罗克韦尔自动化徽标
Rockwell Automation + Atlassian

以前,我有一个六人小组,他们大概要将 90% 的时间都用在应用的‘护理和照料’上。现在,我们用一个人只需花一部分精力就能做好。改善程度相比于以前简直是天壤之别啊。”

90%

Reduction in maintenance overhead

减少维护开销,增加全球各地的正常运行时间和速度。

Rockwell Automation 在迁移到 Atlassian 云之后创建更安全的联网环境

经过 100 多年的发展,Rockwell Automation 积累了大量基于服务器的工程工具,然而这些工具却阻碍了安全性,削弱了生产力。在 E7 和 Atlassian 的帮助下,该公司现已迁移到 Atlassian 云,并针对下一世纪的业务流程进行了现代化改造。

在世界上的大多数国家,人们每天都受益于自动化,而他们甚至都没有意识到这一点。我们的食物是新鲜的、止痛药会让我们的头痛消失、我们在不间断的电力中度过每一天,我们可能会认为这些都是理所当然的。这些时刻看起来简单且机械,但其背后是来自 Rockwell Automation 等公司的先进技术才能使之成为可能。

Rockwell 的应用和系统可以监控并控制流程,所以人们不需要做这些工作,从而提高效率、质量、安全、保障、节约成本等。他们医药行业的客户使用自动化生产更多药物,减少人工参与,防止错误和污染。他们使用的风力发电机依靠自动化,只需单击几下鼠标即可监督和控制整个风力发电场,并实时收集数据和报告性能,所有这些都是为了最大限度地提高能源生产率并最大限度地减少停机期间。食品和饮料制造商将 Rockwell 的自动化功能集成到生产线全线以提高产量,随着消费者偏好的变化快速调整配方,并确保客户购买的每件商品都与上一件商品一样美味且符合安全标准。

这家拥有 120 年历史的公司,其使命是通过连接人员和技术来扩大可能性。在 Rockwell 的整个历史进程中,他们通过有机增长和多次收购来实现这一目标。在此过程中,他们积累了大量基于服务器的工程工具和方法,然而这些工具和方法阻碍了安全性、生产力、协作和创新。

为了解决这些发展难题并将业务流程现代化,以适应该公司在新世纪的发展,Rockwell 采用敏捷开发实践,并与 E7 解决方案和 Atlassian 合作,迁移到一个工程解决方案的云套件中。自从采用敏捷开发、Jira Software Cloud、Confluence Cloud 和 Atlassian Access 以来,该团队提高了安全性,消除了几乎所有的停机期间,并将维护开销减少了 90% 以上。现在,他们的时间、精力和资源都已经腾出来了,Rockwell 可以减少对维护的关注,而将更多精力放在任务上。

我们花了超过 100 万美元为之前的工具开发培训,但没有获得任何价值。现在有了 Jira,我们不用花任何钱,因为它已经足够直观,而且已经包含很多内容了。”

Jim Tompkins
项目经理

兼并和知识产权 (IP) 为升级铺平道路

多年来,随着 Rockwell 不断收购公司以扩大其能力和市场份额,加入该团队的工程师也带来了自己的基于服务器的平台和流程。项目经理 Jim Tompkins 说:“这是让我们的产品保持运转的好方法,但不是共享技术、创意和知识的好方法。”

兼并还使维护安全变得越来越困难。近年来,随着该公司为敏感且高度监管的企业(比如核电站)开发更多的知识产权和专用安全认证产品线,安全维护已成为公司的首要任务。Jim 说:“我们工具的多样性使我们无法维持所需要的高级别安全性和合规性…有了一套基于云的通用企业工具,我们对现有的保护更加放心。”

为了解决这些日益严重的问题,工程团队首先要在几年的时间里采用敏捷开发技术来加快发布速度,同时促进协作。在此过渡期间,他们的工具集中存在的差距和挑战变得更加明显,这进一步促使工程团队的领导者集中使用企业范围内基于云的解决方案。

