Close

我们的漏洞管理方法


Atlassian 处理安全漏洞的方法

Atlassian 认识到,安全漏洞在某种程度上是任何软件开发过程中固有的组成部分。不过,我们一直致力于降低自有产品和服务中漏洞的严重程度和发生频率。

为此,我们将自动流程和手动流程相结合,制定了一种多管齐下的漏洞管理方法。在我们看来,这是一种最为有效的方法,可以限制漏洞“从指缝间溜走”长时间逍遥法外的可能性。

本文概述了我们如何管理产品和基础设施中的漏洞,以及如何通过整合最新的工具、方法和思维来不断改进我们的漏洞处理方法,确保这种方法在未来依然有效。

漏洞识别与解决过程概述

无论哪一种漏洞,我们都有一个有条不紊的流程来进行识别、跟踪和解决。

持续资产发现和归属

持续内部资产发现 – 我们使用内部构建系统,通过 AWsConfig 清点所有 EC2 和负载均衡器 AWS Asset,并将其归属于正确的负责人。我们保留一年价值的资产,总额为 5000 万至 6000 万。

持续外部资产发现 - 我们使用 Assetnote 在外部边界进行持续的资产发现和安全分析。

识别漏洞

我们使用一系列出类拔萃的漏洞检测工具,在我们的产品和基础设施中定期运行来自动扫描和识别漏洞。这包括 Atlassian Cloud 和 Server 产品、Docker 应用程序镜像、内部、移动和第三方应用程序,以及我们部署于内部和云端的基础设施。这些工具会自动扫描和识别存在的漏洞,包括:

  • 网络扫描 – 我们目前将 Nexpose 用作首选的漏洞管理工具,该工具可帮助识别我们环境中活跃的服务、开放的端口和运行的应用程序,以及存在于网络级别的所有漏洞。
  • 容器镜像扫描 – 我们使用 Docker 容器来部署各种应用。我们会进行全面安全扫描,在容器部署到我们的生产环境或预生产环境中时对容器的内容进行深深度检测。为此,我们使用了一款名为 Snyk 的工具。本页稍后将提供更多详细信息。
  • 开源依赖项扫描 – 我们使用 SourceClear 来识别开源代码或第三方代码中可能存在的所有漏洞。本文稍后将提供更多详细信息。
  • AWS 配置监控 - 我们使用 Trend Micro Cloud One - Conformity ,基于我们 AWS 环境的既定基准进行持续配置监控。

我们不断地审核可用的最新工具,如果认为它们能增强我们的漏洞检测能力,就会将其添加到我们使用的套件中。

除了运行自动化扫描外,我们还利用一系列其他手段来识别漏洞。其中包括:

缺陷赏金计划 – 通过 Bugcrowd 运行我们的缺陷赏金计划。通过 Bugcrowd,我们能够借助这个可信专家社区中 数万名网络安全研究人员 的力量,不断测试我们的产品,并报告发现的任何漏洞。我们的缺陷赏金计划在 2018 年和 2019 年被评为业界最佳

客户和用户报告 – 我们产品的用户可以随时通过 Atlassian 支持报告遇到的任何缺陷。接到报告后,我们会与他们联系以收集所有必要的详细信息,从而在内部标记并修复漏洞(需要进行验证,以确保漏洞是真实的,而不是误报)。这也包括 Atlassian 员工,他们可以直接与安全团队联系或提交支持工作单,报告他们在我们产品中观察到的任何问题(无论是外部还是内部)。

外部渗透测试 - 我们邀请专业安全咨询机构对高风险产品和基础设施进行白盒和代码辅助渗透测试。有关更多详细信息,请参见“我们的外部安全测试方法”。

Atlassian 产品安全团队 - 我们会完成定向代码审查(包括手动和工具辅助),并与我们的产品开发团队密切合作,以加强他们在代码送达我们之前自行检测和解决漏洞的能力。

Atlassian 红色团队 – 我们在内部设立一个红色团队,负责模拟试图识别和利用我们系统、流程和环境中漏洞的对手,确保尽快识别和解决这些漏洞。

跟踪和解决漏洞

为了最大限度地提高漏洞管理计划的效率和成效,我们将漏洞识别流程与集中的内部工作单系统以及相集成。具体而言,不论漏洞是通过某一款扫描工具还是上述其他手段识别的,我们都会为每个漏洞创建一个专门的请求单,并根据我们在 安全错误修复政策 中发布的 SLO 分配给相关产品团队以进行解决。

