Redfin + Atlassian

Redfin 借助 Atlassian Cloud 重新定义房地产行业


Redfin 徽标
行业

房地产和建筑业

地点

美洲

公司规模:

企业

用户数量:

1000

分享页面

Redfin 是美国顶级经纪网站,他们的使命是“按照有利于客户的原则重新定义房地产”。从理顺每一笔交易,到为家庭节省可观的费用,他们的团队重新打造了一家客户至上的公司。

技术一直是实现这一使命的关键。首席执行官 Glenn Kelman 称:“技术事关我们如何以更高的价格出售房屋,并收取一半的常规费用,以及为什么我们的经纪人可以说出房屋的真实状况,而不必担心搞砸销售。”例如,Redfin 一开始就发明了基于地图的搜索,让未来的房主更轻松直观地查看特定地理区域的可选房产。他们还在技术和自动化方面进行了大量投资,以提升整个流程(如初始搜索、看房、房源首发、托管等)对客户乃至其经纪人的便捷度。

Atlassian Cloud 帮助我们团队缩短了工作时间,节省了开支。

Evan Lerer

工程总监

事实上,当很多房地产科技公司只顾着把经纪人从流程中分离出来时,Redfin 的重点却是利用技术来为其提供支持。正如首席技术官 Bridget Frey 所说:“让我们的经纪人腾出手脚专注于服务。”正是公司采取的这种独特方式和产品使其成为美国顶级房地产网站,并成功上市且经历了曲棍球棒式的飞速成长。

在这个竞争激烈的市场中,能进行创新并做到客户至上就能占据主动,不创新则必定落后。正因为此,Redfin 的工程团队努力寻找能够实现精简和自动化的机遇,以便省出更多时间、预算和人力专注于为客户创新。这就是探索向更敏捷的文化和基于云的协作式解决方案进行转变的原因所在。

Redfin 过去曾用过多种工具进行开发、沟通和协作。当他们还是一家小公司时,这些工具都运作得不错。但随着员工、股权和办公室数量不断增加,由远程办公和互不相干的系统带来的挑战也随之增加。为了改善客户的房地产体验,他们需要改良自己的做法和平台。

我们的竞争对手很多,我们需要对我们的技术和时间进行精打细算。我们相信 Atlassian 能够帮助我们的团队开发世界级产品,重新定义房地产,为客户谋福利。

Evan Lerer

工程总监

经过几年的快速发展,Redfin 已经看到了目标实现的曙光。在 Atlassian 迁移服务的帮助下,公司通过敏捷式运营和 Atlassian Cloud 实施不仅直接帮助公司节省了 6 万美元,还消除了服务器维护需求,进而节省了大量宝贵的工程时间,加快了进入市场的速度。

规模化促使寻找更好的解决方案

2004 年,Redfin 刚成立时,只有一个小型工程团队,当时的情况要简单得多。每个人都可以随意选用自己喜欢的文档和沟通工具,即使需要跨团队协作也没有多大困难,因为每个项目都只需要少数几个人参与。

但后来,公司发展到 3,000 多名员工。规模小且目标明确的项目增加到了上百个,每个项目都涉及很多利益相关者,且分散在不同领域,同时还需要共同合作。随着业务量的指数级增长,新的竞争者不断涌入,蚕食着 Redfin 的业务。

随着这些变化的出现,工程团队逐渐认识到他们的流程和系统已无法满足眼下的需要了。工程总监 Evan Lerer 解释道:“之前,我们没有一个统一的地方可以获取所有信息。我们无法切实跟踪工作进度,尤其是在涉及到非工程领域的人员时。从某种程度上来说,我们需要换一种沟通和分享方式,需要用一种更好的方式来管理大型跨团队项目……我们需要一个集中式工作流程来实现这一目的,但我们现有的工具对此都无能为力。”

