Nextiva + Atlassian

迁移到 Atlassian Cloud 后,我们有了更多时间来专注于优化自己的软件,而非维护内部基础设施。

50

TBD

迁移至 Atlassian Cloud 每年可节省的成本

一个平台,无缝衔接:Nextiva 如何利用 Atlassian Cloud 进行扩展和交付

Nextiva, a leading business communications company, delivers one of the best cloud phone systems on the market, along with award-winning service. In addition to receiving dozens of accolades, including a record four Stevie® Awards for Sales & Customer Service in one year, the company maintains a 94% customer satisfaction rating, and 90% of customers say they would recommend Nextiva to others – a direct result of putting service and support at the core of their culture.

客户之所以选择 Nextiva,是因为 Nextiva 致力于提供一流的服务,并解决 VoIP 技术的一个常见问题,即通常要花费太多时间和财力来管理多个团队的多个通信平台。Nextiva 肩负着解决这一问题的使命,其解决方式是“构建商业与技术合作方式的未来。一个平台,一个工作空间,零摩擦”。

该公司的员工人数在三年内几乎翻了一番,管理内部工具需要花费更多的时间、精力和资源。此外,在不同系统之间来回切换降低了员工的工作效率,因此导致越来越难提供预期的卓越服务。为了保持竞争力,也为了对客户保持其卓越的性能与可靠性,他们需要一个成熟的开发和服务解决方案。

在搭建起一个基于云的集中化集成生态系统后,Nextiva 显著提高了其团队的工作效率和系统性能,同时每年至少节省 100 个小时和高达 10 万美元的软件成本。在加快速度并节省成本之后,团队终于可以从容地专注于为客户提供价值,而不用费心管理内部流程和技术。而这正是帮助其继续扩大规模,同时维持卓越服务的重大进步。

集中力量,平息纷乱

2017 年年底,高级 Atlassian 解决方案专家在刚刚加入 Nextiva 的时候,就对公司的快速发展倍感兴奋。他回忆道:“我们所经历的增长速度非常惊人。当时就只想坚持下去,尽快完成尽可能多的工作,强行进入市场,占据一席之地。于此同时,业务和创新却快速将你包围。”

为了保持势头,最大限度提高协作,以便更快提供前瞻性解决方案,Nextiva 对敏捷转型进行投资,同时在世界各地设立团队。向敏捷转型,尤其是在分散的团队间向敏捷转型,面临着各种新的挑战:怎样才能让工具集和敏捷实践步调一致,进而支持协作、沟通、灵活性和持续改进?我们要如何确保全球团队获得一致且支持充分的体验,就像大家都在同一个屋檐下工作一样?

Nextiva 的员工可自由使用各种工具,但他们缺少能完全满足所有人需求的解决方案。技术部门可以使用 Confluence 和 Jira Software Server(在 AWS 上自行托管),但由于没能定期维护硬件和软件,所以存在性能和安全问题。因此,员工选择使用电子邮件、零散文档和其他自选工具。由此,信息难以有序地进行组织,对其进行访问也十分不便。

Josh 刚加入团队时,Nextiva 软件工程副总裁 James Charles 要求他将所有人整合到一个核心集成平台,让各个团队在这个平台上相互沟通、记录信息和管理项目,从而解决这些问题。这位副总裁是 Atlassian 的支持者,Josh 作为 Atlassian 顾问和管理员,也有着丰富的经验。再加上他们曾经有过合作经历,而且 Nextiva 已经部署 Confluence 和 Jira Software(尽管没有得到充分利用),所以最终的选择很简单。

迁移至 Atlassian Cloud 后,我们每年至少节省了 5 到 10 万美元。”

Josh Costella
高级 Atlassian 解决方案专家

无处不在的 DevOps 与 ITSM 解决方案

接下来的四个月里,Josh 与他的团队努力为整个组织搭建并起用 Atlassian。他们首先将文档和知识共享整合到 Confluence 上,并帮助 IT 部门将项目管理和事务跟踪从 Rally 迁移到 Jira Software。

Josh 解释道:“Rally 面临的最大挑战是我们缺少管理员,而且其组织方式也不太合理。我们需要一个更好的结构来分派工作、完成报告,并且跟踪团队和进度”。为了应对这些挑战,他带领其部门与 Atlassian 建立合作,将开发和 IT 运营系统与团队整合到一起。

