件产品的运营团队的相关流程和要求。

DevOps 于是孕育而出,这是一种协调开发团队和运营团队的方法。那么,DevOps 是否取代了敏捷开发?又或者说,它们互为补充,相辅相成?事实证明,两者之间既有不同之处,也有相似之处。敏捷开发和 DevOps 既具有排他性,也具有包容性,两者都存在于组织内部。

什么是敏捷?


敏捷开发是一种项目管理和软件开发的迭代方法,侧重于协作、客户反馈和快速发布。它起源于 21 世纪初期的软件开发行业,可帮助开发团队做出反应,并适应不断变化的市场条件和客户需求。

在敏捷开发方法中,某些规划和设计是提前完成的,但开发会分小批量进行,且需要与利益相关者密切合作。与通过瀑布方法所开发的产品相比,敏捷开发需要不断整合变更,且产品的可用版本发布通常更快。这提供了诸多好处,而其中可以说最为重要的就是:如果软件无法满足客户的需求或期望,还可以实时补救。

敏捷开发是一个方法集合,而不是单一的开发方法。它是 Scrum、极限编程 (XP) 和开发人员多年前使用的其他实践系统的集合,是从业人员携手合作将这些方法统一为一套原则的成果。这种统一化的结果就是“敏捷宣言”,该宣言由 12 项原则组成,以 4 个核心价值观为基础。

集中的节点图标
相关资料

了解 CALMS 框架

“大脑结构”图标
相关资料

了解 DevOps 的历史

敏捷宣言的四个核心价值观

Meeples 正在看一个软件开发工作流

个人和交互
优先于流程和工具

打开包含已完成工作单的文件夹

工作软件
优先于全面的文档

在平台上工作的米宝

客户协作
优先于合同谈判

水晶球

响应变化
优先于遵循计划

开始了解 DevOps


DevOps 是一种软件开发方法,通过整合敏捷开发原则和实践(例如:提高自动化程度以及改进开发团队和运营团队之间的协作),使团队能够更快速、更可靠地构建、测试和发布软件。开发、测试和部署在敏捷开发和 DevOps 中同时进行。然而,传统的敏捷开发会停止运作,这是 DevOps 不可或缺的组成部分。

DevOps 的目标是帮助让编写应用软件的开发人员与在生产环节运行软件的运营人员携手合作。同时,在其运行之处构建和维护基础设施。DevOps 取代了之前开发团队编写应用的旧方法,然后将应用扔给对软件开发方式了解最少的运营团队,由对方进行软件部署和管理。在 DevOps 环境中,开发人员和运营团队在开发、部署和管理应用的整个过程会并肩工作。

了解 DevOps 的两个常见框架是“三种方法”和“CALMS”,即文化 (Culture)、自动化 (Automation)、精益 (Lean)、衡量 (Measurement) 和分享 (Sharing) 的首字母缩写。文化是指文化转型,在此过程中,开发和运营人员会更加团结一致地工作。自动化可提高速度并确保更高的质量。持续改进和接受失败的精益原则是实验性思维的基础。衡量是指衡量结果以改进流程的实践。分享强调了 DevOps 在作为团队共同努力成果和采用最佳实践方面的重要性。

DevOps 的三种方法

连接拼图

系统思维
了解软件应用是复杂的系统

带播放器的浏览器指针

扩大反馈回路
改善团队成员之间的双向沟通

Meeples 正在看一个软件开发工作流

文化变革
持续实验和学习的文化

敏捷开发和 DevOps 何时会协同工作?


DevOps 可视为敏捷开发实践的演变,或者敏捷开发的缺失部分。这是为了采用敏捷开发方法创新并将其应用于运营流程之中。同时,这是敏捷开发缺失的一部分,因为某些敏捷开发原则只有在采用了 DevOps 实践时才能以最完整的形式实现。例如,敏捷开发文档中有多次提到了软件的持续交付,但由于交付管道包含运营问题,因而持续交付通常被视为一种 DevOps 实践。扩大反馈回路需要改善团队之间的沟通。敏捷开发,尤其是 Scrum,可通过各种形式(如每日站会、规划会议和回顾)来协助促进此类交流。

敏捷开发和 DevOps 之间有哪些相似之处/不同之处?


