Close

产品管理

敏捷开发的长期搭档:产品管理的过去、现在和未来

浏览主题

什么是产品管理?

产品管理是一项组织职能,通过首先关注产品及其客户,指导完成产品生命周期中的每一个步骤(从开发到定位和定价)。为打造出最棒的产品,产品经理会在组织内为客户代言,并确保市场的声音被倾听并受到关注。

凭借着对客户的关注,产品团队通常都能交付设计更好、性能更高的产品。在科技领域,根深蒂固的产品也很快会被更新、更好的解决方案替代,现在比以往任何时候都更需要深入了解客户并为其创建量身定制的解决方案。这也是产品管理的用武之地。

JPD 图像

免费试用 Jira Product Discovery

产品管理文章

[续]

作为产品团队一员,我每天都要与产品经理打交道,并采访数十个人了解其角色和职责。尽管这里提供了一些建议,但我也了解到采用产品管理的原则并非只有一条路可以走。每种产品都有其自身的目标和挑战,需采用独特而定制的产品管理方法。Martin Eriksson 提出过一个关于产品管理的著名言论,他认为产品管理是业务、用户体验和技术交集。

用户体验、技术和业务图

  • 业务 — 产品管理通过在开发、设计、客户和业务部门之间搭建沟通桥梁,帮助团队实现业务目标。

  • 用户体验 — 产品管理关注用户体验,并在组织内部代表客户说话。良好的用户体验就是这种关注的外在表现。

  • 技术 — 产品管理每天都在工程部门发生。透析计算机科学至关重要。

除此之外,每个产品经理还需要掌握的三项外技能还有讲故事、营销和同理心。

讲故事

产品领导者应像运用战术一样给人以启发,而讲故事是他们的首选工具。依托客户访谈和市场调研,产品经理比销售人员更了解客户。然后,他们可以利用自己的讲故事技巧向公司其他成员分享见解。

营销

产品管理对客户的关注也为营销工作提供了信息。产品管理团队(通常包括产品营销经理)不会抓住品牌不放,一味使用既定技巧,而是会将客户的语言整合到其产品消息当中。此外,从长远来看,对竞争格局的了解以及脱颖而出和提高辨识度的能力也能够带来红利。了解基本的营销和定位概念有助于产品经理发布人们能够找到且能够建立关联的产品。

同理心

最后,产品管理离不开共情,其中包括与开发人员及其工作方式的共情;与客户及其痛点的共情;甚至包括与高层管理人员的共情,他们要在积极的目标与不可能完成的时间表之间周旋。这种共情能力是通过深入到每个群体和利益相关者内部并密切了解其需求而培养起来的,这种能力能够将围绕共同目标将组织团结起来的产品团队与做不到这一点的产品团队区分开来。

人们正在构建 Data Center

产品管理的历史

产品管理诞生于大萧条时期,当时一位 27 岁的营销人员提出了“品牌人”的想法,即管理特定产品的员工,而不是一个传统的商业角色。自 20 世纪 30 年代以来,这一职能的持续成功促使各行各业和各地区的产品组织均呈增长态势。

  • 1931 年 — 宝洁公司营销经理 Neil H. McElroy 写出了一份 300 页的备忘录,其中讲到了对管理特定产品的“品牌人士”的需求。
  • 1930 年代末 — McElroy 担任斯坦福大学顾问,并在这里影响了两位年轻而又有远见的人士:Bill Hewlett 和 David Packard。
  • 1943-1993 年 — 惠普通过在新公司实施“品牌人士”理念,在长达 50 年的时间里一直保持着 20% 的同比增长率。
  • 1940 年代末 — 丰田提出 JIT 制造原则,后被惠普采用。
  • 1953 年 — 丰田开发出看板方法
  • 1970 年代 — 美国的很多科技公司不再尊崇制造业出现的复杂工艺,转而开始开发轻量化工艺。
  • 1980 年代 — 开发敏捷流程并提高对“品牌管理”角色的接受度在很多技术和软件公司占据了主导地位。
  • 2001 年《敏捷宣言》的撰写在很大程度上打破了部门孤岛和过时流程,为统一产品管理角色腾出了一些空间。
产品管理的历史