采用 DevOps 实践和工具通常能实现更优的协作、速度、节余、稳定性和其他重大利好,但同时也会带来新的挑战,比如更多的会议、手动更新和背景环境切换。为了最大限度地扬长避短,Nextiva 将 Bitbucket 与 Jira Software 整合到一起,因此开发人员不仅可以存储和部署代码,还可以将工作单分配给他人,且无需退出 Bitbucket 也可查看评论。高级 DevOps 工程师 Kyle Gengler 指出:“能在 Jira 中构建工作流程,并查看这些事务与 Bitbucket 中所发生情况的联系非常重要。对我来说,其中一大好处就在于能够在提交消息中添加带有 Jira 事务的实际提交。”

Josh 看到了 Atlassian 也许能对其他团队有所帮助,于是与 Atlassian 解决方案专家 Catherine White 和高级项目经理 Jen Lang 建立合作,将 Jira Software 与 Opsgenie 和 Jira Service Desk 结合起来,从而实现更具结构化、更简化的事件和变更管理流程。现在,每当员工向支持部门提交事件时,请求者必须指定事件的严重程度和受影响的组件。根据这些信息,Opsgenie 会通过交叉引用团队的日程安排并通知待命员工,进而自动提醒相应的 IT 运营人员。如果需要更快响应,团队成员还可将工作单上报至管理层,以确保符合服务水平协议。

在改善事件管理的基础上,Jen 和 Catherine 利用 Jira Service Desk 与自动化插件(现在是一个内置功能)来提高 Nextiva 的变更管理流程的效率。在单一工作流中,员工可以选择一个事务类型和四种变更类型之一。然后,根据指定的要求、验证程序和条件,变更工作单会自动通过工作流的不同环节。如果工作单超出最长变更时间,相关方会收到 Slack 消息,以确保团队快速进行处理。Josh 称 Jen 和 Catherine 的解决方案是“我见过的最优雅的工作流程之一”。

通过将我们的 SAML/SSO 提供商 (Okta) 与 Atlassian Access 集成,我们还成功提升了安全水平。”

Josh Costella
高级 Atlassian 解决方案专家

平稳的云迁移可确保安全性和节余

随着 Atlassian 在 Nextiva 内部的使用范围不断扩大,Josh 的团队开始提前规划,以适应当前的增长与未来的扩展。他回忆道:“我们深知将基础设施和性能需求翻倍实际上也会导致成本和工作量翻倍。我们面临着这样的选择:要么迁移到 Data Center 来扩大规模,但这样会产生更高的成本和工作量;要么依靠 Atlassian 来满足我们所有的托管需求,让我们能够安心地向前发展。最终,我们选择了后者。”

接下来几个月,Josh、Catherine 以及他们的团队都一直在为云迁移做准备:他们清理工作空间和插件、重写脚本,并且设定新的流程,以期在启动后取得成功。这次过渡也为启用 Atlassian Access 和 Okta 从而实现单点登录、简化用户配置和增强安全性提供了的最佳契机。

因为迁移前已经做好了清理和测试,所以不到 24 小时就完成了迁移。Josh 说:“我们的首席技术官 Phil Steitz 说,在他见证的四次云迁移中,这次迁移是最顺利的。”

整合了技术并迁移到云后,系统性能大幅提升,Nextiva 对此甚感惊喜。Catherine 说:“所有工具的稳定性和性能提升后,大家也更加安心了。例如,我们有一些相当复杂的 EazyBI 报告,涉及大量资源密集型计算,过去经常导致超时。迁移之后,我们就从未发生过超时了。”

正如大家所期盼的那样,迁移至 Atlassian Cloud 后,Nextiva 的扩展能力得到了释放,同时还节省了时间和开支。DevOps 经理 Chris Haley 表示:“对于我们团队,通过迁移至 Atlassian Cloud 获得的最大好处之一就是我们不必再维护自己的服务器了。我们因此有了更多时间来专注于优化自己的软件,而非维护内部基础设施。”Josh 补充道,软件成本也因此大幅降低,因为他们只需为自己需要的东西付费。“迁移至 Atlassian Cloud 后,我们每年至少节省了 5 到 10 万美元。”

能够在 Jira 中构建工作流程,并查看这些事务与 Bitbucket 中所发生情况的联系非常重要。对我来说,其中一大好处就在于能够在提交消息中添加带有 Jira 事务的实际提交。”