  • 敏捷开发强调开发人员与产品管理层之间的协作,而 DevOps 包括运营团队
  • 敏捷开发以软件开发流程(从构思到代码完成)为中心,而 DevOps 将重点扩展到交付和维护层面
  • 敏捷开发强调迭代开发和小批量,而 DevOps 则更注重测试和交付自动化
  • 敏捷开发为开发人员的计划工作增添了结构,而 DevOps 整合了对运营团队来说很常见的计划外工作

敏捷宣言明确优先考虑个人和交互、工作软件、客户协作和变更响应。显然,这些也是 DevOps 的优先事项,但不仅限于开发过程,还涉及到系统管理和运行中的应用管理。

此外,敏捷软件的十二项原则还包括对 DevOps 原则的引用。例如,敏捷软件的十二项原则都提到了持续集成和交付、小批量处理和频繁发布以及使用自动化的重要性。

针对敏捷开发和 DevOps 的概述


归根结底,敏捷开发和 DevOps 的目标相同,即提高软件开发的速度和质量,将两者分开讨论没什么意义。很多团队发现敏捷开发方法对他们有非常大的帮助,而其他团队则在努力实现敏捷开发方法所带来的好处。其中的原因可能有许多,包括团队没有完全理解或正确实施敏捷开发实践。也可能是,对于那些在努力实现敏捷开发的组织来说,采用 DevOps 方法将有助于弥合差距,并帮助他们取得预期的成功。

Atlassian 为开发、IT 运营和敏捷团队赋予自动化功能,跨越 Atlassian 产品和第三方工具。要了解更多信息,请访问 Atlassian DevOps

Tom Hall
Tom Hall

Tom Hall 是 DevOps 流程的倡导者和实践者,他热爱阅读,还是一名业余钢琴家。
过去 20 年,他获得了 Novell、EMC、VMware 和 AWS 的认证。2016 年,他在亚特兰大协助主办了 DevOpsDays,之后数年又在德克萨斯州奥斯汀协助主办了 DevOPSDays。


分享这篇文章
下一个主题

推荐阅读

将这些资源加入书签,以了解 DevOps 团队的类型,或获取 Atlassian 关于 DevOps 的持续更新。

Devops 示意图

DevOps 社区

Devops 示意图

DevOps 学习路径

地图插图

免费试用

注册以获取我们的 DevOps 新闻资讯

Thank you for signing up

Close

Agile vs. DevOps

What are the differences and similarities between agile and DevOps?

Headshot of Tom Hall
Tom Hall

DevOps Advocate & Practitioner


When the agile methodology gained widespread adoption in the early 2000s, it transformed the way we develop software and other products. Yet, within a few years of becoming an industry standard, a critical oversight arose: the processes and requirements of the operations team who deployed and managed software products were left out of the revolution. 

This led to DevOps, an approach that aligned development and operations teams. So did DevOps replace agile? Or do they complement each other? It turns out there are both differences and similarities between the two. Agile and DevOps can be both exclusive and inclusive, with both existing within an organization.

What is agile?

Agile is an iterative approach to project management and software development that focuses on collaboration, customer feedback, and rapid releases. It arose in the early 2000s from the software development industry, helping development teams react and adapt to changing market conditions and customer demands.

In an agile approach, some planning and design is done upfront, but the development proceeds in small batches and involves close collaboration with stakeholders. Changes are incorporated continuously and a usable version of a product is often released quicker compared to products developed through the waterfall methodology. This provides many benefits, with arguably the most important being that if software doesn’t meet the needs or expectations of the customer, it  can be remediated in real-time. 

Agile is a collection of methodologies, not a single approach to development. It is an aggregation of scrum, eXtreme Programming (XP), and other systems of practice that developers used in years prior, and resulted from those practitioners coming together to unify these approaches into a single set of principles. The result of this unification effort was the Agile Manifesto, which consists of 12 principles, based on four core values. 