助力评估、预测和迁移的理想合作伙伴

起初,Rockwell 选择了另一个行业领先的生命周期管理平台,但在实施后不久后,就从工程师那里听说,那个系统使简单的任务变得复杂,并且需要大量的开销来维护,这恰恰与他们所希望的相反。根据工程师的反馈,Jim 与指导委员从头开始重新研究其他的一流选项。Atlassian 是最灵活、最直观的解决方案,为提高标准化、安全性和性能提供了最大的机会。

许多工程师已经在使用 Jira Software,团队的其他成员很快就接受了它。随着时间的推移和不断地收购,他们建立了两个独立的 Jira Software Server 实例,其中包含近 140 个项目、无数独特方案和数十个集成应用。该团队还添加了 Confluence,以实现跨团队协作并推进最佳实践的共享。为了与公司的战略目标保持一致,Jim 和他的领导决定努力将其集中到一个企业范围内的云平台上。

Jim 还将此次迁移视为转换 Rockwell 数据以符合新标准的一个机会,这些新标准影响了许多食品、饮料和医药行业的客户。“FDA 不断审计我们的客户,客户反过来也在审计我们。”他说,“他们非常严苛,需要大量的审计材料来证明事情是以某种方式完成的。我们不得不确保云环境能够满足他们的需求。”

为了管理这些复杂需求并确保顺利迁移,该团队联系了 Atlassian 解决方案合作伙伴 E7 寻求支持。除了将数据转换为通用架构之外,Rockwell 还希望将旧实例映射到新的云平台,以便为用户实现无缝过渡。“映射是最大的挑战。这也是 E7 表现出色的地方,”Jim 说,“很明显,他们对 Jira 和我们的方法都非常了解。这对我们来说很重要。他们进行了映射,然后引导我们练习一个映射实例、从中找出差异,然后映射下一个实例。”

经过大约三个月的清理和准备,Rockwell 已准备好完成数据转换和迁移。然而,E7 和工程团队必须围绕不断变化的产品计划进行协调,而不是一次性将所有内容迁移到云。“这就好比当汽车在高速公路上行驶时,您试图更换轮胎,或试图换车。”Jim 开玩笑说道,“E7 与我们合作完成了所有这些工作。他们不仅仅是在做一项任务;他们是真的在对我们投资。”

E7 帮助 Rockwell 应对的另一个挑战是获得了对变革有不同看法的工程师的支持。“有的人管理本地解决方案已有 20 年了,而您在改变这种状况,这会引起很多情绪。”Jim 说,“无论是在环境还是配置方面,迁移到云都是一个巨大的变化。我们必须完成所有这些工作,才能使人们相信系统能够在云中运行。E7 格外努力,提供体贴入微的服务,在充分展示技术能力和领导能力的同时让我们保持冷静,从而为我们注入信心。”

当 E7 和 Rockwell 的领导站在统一战线并引导所有人努力完成这个过程时,Jim 记得有一个转折点,那就是管理服务器的工程师意识到云迁移的价值,并加入进来。“您必须与人们合作,让他们理解您想要做什么。”他解释道,“我现在对于这个转换没有任何抱怨。”

经过整个迁移过程,Jim 坦言,“E7 是一支了不起的团队。从映射到迁移到项目管理,他们拥有具备适当专业知识的最佳人选。”在他们的支持下,Rockwell 拥有一个安全的、高性能平台来释放他们的潜力,因此他们可以为客户做同样的事情。

过去,工具是一种障碍或负担。现在,工具使我们能够进一步推动自身的事业、方法和纪律。

Jim Tompkins
项目经理

通过看板提高效率、安全性和灵活性

如今,Rockwell 的工程师使用 Jira Software Cloud 进行问题跟踪和项目管理,使用 Confluence Cloud 进行文档和知识共享,使用 Atlassian Access 来获取安全性。

