Close

看板

如何使用看板方法进行软件开发

浏览主题
Jira 面板

免费开始使用 Jira 的看板模板

查看和推进最重要的工作,最大限度地提升效率。

使用模板

什么是看板?

看板是用于实施敏捷DevOps 软件开发的热门框架。它需要实时通信能力和完全透明的工作流程。工作项目在看板上直观显示,方便团队成员随时查看每项工作的状态。

看板文章

[续]

Optimizing software development with Kanban flow

看板在当下的敏捷和 DevOps 软件开发团队中非常著名,但事实上,看板的工作方法可以回溯至 50 多年以前。20 世纪 40 年代末,丰田开始按照超市的货架囤货方法优化其工程流程。超市仅存储刚好满足消费者需求的产品数量,这种做法优化了超市和消费者之间的流通。由于库存水平符合消费模式,超市通过减少其任何时候所持有的超额库存量,大大提高了库存管理效率。同时,超市仍然可以确保消费者所需的产品始终有货。

Structuring your Kanban flow

当丰田将相同的系统应用于工厂车间时,其目标是更好地调整其库存量,以便与材料的实际消耗量保持一致。为了在工厂车间内以及向供应商实时传达库存量,工人们会在两个团队之间传递卡片或“看板”。当生产线上使用的材料耗尽时,看板会被传递到仓库,说明需要什么材料以及所需材料的确切数量等。仓库会重新准备好这种材料,然后将其运送到生产车间,并将他们自己的看板交给供应商。供应商也会准备好这种特定材料,然后将其运送到仓库。虽然此流程中的信号技术自 20 世纪 40 年代一直在发展,但“即时”(或 JIT)生产流程仍然是其不变的核心。

Exploring the origins of Kanban

当丰田将相同的系统应用于工厂车间时,其目标是更好地调整其库存量,以便与材料的实际消耗量保持一致。为了在工厂车间内以及向供应商实时传达库存量,工人们会在两个团队之间传递卡片或“看板”。当生产线上使用的材料耗尽时,看板会被传递到仓库,说明需要什么材料以及所需材料的确切数量等。仓库会重新准备好这种材料,然后将其运送到生产车间,并将他们自己的看板交给供应商。供应商也会准备好这种特定材料,然后将其运送到仓库。虽然此流程中的信号技术自 20 世纪 40 年代一直在发展,但“即时”(或 JIT)生产流程仍然是其不变的核心。

面向软件团队的看板

如今,敏捷软件开发团队已经能够将正在进行的工作 (WIP) 量与团队工作能力相匹配,从而利用相同的 JIT 原则。这在整个开发周期中为团队提供了更灵活的规划选项、更快的输出、更明确的重点和透明度。

看板 | Atlassian 敏捷教练

虽然此框架的核心原则不受时间限制且适用于几乎所有行业,但软件开发团队仍在敏捷实践方面取得了特殊的成功。在某种程度上,这是因为软件团队一旦理解基本原则就可以开始实践,开销很低甚至没有开销。与在工厂车间应用看板(其中涉及更改物理流程和增加实质性材料)不同,软件团队唯一需要的实体物质就是板和卡片,而这些内容甚至可以是虚拟的。

看板

所有看板团队的工作都围绕着一块看板展开,它是一种用于实现工作内容可视化和优化团队中工作流的工具。虽然实体板在一些团队中很受欢迎,但虚拟板是所有敏捷软件开发工具中的重要功能,因为它具有可追溯性、更易于协作且可从多个位置访问。

无论团队使用的是实体看板还是虚拟看板,其功能都是为了确保团队能够实现工作可视化和工作流标准化,并且能够立即识别和解决所有蓝酷虎和依赖关系。基本的看板有一个三步式工作流,即待办、进行中和已完成。但这一工作流也可根据团队的规模、结构和目标进行调整,以满足任何特定团队的独特流程要求。

看板方法依赖于工作的全面透明度和团队工作能力的实时沟通,因此,看板应被视为团队工作的唯一真相来源。

敏捷看板 | Atlassian 敏捷教练

看板卡片

在日本,看板的字面意思是“视觉信号”。对于看板团队而言,每个工作项目都可以用看板上一张单独的卡片来表示。

在看板上用卡片来表示工作的主要目的,是让团队成员以高度可视化的方式跟踪工作流中的工作进展。看板卡片包含与特定工作项目有关的关键信息,可让整个团队全面了解工作项目的负责人、所做工作的简要说明、工作的预计完成时间等内容。虚拟看板上的卡片通常还会提供屏幕截图和对经办人有价值的其他技术详细信息。这让团队成员可以查看任何给定时间点的每个工作项目的状态,以及所有相关的详细信息,从而确保加大关注力度、提供全面可追溯性以及快速识别屏蔽程序和依赖关系。