考虑到 Evan 及其团队成员曾出于类似的目的用过 Atlassian,而工程部多年来也一直将 Bitbucket 作为其代码存储库,因此自然而然选择了 Atlassian。当领导和工程师们看到了他们如何利用 Jira Software 创建自定义工作流并在团队间共享,以及如何利用 Confluence 进行文案操作和协作后,他们开始相信 Atlassian 一定能满足他们的需求。

在选择部署方案时,Atlassian 云成为了 Redfin 的首选。“我们在基础设施上投入了太多管理资源。我更愿意构建有助于我们改进的新玩意儿,而不是老是维护一堆旧东西“,Evan 如是说。“坦白说,让我们的工程师或 IT 专业人士管理内部系统真的是浪费金钱和时间。如果有公司已经为此开发出专业的产品,为什么不让他们来做这件事呢?这样一来,我们就能把时间用在我们擅长的事情上,减少维护和辛劳。”凭借给员工和企业带来的明显益处,Atlassian Cloud 获得了整个团队的认同。

摆脱收件箱

通过标准化和入驻 Jira Software Cloud,工程部开启了他们的实现之旅,因此他们也抓住了集成更具敏捷性的方案的机会。有几位员工曾在之前公司的敏捷团队工作,深知此项举措有助于实现更好的协作、更多的创新和更快的交付。

Evan 回忆道:“团队开始构建自己的流程,所有不同的团队都具备了这样一种敏捷思维。他们开始运行 Scrum 和看板,开始有每日短会,开始真正具备这种思维模式,而这一切都是 Atlassian 带给我们的。它真的太强大了。”

在工程部启用并运行 Jira Software 时,他们的第一个愿望便是创建可重复的敏捷工作流。于是,他们搭建起这个系统,让工程师们可以从其待办事项中轻松提取长篇故事、故事和任务,以便在每个冲刺期间处理。这些标准化集中式工作流可在各个团队之间共享,让大家很清楚地了解哪些事务正在进行,哪些事务已经完成,既节省了时间,也让交接工作更为顺畅。

Redfin 还利用某些功能和集成来改善沟通和速度。例如,他们会利用 Jira Software 的标记功能在他们需要了解或回应某个事务时,通知组织的全体员工(如支持人员或客户支持团队)。他们还整合了 Slack,在某个工作单有更新时,查看实时提醒,并允许用户直接在 Slack 中评论、编辑或新建工作单。此类改进简化了沟通,也缓解了员工收件箱过载的问题。”“电子邮件是什么?”Evan 开起了玩笑,我几乎都不看邮件了。”

Atlassian 团队提供的支持与应急帮助令人赞叹。一切都恰到好处,远远超出了我们的预期。

Greg Lee

Evan 说,建好新的工作流后,他们将目标转向 Confluence,以求“解决文档混乱的问题”。工程部身先士卒,先从自己的部门开始,将其所有文档都转移到 Confluence。IT 部门在见证 Confluence 让工程部的工作变得如此轻松后,也要求使用。现在,IT 部门将从入职到文档编写,再到协作的一切事务都搬到了这个平台上。

Evan 称:“Confluence 是我们所有工作的关键。新员工入职第一天就要登录 Confluence,学习一些材料。‘我要如何设置我的开发工具包?’‘我要如何开展工作?’无论需要什么信息,这里都能找到。”

有了更加敏捷的、基于云的开发生态系统和集中式文档系统,Redfin 很快发现其团队的工作与协作效率比以往任何时候都更高了。

回归云端

Redfin 的团队最初选择云部署是为了腾出更多精力用于创新而非管理。随着时间的推移,公司的员工数和 Atlassian 应用的不断增加,他们最终达到了之前 1,000 个用户的限制。为了继续扩展以满足业务需求,团队转而开始使用 Atlassian Data Center。幸运的是,几年后,Atlassian Cloud 的用户数限制提高了,Redfin 也如他们所说,率先排队“回归云端”。迁移能够提升效率,节省资金,还能让他们再次将更多资源用于创新而非服务器维护。