Kyle Gengler
高级 DevOps 工程师

一个平台,零摩擦

现在,Nextiva 已经从各种部署上的不同工具整合到了一个端到端的 Atlassian Cloud 平台,而这家公司也拥有了 Atlassian 为客户提供的相同优势:一个平台,零摩擦。

他们统一且稳定的 Atlassian 解决方案生态系统为他们开辟了跟踪工作和进度、分享知识、跨团队和部门开展协作的新途径。此外,Nextiva 还非常灵活,可以根据自己的确切需求定制解决方案,这不仅提高了眼下的团队合作、透明度、安全性和性能,还为未来轻松扩展奠定了基础。

最重要的是,Nextiva 将他们的基础设施规模扩大了一倍,并实施了这些改进,同时释放了时间、预算和人力来专注于他们的使命:提供世界级通信解决方案和令人惊叹的客户服务。Josh 表示:“Nextiva 以‘简单’作为其中一个核心价值观。Atlassian 产品套件及其强大集成有助于确保我们始终践行这一价值观。Nextiva 全公司上下不乏各种流程和程序,而这些工具能帮助我们保持简洁,这样公司便可专注于为客户提供价值,而不必操心管理流程。”

各类团队纷纷实现新效率

看到开发和 IT 部门的改进之后,Nextiva 各部门都开始利用 Atlassian 来实现新效率,并在自己的团队中提供更好的服务。

Confluence 是组织内最早推广的解决方案之一。Catherine 说:“Confluence 从一个只有技术部门使用的工具变成了全公司都在使用的企业工具。它让我们所有团队和部门能在同一个地方记录、跟踪并在 Nextiva 内外开展协作。”

Jira Software 可充当一个统一平面,并提供了影响深远的可见性。团队可在该平面上完成从管理内部支持和活动,到员工差旅,再到教育和培训请求的各项事务。此外,所有支持部门(技术部内外)、运营部门、人力资源部门、客户解决方案工程部门、设计部门和行政部门也都在使用 Jira Service Desk 及其与其他 Atlassian 工具的集成来快速提交、跟踪和处理服务请求。

信息技术基础设施经理 Max Hurst 称:“有了 Atlassian 集成与自动化,我们的团队无需花费太多时间在应用程序间来回切换了。还有一点便是我们能够与组织其他成员共享一个平台,由此提高了我们的工作效率。”Catherine 补充道:“手握各种集成,并确保所有工作都能无缝衔接真的很有帮助。它让每个人的生活都更加轻松了。”

下一个故事
Redfin 徽标
Redfin

Redfin 借助 Atlassian Cloud 重新定义房地产行业

下一个故事
Lucid Motors 徽标
Lucid

Lucid Motors 将其新的汽车品牌托付于 Atlassian

迈出下一步

您有没有考虑过迁移到云?

Nextiva + Atlassian

By moving to Atlassian cloud, we have freed up our time so that we can focus on improving our own software instead of babysitting on-premise infrastructure.

50

TBD

Annual cost savings by moving to Atlassian Cloud

One platform, zero friction: How Nextiva uses Atlassian cloud to scale and deliver

Nextiva, a leading business communications company, delivers one of the best cloud phone systems on the market, along with award-winning service. In addition to receiving dozens of accolades, including a record four Stevie® Awards for Sales & Customer Service in one year, the company maintains a 94% customer satisfaction rating, and 90% of customers say they would recommend Nextiva to others – a direct result of putting service and support at the core of their culture.

Customers choose Nextiva because of this commitment to providing top-notch service and addressing a common problem with VoIP technology: the amount of time and money that’s typically required to manage multiple communication platforms across multiple teams. Nextiva is on a mission to solve this problem by “building the future of how business and technology work together. One platform, one workspace, zero friction.” 

The company almost doubled its workforce in three years, and it was taking more time, effort, and resources to manage their internal tools. Plus, switching back and forth between systems hindered employee productivity and made it increasingly difficult to deliver the exceptional service expected from them. To stay competitive and maintain superior performance and reliability for their customers, they needed mature development and service solutions for themselves. 

Since building a centralized, integrated, cloud-based ecosystem, Nextiva has significantly improved their team’s efficiency and system performance, while saving at least 100 hours and up to $100,000 in software costs each year. With greater speed and savings, the team finally has the freedom to focus on delivering value for customers instead of managing internal processes and technology – a key advancement that will help them continue to scale while maintaining their stellar service.