看板的优势

看板是当今敏捷团队采用的最受欢迎的软件开发方法之一。看板可为各种规模的团队提供任务规划和吞吐量方面的额外优势。

灵活规划

看板团队只关注眼下正在进行的工作。团队完成一个工作项目后,会将下一个工作项目从待办事项的顶部移除。产品负责人可以在不干扰团队进度的情况下自由调整待办事项中工作的优先级,因为当前工作项目之外的任何变动都不会影响到团队。只要产品负责人将最重要的工作项目置于待办事项顶部,开发团队就会明确地知道这些项目将给企业带来最大价值。因此,您无需像在 Scrum 中一样进行固定时长的迭代。

专业提示:

聪明的产品负责人会在在考虑更改待办事项时与开发团队沟通。例如,如果用户故事 1-6 都位于待办事项中,那么用户故事 6 的预估工作量可能会视用户故事 1-5 的完成情况而定。始终与工程团队确认工作变动是个不错的做法,可确保不会出现意外情况。

缩短时间周期

对看板团队来说,周期时间是一项重要指标。周期时间指的是一个工作单元通过团队工作流所花费的时间,从工作开始的那一刻起,到工作交付的那一刻结束。通过优化周期时间,团队可以充满信心地预测未来工作的交付情况。

共享技能组合可以缩短加工时间。当只有一个人拥有技能时,这个人就成为了工作流中的一个瓶颈。因此,各团队都会采用代码审查和指导帮助等基本的最佳实践来传播知识。共享技能意味着团队成员可以从事复杂工作,从而进一步优化加工时间。这也意味着,如果工作出现瓶颈,那么整个团队可以群策群力,让流程再次顺畅运行。例如,不是只有 QA 工程师才能进行测试,开发人员也可以参与。

在看板框架中,由整个团队负责确保工作流程顺利进行。

减少瓶颈

多任务作业降低了效率。任何时候,运行的工作项越多,进行切换的上下文就越多,从而妨碍了完成率。这也是为什么看板的主要租户要限制在制品 (WIP) 数量的原因。在制品限制会由于缺乏焦点、人员或技能而在团队流程中凸显出瓶颈,以及备份的重要性。

例如,典型的软件团队可能有四个工作流状态,分别是待办、进行中、代码审查和已完成。他们会选择将代码审查状态的 WIP 限制设置为 2。这一限制似乎很低,但却有充分理由:开发人员通常更喜欢编写新代码,而不是花时间审查别人的工作。低限制可鼓励团队特别注意处于审查状态中的事务,并在提交自己的代码审查之前审查他人的工作。这最终缩短了整体加工时间。

可视化指标

核心价值观中有一条着重强调了要在每次工作迭代中不断提高团队效率和有效性。而图表为团队提供了一种视觉机制,确保他们能够继续改进。当团队能够看到数据时,就更容易发现流程中的瓶颈,并消除这些瓶颈。看板团队使用的两种常见报告是控制图和累积流量图。

控制图显示了每个问题的时间周期以及团队的波动平均值。

专业提示:

团队的目标是缩短问题从产生到解决的整个时间周期。在控制图中看到平均周期缩短就意味着成功。

敏捷控制图 | Atlassian 敏捷教练

累积流量图可显示处于每种状态的事务的数量。通过查看任何指定状态下增加的事务数量,团队可以轻松发现障碍问题。处于“进行中”或“审查中”等中间状态的事务尚未发送给客户,当工作向上游合并时,这些状态中的障碍可能会增加出现大规模集成冲突的可能性。

累积流程图

持续交付

持续交付 (CD) 是指频繁向客户发布工作。持续集成 (CI) 是指在一天当中以增量方式自动构建和测试代码。两者共同组成了 CI/CD 管道,这也是开发团队(尤其是 DevOps 团队)在保证高质量的同时加快软件交付的关键。

看板和 CD 互为补充,相辅相成,因为这两种技术都注重即时(以及逐一)交付价值。团队向市场推出创新的速度越快,他们的产品在市场上的竞争力就越强。而看板团队专注的正是:优化与客户之间的工作流程。

Scrum 与看板

看板和 Scrum 虽然具有一些相同的概念,但它们是截然不同的两种方法,不应将它们混淆。

 

SCRUM

KANBAN

Release methodology

SCRUM

Regular fixed-length sprints (i.e., two weeks)

KANBAN

Continuous flow

Roles

SCRUM

Product owner, scrum master, development team

KANBAN

Continuous delivery or at the team's discretion

Key metrics

SCRUM

Velocity

KANBAN

Cycle time

Change philosophy

SCRUM

Teams should strive not to change the sprint forecast during the sprint. Doing so compromises learning around estimation.