为确保顺利迁移和成功设置其云实例,Redfin 与 Atlassian 支持部门协同工作,以便获得指导和进行故障排除。他们还希望同时将其定制的单点登录解决方案与 Atlassian Access 集成,以期简化用户配置与管理工作。

Confluence 是我们所有工作的关键。

Evan Lerer

工程总监

在两个团队启动后,Atlassian Cloud 迁移经理和迁移支持工程师也开始制定迁移计划,利用 Confluence Cloud Migration Assistant 和其他查询清理服务器实例,并与 Atlassian Access 和其他 Atlassian 团队一同确保设置正确。每隔一周,Atlassian 和 Redfin 都会开会,讨论进展情况,解决出现的所有问题,并计划后续工作。启动会议结束后仅五个月,Redfin 的云解决方案就已准备就绪。

迁移过程非常迅速,且毫无障碍。“Atlassian 团队提供的支持与应急帮助令人惊叹。一切都恰到好处,远远超出了我们的预期。”系统管理员 Greg Lee 评价道。IT 开发与运营高级经理 Alasdair Thomson 补充道:“能够如此贴近迁移工具的快速发展真的太棒了。拥有一个专门的团队真的很棒。我完全没有意见。”

履行以客户为中心的使命

完成迁移后,Redfin 看到了当前运营中无可辩驳的改进,也更加坚信他们有能力彻底颠覆房地产行业了。短短几个月内便节省成本 6 万多美元,如果算上人力节省,总体拥有成本下降更多。Evan 解释称:“如果要让工程师投入八分之一或二分之一的精力用于管理我们的基础设施,相比一年的许可费,这个成本真的太高了。Atlassian Cloud 帮助我们团队缩短了工作时间,节省了开支。”

Evan 称:“很多人,包括我自己,都是在为实现 Redfin 的使命和价值观而工作。其中的关键不仅在于开发酷炫的技术,更是为了切实帮助客户。”“这才是我们改进技术的更大原因。我们的竞争对手很多,我们需要对我们的技术和时间进行精打细算。我们相信 Atlassian 能够帮助我们的团队开发世界级产品,重新定义房地产,为客户谋福利。

您有没有考虑过迁移到云?

VSCO 徽标

转向订阅业务的照片应用 VSCO 找到了实现透明、高效和团队合作的秘诀。

Fugro 徽标

Fugro 使用 Atlassian 的云产品持续专注于创新

invision 徽标

InVision 如何借助 Atlassian 和 Slack 实现工具集中化并扩展其远程团队

Close
Redfin + Atlassian

Redfin redefines real estate with Atlassian cloud


Redfin logo
Industry

Real estate

Locations

North America

Company size:

3,000+

Number of Users:

1,000

Share Page

Redfin, America's top brokerage site, is on a mission to “redefine real estate in the customer's favor.” From making every transaction smoother to saving families thousands in fees, their team has built a customer-first company from the ground up.

Technology has been the key to achieving this mission. According to CEO Glenn Kelman, “Technology is how we sell homes for more money and charge half the typical fee, and why our agents can tell the truth about a home without worrying about scuttling a sale.” For example, Redfin got its start inventing map-based search, making it easier for prospective homeowners to visualize the properties available in specific geographic areas. They have also invested heavily in technology and automation to make the whole process (e.g., initial search, home tours, listing debuts, escrow, etc.) faster and easier for customers, as well as their agents.

Atlassian cloud saves our team time, which saves us money.

Evan Lerer

Director of Engineering

In fact, while many real estate tech firms are solely focused on cutting agents out of the process, Redfin’s core business is using technology to support them and, as CTO Bridget Frey puts it, “free our agents to focus on service.” As a result of their unique approach and products, the company has become the top real estate website in the U.S., gone public, and experienced hockey-stick growth.