我们很难去低估敏捷软件开发在产品管理发展中的作用。2001 年撰写的《敏捷宣言》列出了十二项原则,其中一项写到:“在整个项目中,商业人士和开发人员必须每天协同工作。”产品经理的介入填补了这一角色。随着敏捷的发展,产品管理应运而生。如今,科技公司对熟练“产品人员”的需求促使大学和代码学校的新课程激增,而这只会进一步加速这一增长。

产品管理角色:产品经理及其他职位

有些情况下,针对一个产品或一个产品系列的管理都要由一个产品经理负责。这个人至少要在产品管理的某一个领域有着很深的造诣,并且要对其他领域充满热情或能够熟练应对。通常可以是以下两类人之一:经验丰富的商业营销人员,对出色的用户体验充满热情,能说流利的技术术语;或者技术开发领导者,对产品了然于心,可以推动其创建。事实证明,这类人才稀少而宝贵,所以他们在整个技术领域的薪水也是最高的

由于很难找到同时精通这两个领域的人才,所以产品管理经常是由一小群专家来实现的。在 Atlassian,我们建立了一个三合会,由开发、设计和业务领导者三方共同领导产品战略。为这一三合会提供支持的还有 PM、PMM 以及下面很多角色:

  • 首席产品官 (CPO) - 在组织层面领导产品职能。确保将每件产品都交给经验丰富的产品经理及其团队负责。
  • 产品负责人 - 通过管理工程团队的待办事项及其与其他利益相关者的沟通,在产品开发当中发挥着更为积极的作用。
  • 产品营销经理 (PMM) - 提高产品团队与客户打交道的能力,并通过他们为产品定制的营销活动以及提供的见解向其学习。
  • 用户体验 (UX) 研究员 - 虽然用户体验一直都是产品经理一项重要职责,但安排一位负责研究用户行为和提出可用性建议的 UX 研究专员对任何产品团队来说都是一项不错的增员。

由于没有明确的产品管理路线,很多急切的求职者都将注意力集中到了该职位的核心竞争力上。例如,我在科罗拉多大学博尔德分校学习了一个全新专业“信息管理”。我学习了一半的商业管理课程和一半的计算机科学课程,希望能同时具备这两个领域的“语言”能力,弥合这两个世界之间的沟通鸿沟。可以考虑的类似技能包括数据分析(尤其是 SQL)、项目管理和策略。这些产品管理技能在世界各地的代码学校、大学和专业开发训练营中都有积极推广,由此证明产品管理将持续存在。

什么是敏捷产品管理?

在敏捷软件开发中,产品管理团队的任务就是引导产品历经多次迭代。由于敏捷计划比传统方法更具流动性,因此敏捷产品管理也更加灵活。

敏捷的一个核心概念是项目范围是流动的,而资源是不变的。因此,在敏捷产品管理当中,团队事先花在产品定义上的时间会比较少,并且愿意接受随之而来的变化。产品随着一次一次的迭代而成型,支持利用客户数据和团队回顾推动下一阶段的实施。因此,敏捷产品管理更多的是引导开发团队完成周期,同时保持产品愿景并在整个过程中整合客户见解。

因此,相比业务团队,敏捷产品经理更容易融入技术团队。Atlassian 的产品经理在工程组织中也占有一席之地,并首当其冲,为开发团队代言。这是 Atlassian 敏捷方法的关键。产品经理由管理团队和 PMM(产品营销经理)提供支持,以完善产品规则,并以市场数据和业务目标为实践基础。这种组织方式对 Atlassian 很适用,但也并非放之四海皆准。很多团队的做法与此相反,但也能取得成功。

JPD 图像

免费试用 Jira Product Discovery

展望产品管理的未来

产品管理是一项多学科工作,一方面难以捉摸,另一方面又非常简单。产品经理要对客户产生同理心,并且要将其需求传达给更广泛的组织。他们与开发团队的配合最为密切,但同时也需要获得营销、设计和管理层的支持。他们的特殊之处在于要能够理解各种语言人群的观点并与之交流。

我希望在未来的产品管理当中,产品经理的数量要减少,但其工作能力要提高。随着敏捷产品管理的流行,突然间,每个产品都需要一个产品经理 (PM),每个产品经理都需要一个产品官 (PO),每个产品官又需要一个产品营销经理 (PMM),而他们所有人都要由首席产品官 (CPO) 来管理。这种激增制造了混乱,导致了角色重叠,还在进程中增加了更多流程。

实际上,产品管理的未来要由产品经理决定。您可通过这些文章获得一些灵感,我们希望您能学习这些课程,并吸取其中的经验教训。加油!