KANBAN

Change can happen at any time

一些团队将看板和 Scrum 的理念融合,形成全新的“Scrumban”工作方法。他们借助 Scrum 执行固定时间周期的冲刺并设定角色,同时利用看板关注在制品限制和周期时间。然而,对于刚刚开始实施敏捷开发的团队,我们强烈建议您选择其中一种方法,并运行一段时间。您以后可以不断变换方法,尝试新花样。如果您的团队准备开始使用看板方法,请立即使用我们的免费看板面板模板

Jira 面板

免费开始使用 Jira 看板模板

查看和推进最重要的工作,最大限度地提升效率。

Dan Radigan
Dan Radigan

敏捷开发在专业和个人层面上对我的影响都很大,因为我知道了敏捷开发是代码和生活领域最好的体验。在技术、摄影和摩托车赛的交叉领域,您会经常看到我的身影。

后续内容

Kanban

How the kanban methodology applies to software development

The kanban methodology

Kanban is a popular framework used by software teams practicing agile software development. It is enormously prominent among today's agile software teams, but the kanban methodology of work dates back more than 50 years.

In the late 1940s Toyota began optimizing its engineering processes based on the same model that supermarkets were using to stock their shelves. Supermarkets stock just enough product to meet consumer demand, a practice that optimizes the flow between the supermarket and the consumer. Because inventory levels match consumption patterns, the supermarket gains significant efficiency in inventory management by decreasing the amount of excess stock it must hold at any given team. Meanwhile, the supermarket can still ensure that the given product a consumer needs is always in stock.

When Toyota applied this same system to its factory floors, the goal was to better align their massive inventory levels with the actual consumption of materials. To communicate capacity levels in real-time on the factory floor (and to suppliers), workers would pass a card, or "kanban", between teams. When a bin of materials being used on the production line was emptied, a kanban was passed to the warehouse describing what material was needed, the exact amount of this material, and so on. The warehouse would have a new bin of this material waiting, which they would then send to the factory floor, and in turn send their own kanban to the supplier. The supplier would also have a bin of this particular material waiting, which it would ship to the warehouse. While the signaling technology of this process has evolved since the 1940s, this same "just in time" (or JIT) manufacturing process is still at the heart of it.

>> Learn how to create a kanban project with JIRA

Kanban for software teams

Agile software development teams today are able to leverage these same JIT principles by matching the amount of work in progress (WIP) to the team's capacity. This gives teams more flexible planning options, faster output, clearer focus, and transparency throughout the development cycle.

While the core principles of the framework are timeless and applicable to almost any industry, software development teams have found particular success with the agile practice. In part, this is because software teams can begin practicing with little to no overhead once they understand the basic principles. Unlike implementing kanban on a factory floor, which would involve changes to physical processes and the addition of substantial materials, the only physical things a software teams need are a board and cards, and even those can be virtual.

Kanban boards

The work of all kanban teams revolves around a kanban board, a tool used to visualize work and optimize the flow of the work among the team. While physical boards are popular among some teams, virtual boards are a crucial feature in any agile software development tool for their traceability, easier collaboration, and accessibility from multiple locations.

Regardless of whether a team's board is physical or digital, their function is to ensure the team's work is visualized, their workflow is standardized, and all blockers and dependencies are immediately identified and resolved. A basic kanban board has a three-step workflow: To Do, In Progress, and Done. However, depending on a team's size, structure, and objectives, the workflow can be mapped to meet the unique process of any particular team.

The kanban methodology relies upon full transparency of work and real-time communication of capacity, therefore the kanban board should be seen as the single source of truth for the team's work.

A key tenant of kanban software development is to limit the amount of work in progress (WIP).

Kanban cards

In Japanese, kanban literally translates to "visual signal." For kanban teams, every work item is represented as a separate card on the board.

The main purpose of representing work as a card on the kanban board is to allow team members to track the progress of work through its workflow in a highly visual manner. Kanban cards feature critical information about that particular work item, giving the entire team full visibility into who is responsible for that item of work, a brief description of the job being done, how long that piece of work is estimated to take, and so on. Cards on virtual kanban boards will often also feature screenshots and other technical details that is valuable to the assignee. Allowing team members to see the state of every work item at any given point in time, as well as all of the associated details, ensures increased focus, full traceability, and fast identification of blockers and dependencies.