Jira Software Cloud 为团队提供共享的敏捷开发工作流(支持标准化、跟踪和可追溯性)、灵活的配置(在需要时支持自定义)以及一个共同解决问题的中心枢纽。像 ScriptRunner 这样的 Marketplace 应用通过自动化任务(例如在某些字段中预填充值)来节省时间,避免丢失数据完整性。

尽管 Jira Software 项目的数量不断增加并且团队的分散程度越来越大,Rockwell 的平台仍然经受住了挑战。“过去,地理位置和数据量都会影响性能,”Jim 说,“有了 Jira Cloud,我们还没有看到对性能有任何明显的影响。现在管理 900 个项目与管理 90 个项目所体现的性能一样... 过去,在新加坡和在密尔沃基的人做某件事所花的时间是有很大区别的,但现在这只是非常细微的差别。”

除了使工作和协作变得更加容易外,Jim 指出 Jira Software 更容易学习,成本也更低。“由于 Jira 在工程界广为人知,因此有很多培训可以使用。YouTube、用户组和 Google 确实能帮助我们入门。我们花了超过 100 万美元为之前的工具开发培训,但没有获得任何价值。现在有了 Jira,我们不用花任何钱,因为它已经足够直观,而且已经包含很多内容了。”

Confluence Cloud 在团队中也很受欢迎。迁移之前,工程部和 E7 使用 Confluence Cloud 迁移助手来确定要将哪些 Server 应用迁移到云。这不仅有助于降低成本,还能为用户优化系统。“我们的用户非常喜欢 Confluence,所以他们创建了空间来记录自己的流程、如何加入团队成员以及最佳实践。这已经成为了工程信息的中心,而且我们与 Confluence 的合作非常出色。大部分空间都是开放的,所有人都可以看到。因此,我们可以在团队之间分享很多想法和建议。”

当用户在日常工作中游走于 Confluence 和 Jira Software Cloud 之间时,Atlassian Access 就充当了安全卫士的角色。Jim 说道:“我们的 IP 中包含很多高度敏感的信息…并且我们要保护这些内容。对于我们 CISO 办公室来说,知道谁有权访问这些内容以及他们可以使用这些内容做什么非常重要。Atlassian Access 确保正确的人能够访问正确的内容,而错误的人无法访问不该访问的内容。”

例如,Rockwell 利用 Atlassian Access 来确保某些 Jira Software 项目持续开放以进行协作,同时出于安全考虑,为其他项目提供更多保护。“您可以看出 Jira 原本是为了实现跨团队协作而构建的,”Jim 解释道,“但在某些情况下,只有少数人可以接触到某些数据。所以 Jira 非常灵活。它能够让我们为产品的一个领域制定一个独特且更封闭的方案,而在其他领域则可以更加开放和协作。”

Atlassian Access 确保正确的人能够访问正确的内容,而错误的人无法访问不该访问的内容。”

Jim Tompkins
项目经理

减少繁琐的任务,让工作更有意义

有了恰当的基于云的企业解决方案和正确的合作伙伴,Rockwell 大大改善了整个组织的安全、性能、团队合作并节省了成本,而且随着越来越多的团队采用 Atlassian,这些好处也会与日俱增。

Jim 说:“尽管最初计划的是只有工程团队使用 Jira 和 Confluence,但现在整个 Rockwell 都在使用。IT 团队使用 Jira 来规划和执行数百个与 IT 相关的项目,人力资源团队将其用作任务跟踪机制,并且我们刚刚开始与我们的制造支持团队合作,因为有很多人对此感兴趣。”

尽管这些团队分布在全球数十个地点,并且项目数量增长了 500% 以上,但 Jim 表示:“我们很少遇到问题,停机期间也很少。Atlassian 维持着云的正常运行。”

他还指出,Rockwell 的工程师现在已经将维护工作交给了 Atlassian,因此他们可以更加专注于生产工艺。“以前,我有一个六人小组,他们大概要将 90% 的时间都用在应用的‘护理和照料’上。现在,我们用一个人只需花一部分精力就能做好。改善程度相比于以前简直是天壤之别啊。”

