重写历史记录

源代码管理

源代码管理 (SCM) 用于跟踪对源代码存储库的修改。SCM 跟踪代码库变更的运行历史记录,并帮助解决合并来自多个贡献者的更新时发生的冲突。SCM 也是版本控制的代名词。

随着软件项目代码行数和贡献者人数的增加,通信开销和管理复杂性的成本也在增加。SCM 是缓解不断增长的开发成本带来的组织压力的关键工具。

源代码管理工具的重要性

当多个开发人员在共享代码库中工作时,对共享代码段进行编辑很常见。不同的开发人员可能正在开发一个看似孤立的功能,但是该功能可能使用共享代码模块。因此,开发人员 1 在开发功能 1 时可能会进行一些编辑,稍后会发现开发人员 2 正在处理功能 2 的编辑存在冲突。

采用 SCM 之前,这简直是一场噩梦。开发人员可以直接编辑文本文件,然后使用 FTP 或其他协议将其移动到远程位置。开发人员 1 会进行编辑,开发人员 2 会在不知不觉中保存开发人员 1 的工作并清除变更。SCM 作为针对这种特定场景的保护机制的作用被称为版本控制

SCM 引入了版本控制保障措施,以防止因冲突覆盖而导致工作丢失。这些保护措施通过跟踪每个开发人员的变更、识别冲突区域和防止覆盖来发挥作用。然后,SCM 会将这些冲突点传达给开发人员,以便他们可以安全地审查和解决。

这种基本的冲突预防机制具有为开发团队提供被动沟通的副作用。然后,团队可以监控和讨论 SCM 正在监控的进行中工作。SCM 跟踪代码库变更的完整历史记录。这允许开发人员检查和审查可能引入错误或回归的编辑。

源代码管理的好处

除了版本控制外,SCM 还提供了一套其他有用的功能,使协作代码开发成为更加用户友好的体验。一旦 SCM 开始跟踪项目随时间推移发生的所有变更,就会创建项目生命周期的详细历史记录。然后可以使用此历史记录来‘撤销’对代码库的变更。SCM 可以立即将代码库还原到以前的时间点。这对于防止更新回归和撤销错误非常有用。

记录项目生命周期内每一次变更的 SCM 归档为项目的发行版本说明提供了宝贵的记录。干净且经过维护的 SCM 历史记录日志可以互换用作发行说明。这为项目进度提供了见解和透明度,可以与最终用户或非开发团队共享。

SCM 将减少团队的通信开销并提高发布速度。如果没有 SCM,开发速度会变慢,因为贡献者必须付出额外的努力来规划一个不重叠的开发顺序以供发布。借助 SCM,开发人员可以独立处理功能开发的不同分支,最终将它们合并在一起。

总体而言,SCM 为工程团队提供了巨大的帮助,工程团队将通过提高工程资源的执行效率来降低开发成本。在现代软件开发时代,SCM 不可或缺。专业团队使用版本控制,您的团队也应该一样。

源代码管理最佳实践

经常提交

提交既便宜又容易提交,应经常使用它们来捕获代码库的更新。每次提交都是一个快照,如果需要,可以将代码库还原为快照。频繁的提交提供了许多恢复或撤销工作的机会。可以使用变基将一组提交合并为单个提交,以阐明开发日志。

确保您使用的是最新版本

SCM 支持来自多个开发人员的快速更新。很容易让代码库的本地副本落后于全局副本。更新之前,请确保 git 拉取或获取最新的代码。这将有助于避免合并时发生冲突。

做详细的笔记

每次提交都有相应的日志条目。创建提交时,此日志条目中填充了一条消息。留下描述性的解释提交日志消息很重要。这些提交日志消息应该解释包含提交内容的“原因”和“内容”。这些日志消息成为项目发展的规范历史记录,为未来的贡献者留下了痕迹。

提交之前查看变更

SCM 提供‘暂存区域’。暂存区域可用于收集一组编辑内容,然后再将其写入提交。暂存区域可用于在创建提交快照之前管理和查看变更。以这种方式使用暂存区域可以提供一个缓冲区,以帮助优化提交的内容。

使用分支

分支是一种强大的 SCM 机制,允许开发人员创建单独的开发路线。应经常使用分支,因为它们既快速又便宜。分支使多个开发人员能够在不同的开发行并行工作。这些开发行通常是不同的产品功能。在分支上完成开发后,它将合并到开发的主行中。

就工作流程达成一致

默认情况下,SCM 提供非常自由的贡献方式。团队建立共享的协作模式非常重要。SCM 工作流程建立了合并分支的模式和流程。如果团队不同意共享工作流程,则在合并分支时,可能会导致沟通效率低下。

摘要

SCM 是现代软件开发的宝贵工具。最好的软件团队使用 SCM,您的团队也应该一样。在新项目上设置 SCM 非常容易,投资回报率很高。Atlassian 提供了一些世界上最好的 SCM 集成工具,可以帮助您入门。

Rewriting history

Source code management

 

Source code management (SCM) is used to track modifications to a source code repository. SCM tracks a running history of changes to a code base and helps resolve conflicts when merging updates from multiple contributors. SCM is also synonymous with Version control. 