In a hyper-competitive market that’s in the midst of disruption, those who innovate and take a customer-first approach will get ahead, and those who don’t will get left behind. That’s why Redfin’s engineering team looks for any opportunity to streamline and automate: so they have more time, budget, and brainpower to focus on innovating for their customers. This was the catalyst for exploring a move to a more agile culture and collaborative, cloud-based solutions. 

Redfin had used a variety of tools for development, communication, and collaboration in the past, which worked fine when they were a small company. But as the staff, stakes, and number of offices grew, so did the challenges that come along with remote work and disparate systems. To transform the real estate experience for their customers, they needed to transform their own practices and platforms. 

We have large competitors, and we need to be smart about the technologies we use and where we spend our time. We trust Atlassian to help our team deliver world-class products that redefine real estate in the customer’s favor.

Evan Lerer

Director of Engineering

Fast forward a few years, and Redfin is now well on their way to accomplishing that goal. Since going agile and implementing Atlassian cloud with the help of Atlassian's migration services, the company has not only captured $60,000 in immediate savings, but also freed up valuable engineering time – once spent maintaining servers – to increase their speed to market. 

Scaling sparks a search for a better solution

When Redfin launched in 2004 with a small engineering team, times were much simpler. Each employee could use whichever documentation and communication tools they liked most, and it wasn’t hard to collaborate – even across teams – because there were only a few people involved in each project. 

But then, the company grew to more than 3,000 employees. Small, focused projects multiplied to hundreds, each with many stakeholders scattered across disciplines, all needing to work together. And on top of this exponential growth, new competitors are constantly entering the market, nipping at Redfin’s heels.

With all of these changes converging, the engineering team grew to understand their processes and systems weren’t cutting it anymore. “Before, there wasn’t a unified place to get anything. We couldn’t really track where the work was, especially when people who are not in engineering are involved,” explains Director of Engineering Evan Lerer. “At a certain point, we needed a different level of communication and sharing, and a better way to manage big, cross-team projects….We needed a centralized workflow to enable that, and none of the tools we had could do it.”

Since Evan and other team members had used Atlassian for similar purposes in the past, and engineering has relied on Bitbucket as a code repository for years, Atlassian was a natural fit. Once leaders and engineers saw how they could use Jira Software to create custom workflows and share them across teams, along with Confluence for documentation and collaboration, they were confident Atlassian would meet their needs. 

When it came time to choose a deployment, Atlassian cloud was Redfin’s first choice. “We are managing too much of our own infrastructure. I would much rather be building new things that help us improve than maintaining old things,” Evan says. “Frankly, having our engineers or IT professionals manage our systems on-premise is a waste of time and money. If there’s a company that already has amazing products, why not have them do it? That way, we can spend our time working on the things that we're good at and reduce maintenance and toil.” With clear advantages for employees and the business, the team agreed Atlassian cloud was the way to go. 

Thinking outside the inbox

As engineering started their implementation by standardizing and onboarding onto Jira Software Cloud, they seized the opportunity to integrate a more agile approach too. Several employees had worked on agile teams at previous companies and knew the practices could support better collaboration, more innovation, and faster delivery. 

“Teams started building their own processes, and it created this agile mindset across all the different teams,” Evan recalls. “They started running scrum and kanban. They started having standups. They started really moving into that mindset, and Atlassian helped us get there. It was really powerful.”

As engineering got Jira Software up and running, the first item on their wish list was creating repeatable, agile workflows. They set up the system to make it easy for engineers to pull in epics, stories, and tasks from their backlog to work on during each sprint. These standardized, centralized workflows can be shared across teams to provide visibility into what’s being worked on and what’s been completed, save time, and make handoffs smoother. 