除了重新获得时间和预算之外,工程团队很高兴他们能够重新集中精力。Jim 解释说:“特别是 Atlassian 工程工具和 Jira 可以让团队专注于手头的工作,从而帮助我们实现互联的企业愿景。”“过去,工具是一种障碍或负担。现在,工具使我们能够进一步推动自身的事业、方法和纪律。

Rockwell 致力于为客户打造更加智能、互联和高效的世界。借助触手可及的 Atlassian,该团队配备了所需的解决方案,以更好、更快地达成这一使命。

下一个故事
Lucid 徽标
Nextiva

一个平台,无缝衔接:Nextiva 如何利用 Atlassian Cloud 进行扩展和交付

下一个故事
Redfin 徽标
Redfin

Redfin 借助 Atlassian Cloud 重新定义房地产行业

迈出下一步

您有没有考虑过迁移到云?

Close
Rockwell Automation logo
Rockwell Automation + Atlassian

Before, I had a group of six people that probably spent 90% of their time on ‘care and feeding’ for the application. Now, we can do it with one person, part time. It’s night-and-day better.

90%

Reduction in maintenance overhead

Reduction in maintenance overhead with increased uptime and speed across global locations.

Rockwell Automation creates more secure, connected enterprises after migrating to the Atlassian cloud

Over 100 years of growth left Rockwell Automation with a vast collection of server-based engineering tools that were hindering security, productivity, collaboration, and innovation. With the help of E7 and Atlassian, the company migrated to the Atlassian cloud and modernized their processes for their next century in business.

In most countries around the world, people benefit from automation every day without even realizing it. When our food is fresh, a pain reliever makes our headache go away, and we go about our day with uninterrupted power, we might take it for granted. These moments seem simple and rote, but behind the scenes, sophisticated technology from companies like Rockwell Automation make them possible.

Rockwell’s applications and systems monitor and control processes so people don’t have to, leading to improvements in efficiency, quality, safety, security, savings, and more. Their pharmaceutical customers use automation to produce more medication with less human involvement, preventing errors and contamination. The wind power generators they work with count on automation to oversee and control entire farms of wind turbines with a few clicks, plus collect data and report on performance in real time – all to maximize energy generation and minimize downtime. Food and beverage manufacturers integrate Rockwell’s automation into their production line from beginning to end to increase output, quickly adapt recipes as consumer preferences change, and make sure every item their customers buy is just as tasty and safety compliant as the last.

The 120-year-old firm is on a mission to expand what’s possible by connecting people and technology. Throughout the course of Rockwell’s history, they’ve worked toward this goal by growing organically and through several acquisitions. Along the way, they accumulated a conglomerate of server-based engineering tools and methodologies that were hindering security, productivity, collaboration, and innovation. 

To address these growing pains and modernize their processes for the firm’s next century in business, Rockwell adopted agile practices and partnered with E7 Solutions and Atlassian to migrate to a cloud suite of engineering solutions. Since embracing agile, Jira Software Cloud, Confluence Cloud, and Atlassian Access, the team has enhanced security, eliminated almost all downtime, and reduced maintenance overhead by over 90%. Now that their time, energy, and resources are freed up, Rockwell can focus less on maintenance and more on their mission.

We spent over $1 million developing training for our previous tool and didn’t get any value. With Jira, we didn’t spend anything because it’s intuitive and there’s already so much out there.”

Jim Tompkins
Program Manager

Mergers and IP pave the way for an upgrade

As Rockwell acquired companies throughout the years to expand their capabilities and market share, engineers joining the team brought their own server-based platforms and processes with them. Program Manager Jim Tompkins says, “That was a good way to keep our products moving, but not for sharing technologies, ideas, and knowledge.” 

The amalgamation was also making it increasingly difficult to maintain security, which has emerged as a top priority in recent years as the company develops more intellectual property and a proprietary line of Safety Certified Products for sensitive, highly regulated businesses (think nuclear power plants). Jim says, “Our diversity of tools was preventing us from maintaining the high levels of security and compliance that we needed…With a common set of cloud-based enterprise tools, we’re much more comfortable with the protection we have.”

