git init

本页将深入探索 git init 命令。在本页结束时,您将了解 git init 的核心功能和扩展功能集。本次探索包括:

  • git init 选项和用法
  • .git 目录概述
  • 自定义 git init 目录环境值
  • git initgit clone
  • git init 裸存储库
  • git init 模板

git init 命令创建了一个新的 Git 存储库。它可用于将现有的未版本控制项目转换为 Git 存储库或初始化新的空存储库。大多数其他 Git 命令在初始化存储库外不可用,因此这通常是您将在新项目中运行的第一个命令。

执行 git init 会在当前工作目录中创建一个 .git 子目录,其中包含新存储库所有必需的 Git 元数据。此元数据包括对象、引用和模板文件的子目录。还会创建一个 HEAD 文件,该文件指向当前已签出的提交。

除了 .git 目录,在项目的根目录中,现有项目保持不变(与 SVN 不同,Git 不需要每个子目录中有 .git 子目录)。

默认情况下,git init 会将 Git 配置初始化为 .git 子目录路径。如果您希望子目录路径位于其他地方,可以对其进行修改和自定义。您可以将 $GIT_DIR 环境变量设置为自定义路径,git init 将在那里初始化 Git 配置文件。此外,您可以传递 --separate-git-dir 参数以获得相同的结果。单独的 .git 子目录的常见用例用于在主目录中保存您的系统配置 "dotfiles"(.bashrc.vimrc 等等),同时在其他地方保留 .git 文件夹。

使用

与 SVN 相比,git init 命令是一种创建新的版本控制项目的非常简单的方法。Git 不需要您创建存储库、导入文件和签出工作副本。此外,Git 不需要任何预先存在的服务器或管理员权限。您所要做的就是 cd 进入您的项目子目录并运行 git init,这样您就会有一个功能齐全的 Git 存储库。

git init

将当前目录转换为 Git 存储库。这会将 .git 子目录添加到当前目录,并可以开始记录项目的修订版本。

git init <directory>

在指定目录中创建一个空的 Git 存储库。运行此命令将创建一个名为 <directory> 的新子目录,其中只包含 .git 子目录。

如果您已经在项目目录上运行了 git init 并且它包含一个 .git 子目录,您可以安全地在同一个项目目录上再次运行 git init。它不会覆盖现有的 .git 配置。

git init 与 git clone

简要说明:git initgit clone 很容易混淆。在较高层面上,它们都可以用来“初始化一个新的 git 存储库。”但是,git clone 依赖于 git initgit clone 用于创建现有存储库的副本。在内部,git clone 首先调用 git init 来创建新的存储库。然后,它从现有存储库中复制数据,并签出一组新的工作文件。在 git config 页面上了解更多信息。

裸存储库 --- git init --bare

git init --bare <directory>

初始化一个空的 Git 存储库,但省略工作目录。共享存储库应始终使用 --bare 标记创建(参见下面的讨论)。传统上,使用 --bare 标记初始化的存储库以 .git 结尾。例如,名为 my-project 的存储库的裸版本应存储在名为 my-project.git 的目录中。

--bare 标记创建了一个没有工作目录的存储库,因此无法在该存储库中编辑文件和提交变更。您可以创建一个裸存储库进行 git push 和 git pull,但永远不要直接提交到该存储库。中央存储库应始终创建为裸存储库,因为将分支推送到非裸存储库可能会覆盖变更。可以将 --bare 看作是将存储库标记为存储设施的一种方式,而不是开发环境。这意味着,对于几乎所有 Git 工作流程,中央存储库都是裸存储库,而开发人员的本地存储库是非裸存储库。

Git 教程:裸存储库

git init --bare 最常见的用例是创建远程中央存储库:

ssh <user>@<host> cd path/above/repo git init --bare my-project.git

首先,您通过 SSH 连接到将包含您的中央存储库的服务器。然后,导航到想要存储项目的任何地方。最后,使用 --bare 标记来创建中央存储库。然后,开发人员将克隆 my-project.git 以在他们的开发计算机上创建本地副本。

git init 模板

git init <directory> --template=<template_directory>

初始化一个新的 Git 存储库并将文件从 复制到存储库中。

模板允许您使用预定义的 .git 子目录初始化新存储库。您可以将模板配置为具有默认目录和文件,这些目录和文件将复制到新存储库的 .git 子目录。默认 Git 模板通常位于 `/usr/share/git-core/templates` 目录中,但可能位于计算机上的不同路径。