分享这篇文章
Max Rehkopf
Max Rehkopf

作为一个自诩“混沌布偶”的人,我期待敏捷实践和精益原则为我的日常生活带来秩序。我很高兴能通过为 Atlassian 撰写文章、开展讲座和制作视频,与他人分享这些经验教训

后续内容
Product Roadmaps

Product Management

The past, present, and future of agile's longtime friend: product management

What is product management?

Product management is an organizational function that guides every step of a product’s lifecycle: from development, to positioning and pricing, by focusing on the product and its customers first and foremost. To build the best possible product, product managers advocate for customers within the organization and make sure the voice of the market is heard and heeded.

Thanks to this focus on the customer, product teams routinely ship better-designed and higher-performing products. In tech, where entrenched products are quickly uprooted by newer and better solutions, there is more need than ever for an intimate understanding of customers and the ability to create tailored solutions for them. That’s where product management comes in.

Product management articles

[CONTINUED]

As a member of a product team myself, I work daily with product managers and have interviewed dozens more about their roles and responsibilities. Despite the advice here, I’ve learned that there is no one way to apply principles of product management. Every product has its own goals and challenges which require a unique and customized approach to product management. Martin Eriksson has famously described product management as the intersection of business, user experience, and technology.

Martin Eriksson has famously described product management as the intersection of business, user experience, and technology.

  • Business — Product management helps teams achieve their business objectives by bridging the communication gap between dev, design, the customer, and the business.

  • UX — Product management focuses on the user experience, and represents the customer inside the organization. Great UX is how this focus manifests itself.

  • Technology — Product management happens, day to day, in the engineering department. A thorough understanding of computer science is paramount.

Three additional skills that every PM needs are storytelling, marketing, and empathy.

Storytelling

A product leader should be as inspirational as they are tactical, and storytelling is their tool of choice. Through customer interviews and market research product managers learn more about the customer than even the salespeople. They then use their storytelling skills to share that perspective with the rest of the company.

Marketing

Product Management’s customer focus also informs marketing efforts. Instead of sticking to the brand and using established techniques, product management teams (often including Product Marketing Managers) integrate the language of their customers into the messaging of their product. Furthermore, knowledge of the competitive landscape and the ability to stand out and differentiate pays dividends in the long run. Understanding basic marketing and positioning concepts will help product managers ship products that people can find and relate to.

Empathy

Finally, product management is about empathy--Empathy for the developers and and how they work, empathy for the customer and their pain points, and even empathy for upper management, who juggle aggressive goals and impossible schedules. This skill in empathy, one developed through immersion within and intimate understanding of each group and stakeholder, separates the product teams that can rally the organization around common goals from those who are incapable of doing so.  

Martin Eriksson has famously described product management as the intersection of business, user experience, and technology.

The history of product management

Product management was born during the great depression, when a 27-year-old marketer proposed the idea of a “brand man”-- an employee to manage a specific product rather than a traditional business role. Since the 1930s, the continued success of this function has led to the growth of product organizations across industries and geographies.

  • 1931 — Neil H. McElroy, a marketing manager at Proctor & Gamble, writes a 300-page memo on the need for “brand men,” who manage specific products.
  • Late 1930s — McElroy is an advisor at Stanford University, where he influences two young visionaries: Bill Hewlett and David Packard.
  • 1943-1993 — Hewlett-Packard sustains 50 years of 20% Y/Y growth by implementing the “brand man” philosophy in their new company.
  • Late 1940s — Toyota develops JIT manufacturing principles, later adopted by Hewlett-Packard.
  • 1953 — Toyota develops the kanban method.
  • 1970s — Tech companies in the U.S. start developing lightweight processes, in opposition to cumbersome processes that emerged from manufacturing industries.
  • 1980s — Developing agile processes, combined with greater acceptance of “brand management” roles, takes hold in many technology and software companies.
  • 2001 — The Agile Manifesto is written, which, in large part, broke down department silos and outdated process, to make room for a unified product management role.
History of Product Management

It’s hard to understate to role of agile software development in the growth of product management. In the Agile Manifesto, written in 2001, lays out twelve principles, one of which reads, “Business people and developers must work together daily throughout the project.” Product Managers stepped in to fill this role and with the growth of agile came the rise of product management. Today, the demand of technology companies for skilled “product people” has led to an explosion of new programs at universities and code schools that will only accelerate this growth.