The benefits of kanban

Kanban is one of the most popular software development methodologies adopted by agile teams today. Kanban offers several additional advantages to task planning and throughput for teams of all sizes.

Planning flexibility

A kanban team is only focused on the work that's actively in progress. Once the team completes a work item, they pluck the next work item off the top of the backlog. The product owner is free to reprioritize work in the backlog without disrupting the team, because any changes outside the current work items don't impact the team. As long as the product owner keeps the most important work items on top of the backlog, the development team is assured they are delivering maximum value back to the business. So there's no need for the fixed-length iterations you find in scrum.

ProTip: Savvy product owners always engage the development team when considering changes to the backlog. For example, if user stories 1-6 are in the backlog, user story 6's estimate may be based on the completion of user stories 1-5. It's always a good practice to confirm changes with the engineering team to ensure there are no surprises. 

Shortened cycle times

Cycle time is a key metric for kanban teams. Cycle time is the amount of time it takes for a unit of work to travel through the team’s workflow–from the moment work starts to the moment it ships. By optimizing cycle time, the team can confidently forecast the delivery of future work.

Overlapping skill sets lead to smaller cycle times. When only one person holds a skill set, that person becomes a bottleneck in the workflow. So teams employ basic best practices like code review and mentoring help to spread knowledge. Shared skills mean that team members can take on heterogeneous work, which further optimizes cycle time. It also means that if there is a backup of work, the entire team can swarm on it to get the process flowing smoothly again. For instance, testing isn't only done by QA engineers. Developers pitch in, too.

In a kanban framework, it's the entire team's responsibility to ensure work is moving smoothly through the process.

Fewer bottlenecks

Multitasking kills efficiency. The more work items in flight at any given time, the more context switching, which hinders their path to completion. That's why a key tenant of kanban is to limit the amount of work in progress (WIP). Work-in-progress limits highlight bottlenecks and backups in the team's process due to lack of focus, people, or skill sets.

For example, a typical software team might have four workflow states: To Do, In Progress, Code Review, and Done. They could choose to set a WIP limit of 2 for the code review state. That might seem like a low limit, but there's good reason for it: developers often prefer to write new code, rather than spend time reviewing someone else's work. A low limit encourages the team to pay special attention to issues in the review state, and to review others work before raising their own code reviews. This ultimately reduces the overall cycle time.

Visual metrics

One of the core values is a strong focus on continually improving team efficiency and effectiveness with every iteration of work. Charts provide a visual mechanism for teams to ensure they're continuing to improve. When the team can see data, it's easier to spot bottlenecks in the process (and remove them). Two common reports kanban teams use are control charts and cumulative flow diagrams.

A control chart shows the cycle time for each issue as well as a rolling average for the team.

ProTip: The team's goal is to reduce the amount of time an issue takes to move through the entire process. Seeing the average cycle time drop in the control chart is an indicator of success. 

A control chart shows the cycle time for each issue in kanban agile development.

A cumulative flow diagram shows the number of issues in each state. The team can easily spot blockages by seeing the number of issues increase in any given state. Issues in intermediate states such as "In Progress" or "In Review" are not yet shipped to customers, and a blockage in these states can increase the likelihood of massive integration conflicts when the work does get merged upstream. 

A cumulative flow diagram shows the number of issues in each state in kanban agile development.

Continuous delivery

We know that continuous integration–the practice of automatically building and testing code incrementally throughout the day–is essential for maintaining quality. Now it's time to meet continuous delivery (CD). CD is the practice of releasing work to customers frequently–even daily or hourly. Kanban and CD beautifully complement each other because both techniques focus on the just-in-time (and one-at-a-time) delivery of value.

The faster a team can deliver innovation to market, the more competitive their product will be in the marketplace. And kanban teams focus on exactly that: optimizing the flow of work out to customers.

Scrum vs. kanban

Kanban and scrum share some of the same concepts but have very different approaches. They should not be confused with one another. 

  Scrum Kanban
Cadence Regular fixed length sprints (ie, 2 weeks) Continuous flow
Release methodology At the end of each sprint if approved by the product owner Continuous delivery or at the team's discretion
Roles Product owner, scrum master, development team No existing roles. Some teams enlist the help of an agile coach.
Key metrics Velocity Cycle time
Change philosophy Teams should strive to not make changes to the sprint forecast during the sprint. Doing so compromises learnings around estimation. Change can happen at any time

Some teams blend the ideals of kanban and scrum into "scrumban." They take fixed length sprints and roles from scrum and the focus on work in progress limits and cycle time from kanban. For teams just starting out with agile, however, we strongly recommend choosing one methodology or the other and running with it for a while. You can always get fancy later on.