默认模板是如何利用模板功能的良好参考和示例。默认模板中显示的模板的一个强大功能是 Git 钩子配置。您可以使用预定义的 Git 钩子创建模板,并使用随时可用的常用钩子初始化新的 git 存储库。要了解有关 Git 钩子的更多信息,请访问 Git 钩子页面

配置

git init 的所有配置都采用 参数。如果您提供 ,则命令将在其中运行。如果此目录不存在,则将创建该目录。除了已经讨论过的选项和配置外,Git init 还有其他一些命令行选项。它们的完整列表如下:

-Q

--QUIET

仅打印“紧急级别”消息、错误和警告。所有其他输出均静音。

--BARE

创建一个裸存储库。(请参阅上方的“裸存储库”部分。)

--TEMPLATE=

指定将从中使用模板的目录。(请参阅上面的“Git 初始化模板”部分。)

--SEPARATE-GIT-DIR=

创建一个包含到 路径的文本文件。此文件用作 .git 目录的链接。如果您想将您的 .git 目录存储在与项目工作文件不同的位置或硬盘上,这很有用。--separate-git-dir 的一些常见用例包括:

  • 用于在主目录中保存您的系统配置 "dotfiles"(.bashrc、.vimrc 等等),同时在其他地方保留 .git 文件夹
  • 您的 Git 历史记录已经变得非常大,您需要将其移到其他地方,到一个单独的大容量硬盘上
  • 您想在可公开访问的目录中有一个 Git 项目,比如 `www:root`

您可以在现有存储库上调用 git init --separate-git-dir,然后 .git dir 将移至指定的 路径。

--SHARED[=(FALSE|TRUE|UMASK|GROUP|ALL|WORLD|EVERYBODY|0XXX)]

设置新存储库的访问权限。这指定了允许哪些使用 UNIX 级别权限的用户和群组推送/拉取到存储库。

示例

为现有代码库创建新的 git 存储库

cd /path/to/code \ 
git init \ 
git add . \ 
git commit

新建裸存储库

git init --bare /path/to/repo.git

创建 git init 模板并从该模板初始化一个新的 git 存储库

mkdir -p /path/to/template \ 
echo "Hello World" >> /absolute/path/to/template/README \
git init /new/repo/path --template=/absolute/path/to/template \ 
cd /new/repo/path \ 
cat /new/repo/path/README

准备好了解 Git 了吗?

试用本交互式教程。

立即开始

git init

This page will explore the git init command in depth. By the end of this page you will be informed on the core functionality and extended feature set of git init. This exploration includes:

  • git init options and usage
  • .git directory overview
  •  custom git init directory environment values
  • git init vs. git clone
  • git init bare repositories
  • git init templates

The git init command creates a new Git repository. It can be used to convert an existing, unversioned project to a Git repository or initialize a new, empty repository. Most other Git commands are not available outside of an initialized repository, so this is usually the first command you'll run in a new project.

Executing git init creates a .git subdirectory in the current working directory, which contains all of the necessary Git metadata for the new repository. This metadata includes subdirectories for objects, refs, and template files. A HEAD file is also created which points to the currently checked out commit.

Aside from the .git directory, in the root directory of the project, an existing project remains unaltered (unlike SVN, Git doesn't require a .git subdirectory in every subdirectory).

By default, git init will initialize the Git configuration to the .git subdirectory path. The subdirectory path can be modified and customized if you would like it to live elsewhere. You can set the $GIT_DIR environment variable to a custom path and git init will initialize the Git configuration files there. Additionally you can pass the --separate-git-dir argument for the same result. A common use case for a separate .git subdirectory is to keep your system configuration "dotfiles" (.bashrc, .vimrc, etc.) in the home directory while keeping the .git folder elsewhere.
 

Usage

Compared to SVN, the git init command is an incredibly easy way to create new version-controlled projects. Git doesn’t require you to create a repository, import files, and check out a working copy. Additionally, Git does not require any pre-existing server or admin privileges. All you have to do is cd into your project subdirectory and run git init, and you'll have a fully functional Git repository.

git init

Transform the current directory into a Git repository. This adds a .git subdirectory to the current directory and makes it possible to start recording revisions of the project.

git init <directory>

Create an empty Git repository in the specified directory. Running this command will create a new subdirectory called containing nothing but the .git subdirectory.