我们的安全团队负责监督此流程,并与产品和基础设施团队合作,以确保漏洞的准确性,解答补救问题,同时确保所有漏洞都根据我们的 SLO 承诺得以解决。

漏洞修复程序开发出来后会经过全面测试。然后,对于云产品,它会整合到我们的 CI/CD 管道以进行部署。对于服务器和数据中心产品,它将进入新发布版本中,并根据我们的标准发布节奏定期与其他修复程序一起部署。当后续重新扫描找不到漏洞时,扫描工具的漏洞工作单将自动关闭。当修复程序部署到生产后,产品、基础设施或安全团队成员会关闭手动发现的漏洞工作单。

在开发过程中预防漏洞

容器镜像扫描

Atlassian 的大部分应用程序是使用 Docker 容器镜像来部署的。Docker 容器提供了一个封装的独立环境,包含相关的系统库、工具、配置设置和任何其他所需的依赖项,可以让我们的产品在运行时能够无视具体的机器配置参数。容器实际上提供了一个抽象层,将软件代码与底层基础设施分离,使我们的产品能够在不同的机器上毫无问题地运行。

容器能够部署可在各种不同环境中使用的代码,让开发人员和客户受益匪浅,但若其镜像中包含过时的或其他不安全的库或组件,它们可能会沦为安全漏洞的根源。

为解决这个问题,Atlassian 将完整的容器安全扫描流程集成到 CI/CD 管道 中,面向所有部署到我们开发、暂存或生产环境中的容器。我们使用 Snyk 开源引擎来满足此目的。Snyk 提供了一套工具,可对我们开发人员部署的任何容器镜像进行深入检查。这包括对这些镜像的详细分析,以确定它们包含的各种组件(包括操作系统和应用程序包、第三方库以及配置文件)。

开源依赖项

尽管发现和修复自己代码中的漏洞很重要,但我们的产品和服务也依赖于众多开源库。因此,了解我们正在使用哪些库,并确保更新为最新的安全缺陷修复程序,这也同样重要。我们使用名为 SourceClear 的工具来协助此项工作。SourceClear 提供的扫描程序可以识别我们任何软件版本中的依赖项,再将这些库与已知安全漏洞的数据库进行比对。

不论漏洞是通过 Snyk 还是 SourceClear 发现的,都会根据此页面上述的漏洞管理流程,由正式的 Jira 工作单自动提交给相关的产品团队。

用于帮助应对漏洞的其他举措

到目前为止,本文大体描述了我们在“后端”采取的漏洞管理步骤,即我们为解决产品或平台中识别的漏洞所采取的措施。不过,我们也一直致力于从源头开始降低漏洞的发生频率。为此,我们在开发过程的“前端”融入了一些独特举措,以确保我们的产品从设计之初就以安全为重。

安全冠军计划

2017 年,Atlassian 开始在全公司推行一项安全冠军计划,在每个产品和服务团队设立一名安全领头人。安全冠军还安排有专门的培训,帮助他们了解和识别应用程序安全漏洞,以及安全代码编写流程。该计划旨在让每个团队都拥有一名专属领头人,负责向其他团队成员传播重要的安全信息,并向我们的中央安全团队提出任何安全问题,以促进改善沟通流程。

Atlassian 的安全冠军每个月碰头一次,围绕面临的最新安全问题和挑战分享各种工具和知识,为所有团队造福。最终目标是将该计划作为一个跳板,让安全成为我们公司文化更加不可分割的组成部分。我们相信,这样的方法将成为最大限度地减少漏洞的关键支柱。

产品安全工程师

如果不阐述我们产品安全工程师在消除缺陷和设计更好工具方面发挥的关键作用,那么关于漏洞管理的讨论就不会完整。

我们的产品安全工程师将对新报告的漏洞进行初步分类,并与我们的产品工程团队合作,确定问题的最佳修复方案。我们的产品安全工程师遍布全球,他们是应用程序安全领域的学科专家,可以根据需要与我们的产品工程师进行高效协作。

对于所分配的产品,安全工程师同时发挥主动和被动安全保障作用,包括但不限于:

  • 查看和分析最新的威胁模型,了解新生和紧迫的风险
  • 审查和分析新功能的安全性
  • 执行手动代码审查
  • 执行渗透测试
  • 执行平台和架构审查
  • 跟踪与项目有关的重要活动,并在必要时提供指导
  • 分类、归档、奖励并确保及时解决通过我们缺陷赏金计划报告的问题
  • 编写新的自动化并且维护现有的自动化和工具,以最大限度地增大覆盖面和提高效率

安全记分卡

利用从本文所述的系统中收集的数据,我们能够在团队和产品之间相互进行基准测试,从而主动识别需要改进的地方。

总结

Atlassian 采用一种多管齐下的方法来管理我们产品和平台中的漏洞,结合使用一流的扫描工具、我们的缺陷赏金计划,以及各种不断改进的其他机制,确保我们能够尽快识别和解决出现的漏洞,并尽可能从源头开始减少漏洞出现的频率。

想要深入了解?