Centralized node icon
Related material

Learn about the CALMS framework

Structure in mind icon
Related material

Learn about the history of DevOps

The Agile Manifesto’s four core values

Meeples looking at a software development workflow

Individuals and interactions 
over processes and tools

Opening folder with completed tickets

Working software 
over comprehensive documentation

Meeples working on Platform

Customer collaboration 
over contract negotiation

Crystal ball

Responding to change
over following a plan


Enter DevOps

DevOps is an approach to software development that enables teams to build, test, and release software faster and more reliably by incorporating agile principles and practices, such as increased automation and improved collaboration between development and operations teams. Development, testing, and deployment occur in both agile and DevOps. Yet traditional agile stops short of operations, which is an integral part of DevOps. 

The goal of DevOps is to help bring together developers who write application software and operations who run the software in production. Also, to build and maintain the infrastructure where it runs. DevOps replaces the old approach of development teams writing applications then throwing them over the wall to an operations team who deploys and manages the software with minimal visibility into how it was developed. In a DevOps environment, developers and operations teams work side by side throughout the entire process of developing, deploying, and managing applications.   

Two common frameworks for understanding DevOps are “Three Ways” and “CALMS”, an acronym for Culture, Automation, Lean, Measurement, and Sharing. Culture refers to the cultural shift where development and operations work more cohesively. Automation increases velocity and ensures higher quality. The lean principles of continuous improvement and embracing failure are the foundation of an experimental mindset. Measure refers to the practice of measuring results to improve processes. Sharing emphasizes the importance of DevOps as a group effort and adopting best practices.

The DevOps Three Ways

Connecting puzzle pieces

Systems thinking
Understanding that software applications are complex systems

Browser pointer with play

Amplifying feedback loops
Improve bidirectional communication between teammates

Meeples looking at a software development workflow

Cultural change
Culture of continuous experimentation and learning

When do agile and DevOps work together?

DevOps can be thought of as an evolution of agile practices, or as a missing piece of agile. It’s an effort to take the innovations of the agile approach and apply them to operations processes. At the same time, it’s a missing piece of agile, because certain principles of agile are only realized in their most complete form when DevOps practices are employed. For example, there are multiple references to continuous delivery of software in agile documents, but because delivery pipelines encompass operations concerns, continuous delivery is usually regarded as a DevOps practice. Amplifying feedback loops requires improved communication across and between teams. Agile, specifically scrum, helps facilitate this communication through its various ceremonies such as daily standups, planning meetings, and retrospectives.


What are the similarities/differences between agile and DevOps?

  • Agile emphasizes collaboration between developers and product management — DevOps includes the operations team
  • Agile centers the flow of software from ideation to code completion — DevOps extends the focus to delivery and maintenance
  • Agile emphasizes iterative development and small batches — DevOps focuses more on test and delivery automation 
  • Agile adds structure to planned work for developers — DevOps incorporates unplanned work common to operations teams

The Agile Manifesto explicitly prioritizes individuals and interactions, working software, customer collaboration, and responding to change. These are clearly the same priorities of DevOps but extended beyond the development process and into the management of systems and running applications. 

In addition, the Twelve Principles of Agile Software includes references to DevOps principles. For example, the emphasis on continuous integration and delivery, working in small batches with frequent releases, and using automation are all referenced in the Twelve Principles of Agile Software.


In conclusion... agile AND DevOps

Ultimately the goals of agile and DevOps are the same: to improve the speed and quality of software development, and it makes very little sense to talk about one without the other. Many teams have found agile methodologies help them tremendously, while others have struggled to realize the benefits promised by an agile approach. This might be for any number of reasons, including teams not fully understanding or correctly implementing agile practices. It may also be that incorporating a DevOps approach will help fill the gaps for organizations that struggle with agile and help them have the success they were hoping for.  

Atlassian connects development, IT operations, and agile teams with automation that spans Atlassian products and third-party tools. To learn more visit Atlassian DevOps.

Tom Hall
Tom Hall

Tom Hall is a DevOps advocate and practitioner, voracious reader, and amateur pianist.
Among his accomplishments over the past 20 years are certifications from Novell, EMC, VMware, and AWS. He helped organize DevOpsDays in Atlanta in 2016 and in Austin, TX in years since.


Share this article

Recommended reading

Bookmark these resources to learn about types of DevOps teams, or for ongoing updates about DevOps at Atlassian.

Devops illustration

DevOps community

Devops illustration

Simulation workshop

Map illustration

Get started for free

Sign up for our DevOps newsletter

Thank you for signing up