Centralizing to calm the chaos

When Senior Atlassian Solutions Specialist Josh Costella joined Nextiva in late 2017, he was excited about the company’s rapid growth. “Growth at the rate we were experiencing is astonishing,” he recalls. “You’re just trying to hang on and get as much done as quickly as possible, force your way into the market, and get a stronghold while the business and innovation move quickly around you.”

To harness their momentum and maximize collaboration to deliver forward-thinking solutions faster, Nextiva invested in agile transformation while building out teams around the world. Going agile – especially across distributed teams – posed all sorts of new challenges: How can we align our toolset with our agile practices to support collaboration, communication, flexibility, and continuous improvement? And how do we ensure our global teams have a consistent, fully supported experience as if we were all under the same roof?

Nextiva’s staff had tools at their disposal, but they didn’t have one solution that fully met everyone’s needs. The Technology department had access to Confluence and Jira Software Server (self-hosted on AWS), but there were performance and security concerns because the hardware and software weren’t regularly maintained. Consequently, employees opted to use email, scattered documents, and other tools of their choice. This made it difficult to keep information organized and easily accessible.

When Josh joined the team, James Charles, Nextiva’s VP of Software Engineering, tasked him with solving these problems by unifying everyone on a central, integrated platform where teams could communicate with each other, document information, and manage projects. The VP was a proponent of Atlassian, and Josh had extensive experience as an Atlassian consultant and admin. Couple their collective history with the fact that Confluence and Jira Software were already in place (albeit underutilized) at Nextiva, and the choice was simple.

We are saving at least $50,000-100,000 per year by moving to Atlassian cloud.”

Josh Costella
Senior Atlassian Solutions Specialist

A wall-to-wall DevOps and ITSM solution

For the next four months, Josh worked diligently with his team to set up and onboard the entire organization to Atlassian. They began by consolidating documentation and knowledge sharing onto Confluence, and helping IT move from Rally to Jira Software for project management and issue tracking. 

“The biggest challenges with Rally were that we didn’t have an admin, and there wasn’t a lot of rhyme or reason to how it was organized. We needed a better structure for spreading the work around, reporting, and tracking teams and progress,” Josh explains. To address these challenges, he worked with his department and Atlassian to bring Development and IT Operations’ systems and teams together. 

Adopting DevOps practices and tools often leads to better collaboration, speed, savings, stability, and other significant benefits. It can also create new challenges, such as more meetings, manual updates, and context switching. To maximize the pros and minimize the cons, Nextiva integrated Bitbucket with Jira Software, so developers can not only store and deploy code, but also assign tickets to others and view comments without leaving Bitbucket. Senior DevOps Engineer Kyle Gengler says, “Being able to build out workflows in Jira and then see how those issues tie in to what’s happening in Bitbucket has been huge. One of the biggest benefits for me is having actual commits with the Jira issue in the commit message.”

Seeing the potential for Atlassian to benefit other teams, Josh partnered with Atlassian Solutions Specialist Catherine White and Senior Project Manager Jen Lang to combine Jira Software with Opsgenie and Jira Service Desk for more structured, streamlined incident and change management processes. Now, whenever an employee submits an incident to Support, the requestor must designate the severity of the incident and the components affected. Based on that information, Opsgenie automatically alerts the right IT Operations staff by cross-referencing the team’s schedule and notifying on-call employees. Team members can also escalate tickets to Management if a faster response is needed to ensure service level agreements are met. 

On top of improving incident management, Jen and Catherine leveraged Jira Service Desk with the Automation plugin (now a built-in feature) to make Nextiva’s change management process more efficient. Within a single workflow, employees can select an issue type and one of four change types. The change ticket is then automatically routed through different parts of the workflow based on specified requirements, validators, and conditions. Slack messages are also triggered to the right parties if a ticket exceeds the maximum change time so a team member can address it quickly. Josh calls Jen and Catherine’s solution “one of the most elegant workflows I’ve ever seen.”

We’ve also been able to improve our level of security with the integration of our SAML/SSO provider (Okta) and Atlassian Access.”