Redfin also leveraged several features and integrations to improve communication and speed. For example, they use Jira Software’s tagging feature to notify employees throughout the organization (such as the agent or customer support teams) when they need to know about or respond to an issue. They also integrated Slack to see real-time alerts whenever an update is made to a ticket and enable users to comment, edit, or create new tickets right in Slack. Improvements like these have streamlined communication and relieved employees from inbox overload. “What is email?” Evan jokes. “I barely even check it anymore.”

The amount of support and the level of urgency from the Atlassian team was awesome. Nothing was ever too much, and they far exceeded our expectations.

Greg Lee

Once their new workflows were established, Evan says they turned to Confluence to “solve a documentation mess.” Engineering started with their own department and transferred all of their documentation into Confluence. When IT saw how Confluence made life easier for engineering, they asked to use it too. Now, IT uses the platform for everything from onboarding to documenting to collaborating. 

“Confluence is our linchpin for everything,” Evan says. “On their first day of work, new hires who are onboarding go to Confluence and start reading. ‘How do I set up my dev box?’ ‘How do I get my work going?’ Whatever they want to know, it’s all there.”

With a more agile, cloud-based development ecosystem and a centralized documentation system, Redfin quickly saw their teams working faster and collaborating more effectively than ever before. 

Coming home to the cloud

Redfin’s team initially chose a cloud deployment so they could focus more on innovation and less on administration. As the company’s headcount and Atlassian adoption increased over time, they eventually reached the old 1,000-user limit. To continue scaling with the needs of their business, the team switched to Atlassian Data Center. Fortunately, user limits increased for Atlassian cloud a few years later, and Redfin was first in line to, as they say, “come home to cloud.” The migration would boost efficiency, save money, and enable them to once again dedicate even more resources to innovation instead of server maintenance.

To support a smooth migration and set up their cloud instances for success, Redfin partnered with Atlassian Support for guidance and troubleshooting. They also wanted to concurrently integrate their custom single sign-on solution with Atlassian Access to make user provisioning and management easier.

Confluence is our linchpin for everything.

Evan Lerer

Director of Engineering

After a kickoff with both teams, an Atlassian Cloud Migration Manager and Migration Support Engineer started working on a migration plan, leveraging Confluence Cloud Migration Assistant and other queries to clean up the Server instance, and collaborating with the Atlassian Access and other Atlassian teams to ensure proper setup. Every other week, Atlassian and Redfin met to discuss progress, solve any issues that arose, and plan next steps. Just five months after the kickoff meeting, Redfin’s cloud solution was ready to launch.

The migration was fast and painless. “The amount of support and the level of urgency from the Atlassian team was awesome. Nothing was ever too much, and they far exceeded our expectations,” said Systems Administrator Greg Lee. Alasdair Thomson, Senior Manager of IT Development and Operations, added, ”It was nice being so close to fast-moving development of the migration tools. A dedicated team is a really nice thing to have. I wouldn’t change a thing.”

Delivering on a customer-focused mission

Since completing the migration, Redfin has seen undeniable improvements in their current operations and has even more confidence in their ability to change real estate forever. Cost savings topped $60,000 within just a few months, and total cost of ownership has decreased even more when accounting for labor savings. “If I'm spending one-eighth or one-half of an engineer managing our infrastructure, that's a very high number compared to a year's worth of licensing,” Evan explains. “Atlassian cloud saves our team time, which saves us money.” 

“A lot of people, including myself, work here for Redfin’s mission and values. It's not just about building cool technology. It’s really about helping the customer,” Evan says. “That's the bigger reason for the technical improvements we’re making. We have large competitors, and we need to be smart about the technologies we use and where we spend our time. We trust Atlassian to help our team deliver world-class products that redefine real estate in the customer’s favor.”

Have you considered a move to cloud?

VSCO logo

VSCO, the photo app turned subscription business, has found the secret formula for transparency, efficiency, and teamwork.

Fugro logo

Fugro keeps focus on innovation with Atlassian's cloud products

Invision logo

How InVision centralized their tools and scaled their remote team with Atlassian and Slack