本文提及了诸多其他资源,您也可以另外查阅这些资源来获取有关我们漏洞管理方法的更多信息,或者更广泛地了解安全性。

在此页面上,当我们提到漏洞时,它可与“缺陷”(bug) 互换使用,后者是我们另外一篇关于安全测试方法的文章中使用的术语。

Close

Our Approach to Vulnerability Management


Our Approach to Handling Security Vulnerabilities @ Atlassian

Atlassian recognizes that, at some level, security vulnerabilities are an inherent part of any software development process. However, we are constantly striving to reduce both the severity of and frequency with which vulnerabilities arise in our own products and services.

To that end, we have in place a multi-faceted approach to vulnerability management that relies on a combination of both automated and manual processes. We believe that this is the most effective way to limit the chance of vulnerabilities “slipping through the cracks” and going undetected for an extended period of time.

In this paper, we provide an overview of how we go about managing vulnerabilities in our products and infrastructure, and how we’re constantly evolving that approach by incorporating the latest tools, methods and thinking to ensure our handling of vulnerabilities remains effective into the future.

An overview of our vulnerability identification and resolution process

We have a methodical process for identifying, tracking and resolving vulnerabilities, regardless of type.

Continuous asset discovery and attribution

Continuous internal asset discovery - We use in-house built system to inventory all of our EC2 and Load Balancer AWS Asset using AWSConfig and attribute it to the correct owner. We retain one year's worth of assets totaling 50-60 million assets.

Continuous external asset discovery - We use Assetnote to perform continuous asset discovery and security analysis on our external perimeter.

Identifying vulnerabilities

We use a range of best-of-breed vulnerability detection tools that are run regularly across our products and infrastructure to automatically scan for and identify vulnerabilities. This includes Atlassian Cloud & Server products, Docker application images, internal, mobile and third party applications, as well as our infrastructure both on premises and in our cloud. These tools automatically scan for and identify vulnerabilities that exist, and include:

  • Network scans – We currently use Nexpose as our primary vulnerability management tool of choice, which helps us to identify active services, open ports and applications running across our environment, as well as any vulnerabilities that exist at the network level;
  • Container image scans – We use Docker containers for deploying many of our applications and we conduct a full security scan that conducts a deep inspection of the contents of those containers anytime they are deployed into our production or pre-production environments. We do this using a tool called Snyk. More detail is provided later in this page.
  • Open source dependency scans – We use SourceClear to identify any vulnerabilities that may exist in open-source or third party code our developers may be using. More detail is provided later in this paper.
  • AWS configuration monitoring - We use Trend Micro Cloud One - Conformity to provide continuous configuration monitoring against established baselines for our AWS environments.

We are continually reviewing the latest tools available and adding them to the suite we use if we believe they will enhance our vulnerability detection capabilities.

We also have a range of additional avenues that we use to identify vulnerabilities in combination with the automated scans we run. These include:

Our Bug Bounty Program – We make use of Bugcrowd to run our Bug Bounty Program. Bugcrowd provide us with access to an expert, trusted community consisting of tens of thousands of cyber security researchers who are constantly testing our products and reporting back any vulnerabilities they find. Our Bug Bounty program has been recognized as the best in the industry in 2018 and 2019.

Customer & user reports – Users of our products can report any bugs they encounter at any time via Atlassian Support. We will then work with them to collect all necessary details so the vulnerability can be flagged internally and fixed (subject to validation to ensure that the vulnerability is real, and not a false positive). This also includes Atlassian staff, who can raise any issues they observe within our products (either externally, or internally) directly with the Security team, or by raising a support ticket.

External penetration testing - We use specialist security consulting firms to conduct white-box, code-assisted penetration tests on high risk products and infrastructure. See “Our approach to external security testing” for more detail.

Atlassian’s Product Security team - We complete targeted code reviews, both manual and tools-assisted, and work closely with our product development teams to enhance their ability to self-detect and resolve vulnerabilities before the code reaches us.

Atlassian’s Red team – We have an internal red team whose role is to simulate the role of adversaries attempting to identify and exploit vulnerabilities that exist within our systems, processes, and environments, so that we can ensure they are identified and addressed as promptly as possible.

Tracking and resolving vulnerabilities

To maximize the efficiency and effectiveness of our vulnerability management program, we integrate the processes we use to identify vulnerabilities with a centralized internal ticketing and escalation system. Specifically, regardless of whether a vulnerability is identified through one of our scanning tools or one of the other avenues we have discussed above, a dedicated ticket is created for each vulnerability and is assigned to the relevant product team for resolution in accordance with the SLOs we have published in our Security Bug Fix Policy.

Our security team provides oversight of this process and works with product and infrastructure teams to ensure accuracy of vulnerabilities, answer remediation questions, and ensure all vulnerabilities are resolved in compliance with our SLO commitments.