As software projects grow in lines of code and contributor head count, the costs of communication overhead and management complexity also grow. SCM is a critical tool to alleviate the organizational strain of growing development costs.

The importance of source code management tools

When multiple developers are working within a shared codebase it is a common occurrence to make edits to a shared piece of code. Separate developers may be working on a seemingly isolated feature, however this feature may use a shared code module. Therefore developer 1 working on Feature 1 could make some edits and find out later that Developer 2 working on Feature 2 has conflicting edits.

Before the adoption of SCM this was a nightmare scenario. Developers would edit text files directly and move them around to remote locations using FTP or other protocols. Developer 1 would make edits and Developer 2 would unknowingly save over Developer 1’s work and wipe out the changes. SCM’s role as a protection mechanism against this specific scenario is known as Version Control.

SCM brought version control safeguards to prevent loss of work due to conflict overwriting. These safeguards work by tracking changes from each individual developer and identifying areas of conflict and preventing overwrites. SCM will then communicate these points of conflict back to the developers so that they can safely review and address.

This foundational conflict prevention mechanism has the side effect of providing passive communication for the development team. The team can then monitor and discuss the work in progress that the SCM is monitoring. The SCM tracks an entire history of changes to the code base. This allows developers to examine and review edits that may have introduced bugs or regressions.

The benefits of source code management

In addition to version control SCM provides a suite of other helpful features to make collaborative code development a more user friendly experience. Once SCM has started tracking all the changes to a project over time, a detailed historical record of the projects life is created. This historical record can then be used to ‘undo’ changes to the codebase. The SCM can instantly revert the codebase back to a previous point in time. This is extremely valuable for preventing regressions on updates and undoing mistakes.

The SCM archive of every change over a projects life time provides valuable record keeping for a projects release version notes. A clean and maintained SCM history log can be used interchangeably as release notes. This offers insight and transparency into the progress of a project that can be shared with end users or non-development teams.

SCM will reduce a team’s communication overhead and increase release velocity. Without SCM development is slower because contributors have to take extra effort to plan a non-overlapping sequence of develop for release. With SCM developers can work independently on separate branches of feature development, eventually merging them together.

Overall SCM is a huge aid to engineering teams that will lower development costs by allowing engineering resources to execute more efficiently. SCM is a must have in the modern age of software development. Professional teams use version control and your team should too.

Source code management best practices

Commit often

Commits are cheap and easy to make. They should be made frequently to capture updates to a code base. Each commit is a snapshot that the codebase can be reverted to if needed. Frequent commits give many opportunities to revert or undo work. A group of commits can be combined into a single commit using a rebase to clarify the development log.

Ensure you're working from latest version

SCM enables rapid updates from multiple developers. It’s easy to have a local copy of the codebase fall behind the global copy. Make sure to git pull or fetch the latest code before making updates. This will help avoid conflicts at merge time.

Make detailed notes

Each commit has a corresponding log entry. At the time of commit creation, this log entry is populated with a message. It is important to leave descriptive explanatory commit log messages. These commit log messages should explain the “why” and “what” that encompass the commits content. These log messages become the canonical history of the project’s development and leave a trail for future contributors to review.

Review changes before committing

SCM’s offer a ‘staging area’. The staging area can be used to collect a group of edits before writing them to a commit. The staging area can be used to manage and review changes before creating the commit snapshot. Utilizing the staging area in this manner provides a buffer area to help refine the contents of the commit.

Use Branches

Branching is a powerful SCM mechanism that allows developers to create a separate line of development. Branches should be used frequently as they are quick and inexpensive. Branches enable multiple developers to work in parallel on separate lines of development. These lines of development are generally different product features. When development is complete on a branch it is then merged into the master line of development.

Agree on a Workflow

By default SCMs offer very free form methods of contribution. It is important that teams establish shared patterns of collaboration. SCM workflows establish patterns and processes for merging branches. If a team doesn't agree on a shared workflow it can lead to inefficient communication overhead when it comes time to merge branches.

Summary

SCM is an invaluable tool for modern software development. The best software teams use SCM and your team should too. SCM is very easy to set up on a new project and the return on investment is high. Atlassian offers some of the best SCM integration tools in the world that will help you get started.