Close

Server to cloud migration guide

Use our step-by-step migration guide for resources and best practices to ensure a successful move to cloud


Phase 5: Migrate

The day is here to embark on the most highly anticipated step in the migration process. In this phase you’ll resolve any last minute issues, run your production migration, and move your users and data over to cloud. Be sure you’ve completed the pre-migration checklist and test migration before beginning this step.

Set your server to read-only

Depending on the migration strategy you chose, your users may no longer need access to your self-hosted instance. To avoid any confusion and help with the switchover, put your sites into read-only mode prior to migrating. For Confluence Server, work through each space and remove all permissions for anything other than read. There is no explicit "read-only" mode in Jira Server, but you can do it manually by creating a permission scheme that only allows "browse" permission and applying it to all projects. Update your site-wide banners for Jira and Confluence stating that your site is now read-only during the migration.

If you have users continuing to work in server after the migration, be sure to remove this setting after your migration is complete.