If you've already run git init on a project directory and it contains a .git subdirectory, you can safely run git init again on the same project directory. It will not override an existing .git configuration.

git init vs. git clone

A quick note: git init and git clone can be easily confused. At a high level, they can both be used to "initialize a new git repository." However, git clone is dependent on git init. git clone is used to create a copy of an existing repository. Internally, git clone first calls git init to create a new repository. It then copies the data from the existing repository, and checks out a new set of working files. Learn more on the git clone page.

Bare repositories --- git init --bare

git init --bare <directory>

Initialize an empty Git repository, but omit the working directory. Shared repositories should always be created with the --bare flag (see discussion below). Conventionally, repositories initialized with the --bare flag end in .git. For example, the bare version of a repository called my-project should be stored in a directory called my-project.git.

The --bare flag creates a repository that doesn’t have a working directory, making it impossible to edit files and commit changes in that repository. You would create a bare repository to git push and git pull from, but never directly commit to it. Central repositories should always be created as bare repositories because pushing branches to a non-bare repository has the potential to overwrite changes. Think of --bare as a way to mark a repository as a storage facility, as opposed to a development environment. This means that for virtually all Git workflows, the central repository is bare, and developers local repositories are non-bare.

Git Tutorial: Bare Repositories

The most common use case for  git init --bare is to create a remote central repository:

ssh <user>@<host> cd path/above/repo git init --bare my-project.git

First, you SSH into the server that will contain your central repository. Then, you navigate to wherever you’d like to store the project. Finally, you use the --bare flag to create a central storage repository. Developers would then clone my-project.git to create a local copy on their development machine.

git init templates

git init <directory> --template=<template_directory>

Initializes a new Git repository and copies files from the  <template_directory> into the repository.

Templates allow you to initialize a new repository with a predefined .git subdirectory. You can configure a template to have default directories and files that will get copied to a new repository's .git subdirectory. The default Git templates usually reside in a `/usr/share/git-core/templates` directory but may be a different path on your machine.

The default templates are a good reference and example of how to utilize template features. A powerful feature of templates that's exhibited in the default templates is Git Hook configuration. You can create a template with predefined Git hooks and initialize your new git repositories with common hooks ready to go. Learn more about Git Hooks at the Git Hook page.

Configuration

All configurations of git init <directory> take a <directory> argument. If you provide the <directory>, the command is run inside it. If this directory does not exist, it will be created. In addition to the options and configuration already discussed, Git init has a few other command line options. A full list of them follows:

-Q

--QUIET

Only prints "critical level" messages, Errors, and Warnings. All other output is silenced.

--BARE

Creates a bare repository. (See the "Bare Repositories" section above.)

--TEMPLATE=<TEMPLATEDIRECTORY>

Specifies the directory from which templates will be used. (See the "Git Init Templates" section above.)

--SEPARATE-GIT-DIR=<GIT DIR>

Creates a text file containing the path to <git dir>. This file acts as a link to the .git directory. This is useful if you would like to store your .git directory on a separate location or drive from your project's working files. Some common use cases for --separate-git-dir are:

  • To keep your system configuration "dotfiles" (.bashrc, .vimrc, etc.) in the home directory while keeping the .git folder elsewhere
  • Your Git history has grown very large in disk size and you need to move it elsewhere to a separate high-capacity drive
  • You want to have a Git project in a publicly accessible directory like `www:root`
     

You can call git init --separate-git-dir on an existing repository and the .git dir will be moved to the specified <git dir> path.

--SHARED[=(FALSE|TRUE|UMASK|GROUP|ALL|WORLD|EVERYBODY|0XXX)] 

Set access permissions for the new repository. This specifies which users and groups using Unix-level permissions are allowed to push/pull to the repository.

Examples

Create a new git repository for an existing code base

cd /path/to/code \
git init \
git add . \
git commit

Create a new bare repository

git init --bare /path/to/repo.git

Create a git init template and initialize a new git repository from the template

mkdir -p /path/to/template \
echo "Hello World" >> /absolute/path/to/template/README \
git init /new/repo/path --template=/absolute/path/to/template \
cd /new/repo/path \
cat /new/repo/path/README

Ready to learn Git?

Try this interactive tutorial.

Get started now