To solve these growing problems, Engineering began by adopting agile over the course of several years to accelerate releases while working more collaboratively. During this transition, the gaps and challenges of their toolset became even more apparent, further motivating Engineering leaders to centralize onto an enterprise-wide, cloud-based solution. 

The perfect partners to help evaluate, anticipate, and migrate

At first, Rockwell chose another leading lifecycle management platform, but heard from engineers shortly after implementation that the system made easy tasks difficult and required a lot of overhead to maintain – the opposite of what they were hoping for. Based on the engineers’ feedback, Jim worked with a steering committee to go back to the drawing board and research other best-in-class options. Atlassian stood out as the most flexible, intuitive solution with the greatest opportunity to increase standardization, security, and performance. 

Many engineers had already been using Jira Software, and the rest of the team quickly embraced it. Over time and through acquisitions, they'd built up two separate Jira Software Server instances with close to 140 projects, countless unique schemes, and dozens of integrated apps. The team had also added Confluence to enable collaboration across teams and facilitate sharing of best practices. To align with the company’s strategic goals, Jim and his fellow leaders decided to work toward centralizing onto one enterprise-wide cloud platform. 

Jim also saw the migration as an opportunity to transform Rockwell’s data to conform with new standards that were impacting many of their food, beverage, and pharmaceutical customers. “The FDA constantly audits our customers, who, in turn, audit us,” he says. “They are meticulous and require reams and reams of audit materials to prove things are done a certain way. We had to make sure a cloud environment would meet their needs.”

To manage these complex requirements and ensure a smooth migration, the team reached out to Atlassian Solution Partner E7 for support. In addition to transforming the data into a common schema, Rockwell also wanted to map old instances to the new cloud platform to make the transition seamless for users. “Mapping was the biggest challenge. That’s where E7 excelled,” Jim says. “It was clear they understood Jira and our methodology. That was important to us. They did the mapping and then led us through the exercise of mapping one instance, figuring out the differences, then mapping the next.” 

After about three months of cleanup and preparation, Rockwell was ready to complete the data transformation and migration. However, rather than moving everything at once to the cloud, E7 and Engineering had to coordinate around ever-changing product schedules. “It’s like trying to change a tire while the car is moving down the highway – and while you’re trying to change the car,” Jim jokes. “E7 worked with us through all of it. They weren’t just doing a task; they were really invested in us.”

Another challenge E7 helped Rockwell navigate was gaining buy-in from engineers who had mixed feelings about change. “When someone has managed the on-premise solution for 20 years and you’re changing that, it evokes a lot of emotions,” Jim says. “Going to the cloud was a big change in both environment and configuration. We had to work through all of that to instill confidence that the system was going to work in the cloud. E7 invoked that confidence in us by going the extra mile, showing their technical ability and leadership, being compassionate, and keeping us calm.”

As E7 and Rockwell’s leaders showed a united front and walked everyone through the process, Jim remembers there was a tipping point when engineers who managed the servers realized the value in the cloud migration and got on board. “You have to work with people to get them to understand what you’re trying to do,” he explains. “I get no complaints about the switch now.” 

Throughout the migration, Jim says, ”E7 was a phenomenal team. They had the right people with the right expertise involved, from mapping to migration to project management.” With their support, Rockwell has one secure, high-performing platform that unleashes their potential so they can do the same for their customers. 

In the past, tools were an obstacle or burdensome. Now, they enable us to further our cause, methodologies, and disciplines.”

Jim Tompkins
Program Manager

Efficiency, security, and flexibility across the board

Today, Rockwell engineers use Jira Software Cloud for issue tracking and project management, Confluence Cloud for documentation and knowledge sharing, and Atlassian Access for security. 

Jira Software Cloud provides the team with shared agile workflows (which support standardization, tracking, and traceability), flexible configurations (which support customization where needed), and a central hub to solve problems together. Marketplace Apps like ScriptRunner save time by automating tasks, such as pre-populating values in certain fields, without losing data integrity.