Once a fix for a vulnerability is developed, it is tested thoroughly and then, in the case of our cloud products, incorporated into our CI/CD pipeline for deployment. For server and data center products, fixes are rolled into a new release and deployed with other fixes on a regular bases in accordance with our standard release cadence. Vulnerability tickets from scanning tools are automatically closed when subsequent re-scans do not find the vulnerability. Vulnerability tickets from manual findings are closed by product, infrastructure, or security team members when the fix has been deployed to production.

Preventing vulnerabilities during the development process

Container image scans

Atlassian deploys the bulk of its applications using Docker container images. Docker containers provide a packaged, self-contained environment consisting of relevant system libraries, tools, configuration settings and any other dependencies required so that our products are able to run regardless of individual machine configuration parameters. The container effectively provides a layer of abstraction, decoupling the software code from the underlying infrastructure so that our products can work without issue across different machines.

While containers offer great benefits for our developers and customers in terms of being able to deploy code that can be used in a variety of environments, they can be a source of security vulnerabilities if the contents of the images consist of out-of-date or otherwise insecure libraries or components.

To address this, Atlassian integrates a full container security scanning process into our CI/CD pipeline for any containers that are deployed into our development, staging or production environments. We use the Snyk open source engine for this purpose. Snyk provides a set of tools that undertakes a deep inspection of any container images that are deployed by our developers. This includes a detailed analysis of those images to identify the various components they contain (including operating system and application packages, third party libraries as well as configuration files).

Open source dependencies

While it's important to find and fix vulnerabilities in our own code, our products and services also rely on numerous open source libraries. It is therefore equally critical that we are aware of what libraries we're using and that they're up to date with the latest security bug fixes. We use a tool called SourceClear to assist us with this. SourceClear provides a scanner that can identify dependencies in any of our software builds and can then compare these libraries to a database of known security vulnerabilities.

Any identified vulnerabilities, whether found via Snyk or SourceClear, are then raised automatically via a formal Jira ticket with the relevant product team in accordance with the vulnerability management process we described earlier on this page.

Other initiatives that we use to help combat vulnerabilities

So far in this paper, we’ve largely described steps we take to manage vulnerabilities at the ‘back end’ – i.e., what we do to address a vulnerability that is identified in our products or platforms. However, we are constantly striving to reduce the frequency with which they arise in the first place. To this end, we have incorporated some unique initiatives at the ‘front end’ of our development process to ensure that our products are built from the ground up with security in mind.

Security Champions Program

In 2017 we started rolling out a Security Champions program across Atlassian to embed security leaders within every one of our product and service teams. Our Champions are also provided with dedicated training to help them understand and identify application security vulnerabilities, as well as processes for writing secure code. The goal of this program is to have a dedicated Champion within each team who assumes responsibility for promulgating key security messages amongst fellow team members and raises any security issues with our central security team to facilitate improved communication flows.

Atlassian’s Security Champions meet on a monthly basis to share tools and knowledge around the latest security issues and challenges they’re facing so that all our teams can benefit. The ultimate aim is to use the Champions program as a springboard for enabling security to form an even more integral part of our culture. We believe that this kind of approach is a key pillar in our approach to minimizing vulnerabilities.

Product security engineers

No discussion of vulnerability management would be complete without explaining the key role our product security engineers have in both ironing out bugs, and designing better irons.

Our product security engineers perform the initial triage on newly reported vulnerabilities and collaborate with our product engineering teams to identify the best fix for the issue. Our product security engineers are subject matter experts in application security and are distributed globally so that they can most effectively collaborate with our product engineers as needed.

Our security engineers has both pro-active and re-active security roles in relation to their assigned product, including but not limited to:

  • Reviewing and analysing up to date threat models for new and emergent risks
  • Reviewing and analysing the security of new features
  • Performing manual code review
  • Performing penetration testing
  • Performing platform and architectural review
  • Tracking major activities related to projects and providing guidance when necessary
  • Triaging, filing, rewarding, and ensuring the timely resolution of issues reported via our bug bounty
  • Writing new automation and maintaining existing automation and tooling to maximise coverage and efficiency

Security scorecards

With the data collected from the systems described in this paper, we are able to benchmark teams and products against each other to pro-actively identify areas for improvement.

In summary

Atlassian has a multi-faceted approach to vulnerability management across our products and platforms that uses a combination of best-of-breed scanning tools, our bug bounty program and a range of other mechanisms that are constantly evolving to ensure we identify and resolve vulnerabilities that arise as quickly as possible, and minimize their frequency in the first place.

Want to dig deeper?

There are a range of other resources we’ve referred to in this paper or which you can otherwise consult to get more information about our approach to vulnerability management, as well as security more generally.

On this page, when we refer to vulnerabilities this can be used interchangeably with ‘bugs’, which is the term we use in our separate paper on Our Approach to Security Testing.