Product management roles: The product manager and beyond

In some cases, product management for one product, or family of products, is handled by a single Product Manager. This individual must represent a deep proficiency in at least one of the areas that touch product management, and a passion for or fluency in the others. This most often manifests itself in one of two cases:  an experienced business marketer with a passion for outstanding user experience and can speak fluent tech lingo, or a technical development leader who understands the product so well that they can begin to drive it’s creation. These people have proven to be so rare and valuable that product management now commands the highest salaries in all of tech.   

Since it’s really hard to find individuals fluent in both areas, oftentimes product management is brought to life by a small group of specialists. At Atlassian, we’ve formed the triad - where a leader from development, design, and business work together to lead product strategy. Supporting the triad are PMs, PMMs and many of the other roles below:

  • Chief Product Officer (CPO) - Leads the product function at an organizational level. Ensures each product is looked after by skilled PMs and their teams.
  • Product Owner - Takes a more active role in the development of the product by managing the engineering team’s backlog and their communication with other stakeholders.
  • Product Marketing Manager (PMM) - Improves on the product teams ability to reach customers and learn from them through product-tailored marketing campaigns and the insights they provide.
  • User Experience (UX) Researcher - UX is one of a PM’s core responsibilities, but a dedicated UX researcher, who studies user behavior and makes usability recommendations, is a great addition to any product team.   

Since there is no clear-cut route into product management, many eagar applicants focus instead on the core competencies of the job. For example, I studied “Information Management,” a brand new major the University of Colorado, Boulder. I took half business management and half computer science classes with the goal of being able to speak both “languages” and bridge the communication gap between the two worlds. Similar skills to consider would be data analysis (SQL specifically), project management, and strategy. These product management skills are actively marketed by code-schools, universities, and professional development bootcamps all around the world proving, here, that product management is here to stay.

What is Agile Product Management?

In agile software development, product management is about guiding a product through multiple iterations. Since agile programs are more fluid than traditional approaches, agile product management is a more flexible approach.

One of the core concepts in agile is that the scope of a project is fluid, while resources stay the same. As such, in agile product management the team spends less time defining the product before hand, and is open to changes along the way. The product comes together one iteration at a time, allowing for customer data and team retrospectives to drive the next stage. As such, agile product management is more about guiding the dev team through cycles, while maintaining the product vision and integrating customer insight along the way.

Agile product managers are thus more integrated into technology teams than business teams. At Atlassian, our PMs sit squarely in the engineering organization and advocate for the development teams first and foremost. This is critical for Atlassian’s agile approach.  The PMs are supported by management teams and PMMs (Product Marketing Managers) to round out the product discipline and ground their practice in market data and business objectives. This organization works well for Atlassian, but it is not a catch-all. Many teams may find success doing the exact opposite.

Envisioning the future of product management

Product management is a multidisciplinary pursuit that is as elusive as it is dead simple. Product managers gain empathy for the customer, and communicate their needs to the broader organization. They work most closely with development teams, but also need to get buy in from marketing, design, and management. Their special sauce is the ability to understand and communicate with a wide variety of people who speak different languages.

My hope for the future of product management is to have fewer product managers who are better at their jobs. As soon as agile product management became en vogue all of a sudden every product needed a PM, and every PM needed a PO who needed a PMM who were all managed by a CPO. This proliferation has created mushy, overlapping roles and added more process than they have progress.

In reality, the future of product management is up to the product managers. You can use these articles to gain inspiration, but we hope you’ll take these lessons and make them your own. Onward!

Share this article
Max Rehkopf
Max Rehkopf

As a self-proclaimed "chaos muppet," my discovery of agile was like turning on the lights. I’m interested in the future of work, and believe in a theory-heavy but dogma-light future for agile and lean. You can find me on twitter @maxrehallday, and on medium @maxreh.