As the number of Jira Software projects has grown and the team has become more distributed, Rockwell’s platform hasn’t missed a beat. “Geographic location and the volume of data have affected performance in the past,” Jim says. “With Jira Cloud, we haven’t seen any appreciable effect on performance. It’s just as performant now at 900 projects as it was at 90 projects…There also used to be a big difference between the time it takes for someone in Singapore to do something versus someone in Milwaukee, but now it’s a splitting-hairs difference.”

In addition to making it easier to work and collaborate, Jim says Jira Software was easier and less expensive to learn. “Because Jira is so widely known in engineering communities, there is a lot of training available. YouTube, user groups, and Google really got us going. We spent over $1 million developing training for our previous tool and didn’t get any value. With Jira, we didn’t spend anything because it’s intuitive and there’s already so much out there.”

Confluence Cloud has also been a hit with the team. Before the migration, Engineering and E7 used the Confluence Cloud Migration Assistant to identify which Server apps to move to the cloud. This helped not only reduce costs, but also optimize the system for users. Jim shares, ”Our users love Confluence, so they have created spaces to document their processes, how to onboard team members, and best practices. It has become the hub for engineering information, and the collaboration we have with Confluence is great. Most spaces are open to allow anyone to see, so we get a lot of ideas and suggestions shared between teams.”

As users float between Confluence and Jira Software Cloud in their daily work, Atlassian Access acts as a security guard. Jim says, “We have a lot of highly sensitive information around our IP… and we protect those things. It’s important for our CISO office to know who has access to it and what they can do with it. Atlassian Access makes sure the right people have access to the right things, and the wrong people do not have access to the wrong things.” 

For example, Rockwell leverages Atlassian Access to keep some Jira Software projects open for collaboration and others more protected for security. “You can tell Jira is built to enable collaboration across teams,” Jim says. “But in some cases, only a handful of people can be exposed to certain data. Jira is very flexible. It allows us to have a unique, much more locked-down scheme for one area of our product and be much more open and collaborative in others.”

Atlassian Access makes sure the right people have access to the right things, and the wrong people do not have access to the wrong things.”

Jim Tompkins
Program Manager

Fewer tedious tasks allow for more meaningful work

With the right cloud-based enterprise solutions and the right partners, Rockwell has greatly improved security, performance, teamwork, and savings across the organization – and the benefits only grow as more teams embrace Atlassian.

Jim says, “Although initially intended for Engineering teams only, Jira and Confluence are now used throughout Rockwell. IT uses Jira to plan and executed hundreds of IT-related projects, HR uses it as a task-tracking mechanism, and we have just started working with our manufacturing support teams because there is a lot of interest.”

Despite the fact that these teams are distributed across dozens of locations around the world, and the number of projects has grown by over 500%, Jim says, “We’ve had very few issues and very little downtime. Atlassian keeps the cloud ticking.”

He also notes that Rockwell’s engineers can focus more on their craft now that they have offloaded maintenance to Atlassian. “Before, I had a group of six people that probably spent 90% of their time on ‘care and feeding’ for the application. Now, we can do it with one person, part time. It’s night-and-day better.”

Beyond regaining time and budget, the Engineering team appreciates that they’ve been able to regain focus. “Atlassian engineering tools and Jira in particular help us realize our connected enterprise vision by allowing teams to focus on the job at hand,” Jim says. “In the past, tools were an obstacle or burdensome. Now, they enable us to further our cause, methodologies, and disciplines.”

Rockwell is laser-focused on making the world more intelligent, connected, and productive for their customers. With Atlassian at their fingertips, the team is equipped with the solutions they need to manifest this mission better and faster than ever.  

Next story
Nextiva logo
Nextiva

One platform, zero friction: How Nextiva uses Atlassian cloud to scale and deliver

Next story
Redfin logo
Redfin

Redfin redefines real estate with Atlassian cloud

Take the next step

Have you considered a move to cloud?