Josh Costella
Senior Atlassian Solutions Specialist

A smooth cloud migration brings security and savings

As Atlassian usage expanded throughout Nextiva, Josh’s team started planning ahead to accommodate current growth and future scaling. “We knew that to virtually double our infrastructure and performance needs, we would also be doubling the cost and effort,” he recalls. “We were faced with a choice: Scale ourselves by moving to Data Center, which would incur higher costs and effort, or depend on Atlassian for all of our hosting needs and have peace of mind moving forward. We chose the latter.”

For the next few months, Josh, Catherine, and their teams prepared for the cloud migration by cleaning up their workspaces and plugins, rewriting scripts, and putting new processes in place to set themselves up for success post-launch. The transition also presented the perfect time to implement Atlassian Access and Okta for single sign-on, easier user provisioning, and enhanced security. 

Thanks to their pre-migration cleanup and testing, the migration was completed in less than 24 hours. Josh says, “Our CTO, Phil Steitz, said, out of the four cloud migrations he’s seen, this one went the smoothest.”

Nextiva has been pleasantly surprised by the system performance improvements since consolidating technology and moving to the cloud. “There’s definitely more peace of mind around the stability and performance of all our tools,” Catherine says. “For example, we have some fairly complex EazyBI reports with significant resource-intensive calculations, which caused timeouts. We haven’t experienced a timeout since migrating.”

As they hoped, making the switch to Atlassian cloud has unleashed Nextiva’s ability to scale while saving time and money. DevOps Manager Chris Haley says,“One of the biggest wins for our team is that, by moving to Atlassian cloud, we don’t have to maintain our own servers anymore. That has freed up our time so that we can focus on improving our own software instead of babysitting on-premise infrastructure.” Josh adds that software costs are way down as well because they’re only paying for what they need. “We are saving at least $50,000-100,000 per year by moving to Atlassian cloud.” 

Being able to build out workflows in Jira and then see how those issues tie in to what’s happening in Bitbucket has been huge. One of the biggest benefits for me is having actual commits with the Jira issue in the commit message.”

Kyle Gengler
Senior DevOps Engineer

One platform, zero friction

Now that Nextiva has consolidated from disparate tools on a variety of deployments to an end-to-end Atlassian cloud platform, the company has the same advantage they provide their customers: one platform, zero friction. 

Their unified, stable ecosystem of Atlassian solutions has opened up new ways to track their work and progress, share knowledge, and collaborate across teams and departments. And with so much flexibility to customize the solutions to their exact needs, Nextiva has not only increased teamwork, transparency, security, and performance today, but also laid a foundation to scale with ease in the future. 

Best of all, Nextiva has doubled their infrastructure and unlocked these improvements while freeing up time, budget, and brainpower to focus on their mission: delivering world-class communications solutions and amazing customer service. “One of Nextiva’s core values is ‘Simplicity.’ The Atlassian suite of products and their powerful integrations help us ensure we always adhere to that value,” Josh says. “We have no shortage of processes and procedures throughout Nextiva, and these tools allow us to maintain simplicity so the company can focus on delivering value for our customers instead of managing processes.”

Diverse teams unlock new efficiencies

After seeing the improvements that Development and IT experienced, departments across Nextiva started using Atlassian to unlock new efficiencies and deliver even better service within their own teams. 

Confluence was one of the first solutions to spread across the organization. “Confluence went from a tool used just by the Technology organization to an enterprise tool used by the entire company. It’s given us a centralized place for all teams and departments to document, track, and collaborate within and across Nextiva,” says Catherine.

Jira Software serves as the unifying plane that provides overarching visibility. Teams are using it for everything from managing internal support and events, to employee travel, to education and training requests. Plus, all of Support (inside and outside of Technology), Operations, HR, Customer Solutions Engineering, Design, and Administration turn to Jira Service Desk and its integrations with other Atlassian tools for quickly submitting, tracking, and resolving service requests.

“With Atlassian’s integrations and automation, our team spends less time switching back and forth between applications,” Information Technology Infrastructure Manager Max Hurst says. “It’s also nice that we’re able to share the same platform as the rest of the organization so that we can work more efficiently.” Catherine adds, “It’s been really helpful to have all of the integrations and have everything work together fairly seamlessly. It just makes everyone’s lives easier.”

Next story
Redfin logo
Redfin

Redfin redefines real estate with Atlassian cloud

Next story
Lucid Motors logo
Lucid

Lucid Motors trusts its new car brand to Atlassian

Take the next step

Have you considered a move to cloud?